We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, nice hotel”
Review of Kassapa Lions Rock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kassapa Lions Rock
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent location, nice hotel”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This is a good location for the cultural triangle. The "chalet rooms" are spacious and charming. It would be good if there was a safe and a rack to dry clothes/towels. The pool area is lovely and the buffet and a la carte food was good and reasonably priced. It's nice and quiet. Service is good. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    502
    92
    28
    19
See reviews for
278
463
46
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I feel a little sorry for the people commenting that it was the best hotel in their stay – they don’t know how much they missed in terms of hospitality and quality at other places. We spoiled ourselves to smaller boutique hotels and I definitely don't regret the time I spent hand-picking these on the internet!!!

We opted for the Kassapa as we wanted to visit Sigiriya in the early hours of the morning before heading eastward. It is certainly not a bad hotel. It is quite nicely located in the heart of the “cultural triangle”, has simple but good and clean rooms and bathrooms. Its layout in bungalows cares for quietness.

However, this is a hotel that mostly caters for larger groups of tourists and offers quite standardized service. Food is average at best and quite tasteless. Service can be slow during peak hours. We didn't like the noisy and rather unpleasant “local” live music during dinner. We only stayed one night and were not really looking for more. Again, not a bad place to stay, but there is so much more to Sri Lanka!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London ,England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very private bungalow type hotel. It a long way off the beaten track . not possible to walk anywhere at night its that remote.rooms were lovely and big and couldn't fault them at all . restaurant buffet was ok but nothing amazing.entertainment in the evening was pretty useless. However after long days touring you are not up to much in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is in a good location with views of the rock from the pool. Unfortunately, as we were so busy sight seeing, we only really got to eat breakfast, late evening meal and sleep here - although there are few facilities other than the pool. It lacks a bar area to unwind before or after your evening meal. Our room initially seemed to have malfunctioning aircon unit; the management assured us they would fix it whilst we ate, but as it didn't seem to be getting any better, we asked to move rooms, which was then arranged - a pity this wasn't offered as an option immediately it became apparent that the aircon wasn't working as we had partially unpacked, were longing for a bath after a dusty safari and had to eat really quite late after a tiring day as a result of hanging around. That said, the alternative room was sufficiently comfortable (though we did have to request a few more coat hangers!) and the food was fine. Wifi was available, but only in the public areas and the signal was somewhat erratic.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elspeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is ideal for visiting sigiriya rock and dambulla caves. Just get a tuk tuk from the lobby. Nice pool with view of the rock. Gardens are lovely and well maintained. Cabins/chalets are private, have AC and a tv and bathrooms are clean and roomy. Buffet breakfast and dinner were better than any other hotels we stayed in during our 3 weeks in Sri Lanka. Service was excellent in dining hall. Dylan is a real charmer! A la carte food at lunch was good too. Great value hotel and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeymanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a resort type hotel with bungalow, two floor each housing total four units. We stayed at the ground floor just next to the pool, where you can see the lion rock at a distance.

Room is average, though it is big, but just simply beds, desk, chair, wardrobe, with a huge but empty area in the living room. The wall has cracked on it so you might worrying about will it crumble while you are sleeping. Air conditioning would not be able to fill this big room with sufficient cool air but luckily we were out during the hot day most of the time, only back in the evening when the outside temperature dropped to a comfortable level that you can sleep well even without turning on the air con.

The pool is good for relaxing especially after a whole day of outdoor activities visiting the nearby Lion Rock, or the two nearby ancient cities.

The food at the restaurant was average only.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKA_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I spent 2 nights with my family of 6 - The best value for money and the food was excellent.
The staff were courteous, friendly and always willing to help.
I spent 10 days traveling the country and was very happy with this hotel.
In addition, Roshni at the head office was extremely helpful in getting us the rooms.
Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,566 reviews
9.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,620 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Sigiriya
560 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,471 reviews
2.4 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#10 of 19 in Sigiriya
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kassapa Lions Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassapa Lions Rock

Property: Kassapa Lions Rock
Address: Digampathaha | Kimbissa, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#7 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kassapa Lions Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideally located hotel situated facing the magnificent Sigiriya rock in the midst of a small village named Digampathaha. It is located just 20 minutes from the beautiful and ever famous town of Dambulla. A short 15 kilometer drive towards Habarana and you will be in Digampathaha. A turn to your right and in 5 minutes you'll be in the most scenic location in the area. Kassapa Lions Rock is an ideal base from which you can explore all the historical sites such as Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya, and Dambulla . Only hotel in the area with two swimming pools. Wi -Fi Facility is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kassapa Lions Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassapa Lions Rock Hotel Sigiriya
Kassapa Lions Rock Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing