We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay on tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kassapa Lions Rock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kassapa Lions Rock
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Two night stay on tour”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is in a good location with views of the rock from the pool. Unfortunately, as we were so busy sight seeing, we only really got to eat breakfast, late evening meal and sleep here - although there are few facilities other than the pool. It lacks a bar area to unwind before or after your evening meal. Our room initially seemed to have malfunctioning aircon unit; the management assured us they would fix it whilst we ate, but as it didn't seem to be getting any better, we asked to move rooms, which was then arranged - a pity this wasn't offered as an option immediately it became apparent that the aircon wasn't working as we had partially unpacked, were longing for a bath after a dusty safari and had to eat really quite late after a tiring day as a result of hanging around. That said, the alternative room was sufficiently comfortable (though we did have to request a few more coat hangers!) and the food was fine. Wifi was available, but only in the public areas and the signal was somewhat erratic.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elspeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    481
    87
    27
    17
See reviews for
260
438
43
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is ideal for visiting sigiriya rock and dambulla caves. Just get a tuk tuk from the lobby. Nice pool with view of the rock. Gardens are lovely and well maintained. Cabins/chalets are private, have AC and a tv and bathrooms are clean and roomy. Buffet breakfast and dinner were better than any other hotels we stayed in during our 3 weeks in Sri Lanka. Service was excellent in dining hall. Dylan is a real charmer! A la carte food at lunch was good too. Great value hotel and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeymanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
346 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a resort type hotel with bungalow, two floor each housing total four units. We stayed at the ground floor just next to the pool, where you can see the lion rock at a distance.

Room is average, though it is big, but just simply beds, desk, chair, wardrobe, with a huge but empty area in the living room. The wall has cracked on it so you might worrying about will it crumble while you are sleeping. Air conditioning would not be able to fill this big room with sufficient cool air but luckily we were out during the hot day most of the time, only back in the evening when the outside temperature dropped to a comfortable level that you can sleep well even without turning on the air con.

The pool is good for relaxing especially after a whole day of outdoor activities visiting the nearby Lion Rock, or the two nearby ancient cities.

The food at the restaurant was average only.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKA_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I spent 2 nights with my family of 6 - The best value for money and the food was excellent.
The staff were courteous, friendly and always willing to help.
I spent 10 days traveling the country and was very happy with this hotel.
In addition, Roshni at the head office was extremely helpful in getting us the rooms.
Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our family loved it here. We stayed for two nights and it was perfect for what we wanted.

It was secluded and not near anything, but we were only there for late afternoons/early evenings and then the main evening before heading off in the morning, so it wasn't a problem for us.

I believe that there are some better quality hotels nearby but in all honesty this was perfect. It was clean, quiet and had everything we needed. The fact that the villas were individual was perfect and it was really something different.

Food was a very good standard and drink reasonably priced (only issue was on last night there was no alcohol served because of Ramadan, but we were in their country so must live by their rules).

Pool warm enough and enough space for some great fun.

Yes TV and wifi could be improved upon, but then we didn't go to Sri Lanka to watch television and go on the internet, so not really an issue for us.

The deputy leader of the government opposition was saying at the hotel at the same time, so it must be good.

We were made to feel very welcome and have no hesitation in saying that it was excellent for families and value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234qwerty5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights recently. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

It's far from anything walking distance, so you need to have your driver take you to eat or the store.

The wifi is only available in common areas and is really weak.

The rooms are very quiet and most are separated from each other. The rooms are also roomy with large bathrooms with both shower and tub.

The food is average and the free breakfast buffet (from 6:45 to 9:30) is better than the dinner buffet.

The staff were friendly and courteous.

The pool is a nice feature and a welcome sight after a day of exploring the area.

The hotel has driver's quarters for your driver to stay at.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LADiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
191 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in here because we were on a roundtrip and had plans to go to the Lions Rock the next morning. This hotel had a great location nearby.
Nice hotel with a great service.
They had free wifi, but only in the reseption area and the restaurant.
The food was also good. The had a buffet.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Solvang446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
9.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,500 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,451 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,003 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kassapa Lions Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassapa Lions Rock

Property: Kassapa Lions Rock
Address: Digampathaha | Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#6 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kassapa Lions Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideally located hotel situated facing the magnificent Sigiriya rock in the midst of a small village named Digampathaha. It is located just 20 minutes from the beautiful and ever famous town of Dambulla. A short 15 kilometer drive towards Habarana and you will be in Digampathaha. A turn to your right and in 5 minutes you'll be in the most scenic location in the area. Kassapa Lions Rock is an ideal base from which you can explore all the historical sites such as Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya, and Dambulla . Only hotel in the area with two swimming pools. Wi -Fi Facility is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kassapa Lions Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassapa Lions Rock Hotel Sigiriya
Kassapa Lions Rock Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing