We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deer Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deer Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went there sometimes back(June 2012) for a holiday. It was a beautiful place.
When we were there it was renovating. But we had a great buffet with many more selections.
Rooms were not up to the expectation(may b due to renovation in progress).
But now you can enjoy the place....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Umani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    190
    65
    25
    15
See reviews for
126
221
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were here only 1 night; the hotel looked nice, and the rooms were cosy, but a bit overpriced for what they offered. Could do with an open window to get fresh air inside, and would be good to have 'non smoking' rooms options.
We arrived starving at lunch time, so we had some lunch and it was probably the worst food I have had in sri lanka. The restaurant service was pretty unfriendly and unprofessional too (not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel). My vegetable salad was frozen cabbage with some grilled carrots. We definitely didn't have dinner here! Breakfast was a little bit better.
The pool looked nice. The reception staff (the ones that spoke english) was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is the place which I have selected for my honeymoon.beautiful environment, warmly welcome, Isolated cottages,honeymoon bed decoration , no disturbance ,excellent service, tasty foods, actually i didn't found anything to complain.all in all highly recommended this place...,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Uditha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Deer Park for a few days in May 2014. In short: it was just fantastic!

The rooms are very nice and comfortable. All rooms are separate bungalows, which works well for the feeling of privacy. The staff was lovely and very accommodating, always willing to help with a smile. One day we have not even left the park's grounds as the day filled up quickly with swimming in the pool, a massage in the spa center, a quick work-out in the gym and dinner in Deer Park's restaurant (both Sri Lankan and Western food - you won't get better food in the area than in Deer Park's restaurant).

It is easy to visit Pollonuwara from here, although you need to a car or tuktuk to get there.

We heard that there has been quite a renovation in December 2013, which may explain why the place looks so new and well maintained even though it has been there for a while. A great recommendation!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank WendyD956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here for just 1 night and it was such an alternate experience and i loved it. We had a 2 storey townhouse right in front of the pool. The rooms had a lounge area at the bottom and king size bed upstairs, TV reception is a bit dodgy but the scenery overtakes the TV. The bathroom is extra special as it is outdoors, which i found as a great novelty. Rooms were clean and comfortable and very cute and out of the ordinary. The pool was wonderful after a hot day of sightseeing. The property gardens are very well maintained with an abundance of wildlife from squirrels to monkeys it was great to just sit back and watch the animals. The restaurant didn't open until 7:30pm which by this time we were starving! however the food was excellent.
The little sports bar next to the restaurant is great for a pre dinner drink and game of pool.
Overall i loved this hotel as it was just so unique.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessMTATravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Large hotel with lots of bungalows.
We had a bungalow with an upstairs bedroom.
The rooms were clean and the bedroom was very comfortable.
The bathroom was open air and with a good shower, plenty of warm and hot water.
The food was in buffet style and was good. The desserts were wonderful.
The view, overlooking the lake, from the restaurant and lounge was very nice.
Great swimming pool.
One thing: in some parts of the hotel renovation work was going on. It did not bother us but it can be to other people.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hermaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed two nights in Deer Park
The room was nice, beautiful decoration, in good shape, clean, and the bathroom was not bad either (even if it is not brand new). The tv only had sri lankan channels (but we were not there to Watch tv!).
We did not tried the swimming pool since we did not spend a lot of time in the hotel, but I found it was cold...a shame since the temperature during the day was warm.
The restaurant was a buffet, not bad, but plenty of tourists (groups), normal since it is a big hotel (we prefer smaller hôtels or guesthouses, more intimate).
The public aereas were nice.
In general I would recommend this hotel, even if it was not the best we had in our trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daixem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polonnaruwa
0.1 mi away
Giritale Hotel
Giritale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Giritale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#2 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#6 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#7 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thidas Arana
Thidas Arana
#9 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
19.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Park Hotel

Property: Deer Park Hotel
Address: Giritale, Polonnaruwa 51000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Polonnaruwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Deer Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of a stunning lake, Deer Park Hotel gives you the best of secluded nature and stylish accommodation in Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka. The tree trunk is the main stem of a tree, which provides stability and support to its branches and leaves. Deer Park Hotel takes inspiration from the strong and steady role of the tree trunk and provides the perfect support for your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Deer Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Park Polonnaruwa
Hotel Deer Park
Deer Park Hotel Sri Lanka/Polonnaruwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing