We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overlooking the lake”
Review of Deer Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Deer Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Large hotel with lots of bungalows.
We had a bungalow with an upstairs bedroom.
The rooms were clean and the bedroom was very comfortable.
The bathroom was open air and with a good shower, plenty of warm and hot water.
The food was in buffet style and was good. The desserts were wonderful.
The view, overlooking the lake, from the restaurant and lounge was very nice.
Great swimming pool.
One thing: in some parts of the hotel renovation work was going on. It did not bother us but it can be to other people.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hermaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Deer Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed two nights in Deer Park
The room was nice, beautiful decoration, in good shape, clean, and the bathroom was not bad either (even if it is not brand new). The tv only had sri lankan channels (but we were not there to Watch tv!).
We did not tried the swimming pool since we did not spend a lot of time in the hotel, but I found it was cold...a shame since the temperature during the day was warm.
The restaurant was a buffet, not bad, but plenty of tourists (groups), normal since it is a big hotel (we prefer smaller hôtels or guesthouses, more intimate).
The public aereas were nice.
In general I would recommend this hotel, even if it was not the best we had in our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daixem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel overlooks a lake, the sunset from the hotel's grounds is magnificant. The reception area of the hotel is very nice and pleasant. It also has a nice pool area to chill out

Excellent breakfast buffet with a great selection of food (except the nescafe sachet :-) )

While a great location to visit sites and you are with a car/bus but not much else to do around without transport in case you want to step out to take a stroll (feels a bit isolated while there's a beautiful lake; we thought we could go for a nice walk but had to turn back as no way you could walk along the lake, over time the area may develop and would cater for a nice walk along the lake but not yet)

Hotel staff were nice, frindly and helpful. The garden were kept beautiful.

A funny thing to mention.... the bathroom is a bit like greenhouse with living vegetation, and semi-open to the outside with a mesh cover.... never seen anything like this before... some creative ideas.... i loved it :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaya-lakhsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great location.
This property has a great location overlooking the lake. Rooms are well decorated, nice, comfortable and clean. Check in and check out was easy. Nice pool area. Food - buffet spread is average. Ala carte - average and try not to order any dessert. Food quality is average. They have no clue - banana crepe was plain caramelized banana! They offer good Ayurvedic massage/spa under rustic conditions.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fulldistance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I find it very difficult to rate this hotel.The reception area was nice, ,the staff very friendly,,the grounds nice,,,the swimming pool was lovely,, we had no complaint about the food., the room was comfortable furnished,,,,,,But,,,,, the bed and chairs were very damp..No day light entered the room,it was dark.. The shower ceiling was open to the sky,and when it rained the shower area also got wet,more damp..
The rooms were apartments in blocks spaced around the grounds.We had a ground floor apartment.
The whole place needed some tender loving care..paint ,and a caring maintenance team.
This is a shame as it could be a really top rate hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our family spent a couple of days in this hotel over the new year 2014 period. Three young adult children and the two of us. Had the most enjoyable time. It is on top of Giritale lake and had beautiful views. Rooms were very nice and clean and the service was excellent. Food was delicious and there was enough (gym, nature) to keep my usually fussy kids well occupied while we lazed around with drinks in hand with friendly staff willing to do almost anything to make our stay comfortable. The cottages are tucked away amongst the trees and you would get mosies hen you walk to them but hey this is the tropics in all its glory. Definite revisit next time.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank 881chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent 1 night here after visiting Polonnaruwa. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. Rooms are actually cottages around the grounds. Cottages are 2 storeys high so one can get the rooms upstairs and there are no lifts.

The room is beautifully decorated and there is a split level separating the sitting room and the bedroom. Bathroom is nice and clean.

It is near the lake and one can have a stroll with majestic sunrise here.

Restaurant is decent and there was live band during dinner time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nkhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
0.1 mi away
Giritale Hotel
Giritale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Giritale
337 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#5 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
343 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#10 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#4 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
124 reviews
3.9 mi away
Thidas Arana
Thidas Arana
#8 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
29 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
#6 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Park Hotel

Address: Giritale, Polonnaruwa 51000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Price Range: £69 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Deer Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of a stunning lake, Deer Park Hotel gives you the best of secluded nature and stylish accommodation in Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka. The tree trunk is the main stem of a tree, which provides stability and support to its branches and leaves. Deer Park Hotel takes inspiration from the strong and steady role of the tree trunk and provides the perfect support for your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Deer Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Park Polonnaruwa
Hotel Deer Park
Deer Park Hotel Sri Lanka/Polonnaruwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing