We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Sigiriya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Back of Beyond - Pidurangala
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas in Sigiriya”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had a wonderful Christmas at BofB in Piduranga, beginning with a short walk in the evening to an archeological site, excellent dinner, and then a Christmas hike at Sigiriya the next day. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming, even going to the effort of decorating a bush for our tree and carving a squash to look like a turkey. We had an entire spot to ourselves, three rooms with its own open sitting and dining area--it was perfect for our family of five. To top it off, the climb to top of Pidurangala, only a half mile up the road from BofB was absolutely spectacular. We were the only people on top of the mountain at sunset, having made our way up a steep trail, past an abandoned monastery and a reclining buddha comforting in his unadorned simplicity. Similarly, the hotel itself, with comfortable rooms, clean bathrooms, good showers, and pretty open areas was elegantly simple in its design, colors and architecture. And they have certainly solved any early problems of beer or food. We had plenty of both and the food was excellent. Terrific spot for peace and privacy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynn341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    29
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Perfect hotel in marvelous surrounding. Excellent service and food;the rooms are furnished with local handicrafts, charming and comfortable. Everything spotlessly clean. A haven of peace in the middle of the jungle.
The ruins of Sigiryia can be reached on foot through an interesting archeological site.
I do hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a great place to relax in the middle of the rain forest. Like a safari lodge in Africa with open air (but fully walled in) bathroom. The birds and animal noises provide the most peaceful background music to a cold Lion beer at sundown..except they have no licence so YOU MUST BRING YOUR OWN BEER. They don't warn you of that before you arrive, of course.
The food is very good - particularly the rice and curry but make sure you order it before you set out for the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Outdoor living at its best, this eco resort is beautifully designed to maximise privacy and bring nature inside. I'm particularly partial to the gorgeous outdoor bathroom and eating area.
Meals were huge and delicious and the service superb. This place takes peace and quiet to a new level. The rooms are huge and tastefully furnished with screens and mozzie nets keep the bugs out.
The property is only a few minutes from Pidurangala and Sigiriya, and we easily organised a excursion sunset excursion to the wonderful Minneriya Tank to witness The Gathering.
There is no swimming pool, as it is set in a bush environs.
A very relaxing, Central place to stay with lovely staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darkydoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

A friend and I just recently stayed at Back Of Beyond and would advise any traveler from abroad ( we are residents) to beware this hotel is very basic and the food just 'OK' and expensive. As advertised, it has no pool or A.C. ( something you'll want after climbing Sigiriya!) and, if you want entertainment like TV, music; a Wi-fi that works, or even a bar to unwind, well, forget it. There wasn't even a chair in our rooms. If you want to sit you have to go outside to the 'lounge' area by the communal table. As for the food, it was tasty (no buffet) but not anything special to cost more than a 5 star restaurant would charge. We were a bit annoyed and knew we were being ripped off.

Another warning: Our booking was for three nights but, since we saw all need to see within two days we contacted the head office within 24 hours to cancel our last night and was told we had to pay it in full. When I asked why, I was told: "Because the room is ready."
Well, the room had to be ready anyway whether we were there or not I told her, but she would not budge. Since we were the only customers in residence, it was obvious they wanted our money - period.
Oh. And you must pay all in cash. No credit card facilities.

I will however give 'thumbs up' to to the staff. They were wonderful; helpful, engaging, and very friendly without being obtrusive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeist, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in this place for 2 nights during our round trip and we really enjoyed it.
The place is tranquil, beautifully set in the surroundings with respect to nature.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They gave us advices about things to see off the beaten trails which we really enjoyed.
The food was delicious. Freshly home made and very tasteful according to your wishes.
The rooms were spacious, we had 2 rooms and lots of space outside to sit/have dinner/relax.
The bathrooms in the open air were amazing, they have delicious showergel and shampoo.
This place is really an experience on its own!!

However, don't come here if you expect a swimming pool, fitness centre, table tennis etc.
Just come here to relax, enjoy and be amazed!!
(And bring enough insectspray...)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely little hotel very hidden amongst the jungle near sigriya. Rooms were really nicely decorated, beds comfortable and the setting was very peaceful.

Food was fresh and tasty, staff were helpful and organised a driver to take us to polunurawa and minneriya, both really worth a visit.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HolHolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,505 reviews
10.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
2.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,432 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,017 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kassapa Lions Rock
Kassapa Lions Rock
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back of Beyond - Pidurangala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back of Beyond - Pidurangala

Property: Back of Beyond - Pidurangala
Address: Kurulu Uyana, Vihara Mawatha | Pidurangala, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Back of Beyond - Pidurangala 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Cultural Triangle and within 5 minutes from the Sigiriya World Heritage Site, Back of Beyond Pidurangala is situated in a lovely unfenced 4 acre forest, a mere 5 minutes from the Sigiriya Rock. Offering you the best of rustic charm together with modern comforts, this retreat is a perfect base to explore the natural environment and cultural heritage of Sri Lanka. Each of the 3 tastefully furnished cottages, each with its own verandah, is designed to maximise the impact of the surrounding forest. A 3 bedroom bungalow is also available for larger groups. The retreat offers many activities including bird watching, hiking, cycling and excursions to Minneriya National Park, Polonnaruwa, Dambulla, Ritigala etc. Renowned for its excellent service from a friendly and caring staff, it's no wonder guests keep returning to Back of Beyond Pidurangala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Back of Beyond - Pidurangala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Of Beyond, Pidurangala Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing