We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kassapa Lions Rock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kassapa Lions Rock
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Kelaniya, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I was at this hotel with my family in October 2013 and we all had a perfect get away from busy Colombo. The location and the hotel layout made it very relaxing with great food. Everyone was very friendly and hotel was very clean. The place was ideal for a quiet and relaxing time. The chalets were spacious with everything we need and I really liked the open plan bathrooms...The place seem to be well maintained and would love to go there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayaweera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    478
    85
    25
    17
See reviews for
256
433
41
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The best thing I liked about this resort was its staff. They were very courteous, friendly and always willing to help. Apart, the spread for the breakfast was awsome. The swimming pool is clean and maintained pretty well. Last but not the least: the rooms were clean and everthing seemed to be in place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel with two little kids while holidaying in Sri Lanka from United Kingdom. Firstly, the customer service I received was excellent and all the staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. The rooms (mini villas) were simply prefect and very clean. The room and the bathroom was well equipped with plenty of space for kids to run around. The garden was well maintained and perfect for the little ones to run around and explore the nature. The mini villa gave us the privacy and didn't need to worry about kids screams!! The swimming pool was very clean and the dinner/breakfast buffet was simply fantastic. We really enjoyed our stay at Kassapa Lions Rock and most probably will pay a visit again...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nil_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Sigiriya, Dambulla and an elephant safari. As with previous reviews, there is nothing negative about this hotel at all. The reception is stunning, the rooms are like ice cubes dotted around the grounds with a huge bedroom and inside/outside bathroom. Lovely to have the small patio area. The pool was spotless although we didnt get to use it much as we were out so much during the day. We went half board and would recommend this if you plan to be out a lot too - great food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hampshiredweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in early October for two nights. We can't think of any thing negative about this hotel, the staff are great, food and service is great and it is a short distance from the rock. Dillan and the rest of the crew are friendly and they have a good level of English. Rooms are clean and spacious, with a great pool.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

There are some mixed reviews on here about this hotel and I fail to see why. We had a lovely mini 'villa' - all individually set apart with big beds, free fruit, tea, coffee and bottled water and an amazing outside/inside bathroom that meant you could shower under the morning sunshine.

The room was utterly spotless - so clean - and the pool area was spacious, clean and very relaxing.

The food was lovely - we had the hot buffet in the evening and there was so much choice - endless salad, breads, traditional curry and pasta and lots of yummy cakes.

Its in a great location too for exploring Dambulla and Sigariya - around 20 minutes from the Rock and the Cave Temples.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy_Lea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Kappas is a beautiful hotel - the grounds were so well kept and the pool lovely. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The downside was that there was only one PowerPoint in each room and the power went off as you left the room. You had to take the key with you as the door locked behind you - not helpful with the technology we all carry around with us. You can always ask the reception desk staff to charge things for you if necessary. Would go back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
9.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
9.8 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
3.5 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kassapa Lions Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassapa Lions Rock

Property: Kassapa Lions Rock
Address: Digampathaha | Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#5 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kassapa Lions Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideally located hotel situated facing the magnificent Sigiriya rock in the midst of a small village named Digampathaha. It is located just 20 minutes from the beautiful and ever famous town of Dambulla. A short 15 kilometer drive towards Habarana and you will be in Digampathaha. A turn to your right and in 5 minutes you'll be in the most scenic location in the area. Kassapa Lions Rock is an ideal base from which you can explore all the historical sites such as Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya, and Dambulla . Only hotel in the area with two swimming pools. Wi -Fi Facility is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kassapa Lions Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassapa Lions Rock Hotel Sigiriya
Kassapa Lions Rock Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing