We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Private Day Trip To Sigiriya rock And Polonnaruw Ruins
2

Book in advance
from
£121.48
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Gal Vihara
from £121.48
More Info
from £64.79
More Info
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveller rating
599
209
43
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
599
209
43
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock temple sri lanka statues of lord buddha granite carvings image gal shoes century examples arts relief monument knees vihara
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 858 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2019

This an ancient temple of Buddhists with Buddha statues carved out of rock face. the whole temple has been carved out of rock. it is said in ancient times there was a roof over the statues.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank finoawundes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2019

This complex is maybe the most interesting thing to visit in Polonnaruwa.
The quality of the carving is impressive and the statues are very interesting also for the particular and different expression in each sculpture.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2019 via mobile

Worth a look. The entire temple is carved out of the rock and now under a man-made metal roof for protection.

Remember to cover your shoulders and knees. Remove your shoes and hats and don't take any pictures with your back to the Buddha statues...

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank benjamin_s_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2019

This is about a five minute walk from the parking lot. The Buddha's carved into the stone are worth the walk. Be careful when taking a picture standing in front, not to have your back to the Buddha (stand sideways instead). They are very particular about this as they view it as disrespectful.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank teckman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2019

Just keep walking to the end of the ancient city and take the narrow path down to the place in the map. Make sure its an early morning and the crowd around is less..Ideally it would do best to begin the visit from this place in the morning ,which might give you the respite from the crowd walking along the way to make this place their last in the list. I simply cannot think of an ancient place which set the mind in peace as these three statues have ..Sit on the rock for at least 10 minutes

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank kelum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews