We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sigiriya Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sigiriya Cottage
Ranked #14 of 88 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice place!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We spent 2 nights at Sigirya Cottage, a quiet, peaceful place in the outskirts of Sigiriya. Our room was big, no mosquito net but fumigators. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Staff was very efficient and friendly, in particular the waiter Hadji (I hope I write correctly his name!) who was really welcoming and helpful!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ste_FraLyon_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    64
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
77
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of our holiday. The accommodation was clean and a good size. The location was ideal being close to Sigiriya rock and in lovely gardens surrounded by wildlife.The breakfasts were good and the staff very friendly. Frogs, mosquitos and dogs were plentiful but were manageable but not being a cat lover the kitten that was always around the tables at breakfast was more of a nuisance to me.Overall this is a good clean and very reasonably priced place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 4 which was furthest from the router had poor wi fi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric7cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Very quaint and nice little cottage, beautifully set in the jungle!
Clean rooms and good facilities. Nice fruit-based breakfast.
But bring your own driver/ arrange a drop off-pick up.

It was booked by our driver since all the listed ones were full

Recommended

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EyvindJohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 days in Dec. 2013 as a young couple.
Environment is nice and located very close to sigiria. It is a nice cottage with a very very kind and pleasant staff. They served a good breakfast with a drinkable coffee for the area. The room was nice but it could have been cleaner. It was smelling moist, there were holes in the bed sheets and we found some insects. The A/C is still appreciable though.
Every room only have twins bed and as a couple we would have prefer a double. Good point for family, a third bed is available at no charge.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank girofle06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff. Big clean rooms and bathroom. Comfy bed with good air con. Manager told us a good place to go for a swim in the evening as they have no pool. WiFi worked well. Good base for climbing Sigiriya!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are like small huts and are perfect for basic clean accommodation in the price range.

Food was also good quality. Location great for nearby sites.

It is very quite so staying 1-2 nights is plenty.

Great wifi which was handy and surprising considering how remote we were

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We spent two nights here, our overall experience was very good.
The only negative comment I have regarding this guesthouse is its web site. Don't believe it! I have no ideas why they mention a safe box and tea/coffee facilities. None are available.
But if you don't expect these then it's a decent and comfortable guest house, with five rooms and very friendly stuff.
The room we had was very large, including a table, chairs, a closet. Air condition was good. Bath was Ok with good supply of hot water. free wifi available in the restaurant and can be used even in the room, with good quality.
We had breakfast and dinner, both good and tasty.
Note that the guest house is located far from any restaurant or bar, quite in the middle of nowhere. So beer price was higher than most other places we visited in Sri Lanka...
On the other hand, it's a very quiet and peaceful place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doron_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
8.0 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,500 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,004 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#13 of 20 in Sigiriya
58 reviews
3.8 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
1.6 mi away
The Hideout Sigiriya
The Hideout Sigiriya
#12 of 88 in Sigiriya
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Cottage

Property: Sigiriya Cottage
Address: Maha Kimbissa Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sigiriya Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing