We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Private Day Trip To Sigiriya rock And Polonnaruw Ruins
2

Book in advance
from
£120.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Gal Vihara
from £120.00
More Info
from £64.00
More Info
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveller rating
599
209
43
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
599
209
43
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock temple sri lanka statues of lord buddha granite carvings image gal shoes century examples arts relief monument knees vihara
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 858 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2021 via mobile

Our guide advised that this was his favourite site in Polonnaruwa and I would not disagree with him. Beautifully carved Buddha statutes in a very pleasant setting, which additionally was very tranquil at the time of our visit. I would imagine not always the case.

Date of experience: October 2021
2  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2020

Amazing craftsmanship. Gives insight into different stages of Lord Buddha life. Good to have a guide when visiting these places.

Date of experience: October 2020
2  Thank CKG1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2020 via mobile

There are Big Buddhist statues curved in a Big Rock. Curves are very detailed and I was very surprised because it was builded by Ancient Sri Lankans in 12th Century.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank danushkabm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2020

First time I've ever seen 4 huge statues carved into a single rock. The details are well preserved, showing a high level of craftmanship.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank 2HungryWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2020

While the medieval capital gets all the attention this site is worthy of it's own story.
An eclectic collection of Buddha's and some ancient paintings in a protected alcove make this a very interesting visit. The rock carvings are extremely well done & the site has an eerie feeling to it, very respectful & quiet !

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews