We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dawn-chorus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Back of Beyond - Pidurangala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Another excellent gem in the 'Back of Beyond' chain of Eco Lodges. If you love birds and birding, the dawn chorus will amaze you. Try some of the excellent birding treks and walks around the village tanks. It's also a great base to explore Sigiriya - but do not miss the trek to the top of Pidurangala. The resident naturalist does a good job of explaining about nature and history on these treks/activities. What it lacks in terms of formal star-classed comforts, is more than made up for by the comfort in the rooms, the fantastic open air showers, the warm and informal service by the staff, great food and an authentically Sri Lankan ambiance which you will not get in many star classed hotels.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ChamiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Back of Beyond - Pidurangala
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in the Back of Beyond early in our trip around Sri Lanka, and it was by some margin our favourite place. The reasons are many; friendly, knowledgeable staff; the beautiful surroundings, with so many birds and insects; the fantastic food; how they made my wife's birthday special with local flowers, a special breakfast and dinner with wine; and a night hike through the surrounding area, during which we were lucky enough to see a Slender Loris! The manager Tusita especially, who was our guide, was fantastic, but all of the staff made us feel genuinely at home. Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

we had a fantatic stay at this eco lodge. Lovely setting, superb service, comfortable beds, well designed rooms, hot water showers and plenty of bird life. The highlight of the trip was seeing two lorises at night.
We also visited Minneriya national park and saw over 100 elephants.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cottage
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights here in the middle of virgin rainforest. There are a few cottages and three main open air buildings. There's lot of shade.
The food was really tasty such as fish curry and we had special new year cakes offered with a cup of tea which were delicious. We wanted to try hoppers and they willingly made us hoppers for dinner even though these are usually eaten for breakfast.
We went bird watching and saw several types of birds such as bee eaters, kingfishers, sharmas and sunbirds in two hours...amazing. We didn't see loris on a night walk so we didn't get charged.
The accommodation and main areas were so comfy with cushions and a loft space had a couch handy for naps. Our bathroom was half open air which was a great experience. The shower was very good.
I would recommend staying here as it is ideal for seeing Sigiriya and Minneriya and you will be well looked after.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The bungalows at Back of Beyond are tastefully decorated and are set in a wooded area which is alive with a variety of birds. The food and service were excellent. B of B is only a few minutes drive to Sigiriya. Minneriya and Kaudulla National Parks, known for their large elephant herds, are nearby. I went on an afternoon safari (March, 2014) to Kaudulla National Park, about an hour drive via Habarana, and saw 50+ elephants in one herd, other smaller herds and array of bird life. This is a most comfortable and well located Eco Lodge!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEMAltitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Overseas School of Colombo's "Dry Zone Ecosystems" WWW group came to stay at Back of Beyond's Pidruangala site in late January 2014. We enjoyed a night and morning with a highlight being the morning hike to Pidruangala . Location is a key aspect that makes this a very special place. It is set in a relatively remote (but still easily accessible) forest/rural location right next to Sigiriya. The service and food was outstanding and the rooms provide a unique Sri Lankan guest house experience. Back of Beyond's Pidruangala offers a unique stay helps to Back of Beyond set a new standard for eco-lodges and ecotourism in Sri Lanka.

Read about our trip at: http://ianlockwood.wordpress.com/2014/02/16/amongst-the-sacred-and-the-sublime-in-the-dry-zone/

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_lockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This Eco Lodge, located in the woods off the main road in Pidurangala, Sri Lanka is marked only by a stone pillar. A collection of bungalows, our bungalow was equipped with modern partly covered out-door bathroom surrounded by a wall for privacy. A larger open air porch structure with a second tire lounge servers as the dinning room and reception area. It is an excellent marriage of living with respect to the environment.

If I were to rate this lodge for location only I would give it 5 stars. The lodge is within walking distant of Sigiriya Rock and is at the base of Pidurangala rock a smaller easier climb that commands fantastic views of Sigiriya Rock.

Unfortunately, the management here lacks the attention to detail the would make this lodge an outstanding place to stay at it's current nightly rate (February 2014).

When we arrived during mid morning no person was there who appeared to be in charge. We were not sure we were at the right location, the company owns another property by the same name nearby. There was no stationary, card or other posting that indicated the business. A person with very limited english skills appeared and after some interaction, produced the guest comment book as verification of the business identity. We were shown to our room.

The manager, a very presentable man, arrived an hour or so later, we check in at that time. His overtures of attentiveness during meals seemed to exaggerate his otherwise preoccupation elsewhere. There was a menu and we ordered dinner at breakfast and breakfast at dinner. I got the impression that the meals were brought in; I saw no evidence of a kitchen. The food was good, though the western breakfast was not substantial. The food was served at room temperature. Go for the black tea instead of coffee at breakfast. The server had excellent table side manners.

There were tears in the window screens above both beds. There was a mosquito net in the room though. The shower had good water flow but it took sometime to get hot water. On the morning after our second night, a young man appeared as we were going out for the day to inquired about whether or not we would like the room cleaned. We declined the room cleaning but asked for clean towels. We got the towels that evening after we had eaten dinner. The internet access was spotty partly because of power outages but also because the router lacked the range to support access other than on the communal porch. When access was down no one seems to be responsible for fixing the problem other than the manager. The manager was not alway around. You are in a hot humid climate here, laundry becomes essential. When we inquired about laundry services we were told that service was available in the local village but not through the lodge.

One could arguably say that because this is a lodge you should expect less services than say in a hotel. But, you are paying top dollar to stay here and when compared with other places to stay in the same price range or slightly less in this area, you can do better with far more amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
1.3 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,063 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,604 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#9 of 20 in Sigiriya
99 reviews
10.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,658 reviews
2.1 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back of Beyond - Pidurangala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back of Beyond - Pidurangala

Address: Kurulu Uyana, Vihara Mawatha | Pidurangala, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range: £43 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Back of Beyond - Pidurangala 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Cultural Triangle and within 5 minutes from the Sigiriya World Heritage Site, Back of Beyond Pidurangala is situated in a lovely unfenced 4 acre forest, a mere 5 minutes from the Sigiriya Rock. Offering you the best of rustic charm together with modern comforts, this retreat is a perfect base to explore the natural environment and cultural heritage of Sri Lanka. Each of the 3 tastefully furnished cottages, each with its own verandah, is designed to maximise the impact of the surrounding forest. A 3 bedroom bungalow is also available for larger groups. The retreat offers many activities including bird watching, hiking, cycling and excursions to Minneriya National Park, Polonnaruwa, Dambulla, Ritigala etc. Renowned for its excellent service from a friendly and caring staff, it's no wonder guests keep returning to Back of Beyond Pidurangala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Back of Beyond - Pidurangala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Of Beyond, Pidurangala Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing