We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very firendly and helpful owner, great view to sigiriya rock”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakmini Lodge & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Superb budget place, ideal for backpackers who are looking for a sociable place to meet other travellers. The owner is exremely friendly, he is allways there when you need some assistance. He even gave us a free ride to sigiriya rock and organised our visit to the dambulla cave tempels. The rooms are basic but clean with optional aircon. From the treehouse in the garden you have excellent view to the sigiriya rock. We definetly reccomend this guesthouse.
gareth and marina from berlin

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed for one night in Lakmini Lodge. The staff is extremely kind and helpful. They really made us feel at home (brought a nice welcome drink etc). Another big plus is the nice raised cabana where they serve breakfast. Breathtaking view! However, we did not get much sleep here. The beds are very uncomfortable and the windows kept rattling in the wind. We heard from another couple that they did also had trouble sleeping. There is no wifi on the location (but a 3 min walk) and although the bathroom was clean the toilet smelled badly. All in all, this place is overpriced and overrated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lennart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The owner was very helpful. He has several friends, who have rooms at budget price in other cities, and he is happy to arrange bookings for you. You can take the breakfast in a small cabana and have the nicest view on the rock of Sigirya.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zsolt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This lodge is so closed to Sigiriya Rock and only 15-20mins walk to there. The owner was so helpful and nice. Very convenient to get to the lodge from Dambulla and buses stop very near to the lodge too. The room was just simple and neat. Bathroom could be cleaner and if can get rid the smells from the it. The only issue will be there is no WIFI in the lodge but you can get the FREE WIFI from the owner's house/shop which just 1min walk to the street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eunice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

The good - great location, clean rooms, AMAZING rice and curry, really helpful owner who will draw you maps and flag down buses for you. Rent a bike! I actually think it was free for me in the end.

The bad - you feel like you're always being watched by staff, but that's a small price to pay for a really good value night of sleep.

As a solo traveller I negotiated a double with ensuite for about 1200R. Great value for a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Staff was nice and helpful. You can take the breakfast in a small cabana and have the nicest view on the rock of Sigirya. Monkeys were playing in front of us. Rooms are standard for this kinf of lodges. Bathroom could be cleaner.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MatEo01550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We spent 3 nights at Lakmini Lodge. The owner was incredibly helpful and generous. He loaned us bikes (no charge), drove us to Sigiriya (no charge) and made sure we got on the right buses, etc. The rice and curry his wife served was excellent and there is a lovely thatched platform from which to admire the spectacular view of Sigiriya and enjoy breakfast. The basic rooms are large and clean with a/c and hot water, and prices seem to be negotiable especially off season. The only downside is that you have to go down the road to the owner's house to use the free wifi.

Room Tip: Check the newer roos with AC. New rooms are also under construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn_USA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
3.3 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 21 in Sigiriya
602 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,744 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#11 of 21 in Sigiriya
125 reviews
8.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sigiri Lion Lodge
Sigiri Lion Lodge
#1 of 134 in Sigiriya
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakmini Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakmini Lodge & Restaurant

Address: Main Street | No.126, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range: £26 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is set in the beautiful area of Sigiriya and boasts picture postcard views of the spectacular natural landmark. Wake up in one of our spacious, modern, air conditioned rooms and enjoy views of Sigiriya, Lion Rock, from the stunning roof terrace. All rooms have free WiFi, private bathrooms with shower, toiletries and towels. Choose our premium rooms and enjoy private views of Sigiriya from your balcony. Only a ten minute walk to the entrance of this natural heritage site, there is no better place to stay when visiting Sigiriya. Minneriya National Park is 10km from Lakmini Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lakmini Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing