We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sigiriya banana rest the place to be”
Review of Banana Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Rest
Ranked #24 of 101 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 December 2013

we had a great time in banana rest with rami and his very sweet family, we cooked together rice and curry and this was great fun.
Ramis mom create the most yummy rice and curry from our whole trip trough sri lanka it has been a feast for eyes and mouth......very very yummy. thank you so much for that experience rami mom. :-)
the have some older rooms with a fan and some new bungalows with air con these are bit more expensiv but still affordable for all.
the banana rest is very quiet and a lot of nature around
rami brings you everywhere you want or organized a driver, you can rent bicyle and see sometimes the wild elefants come close to the garden in the dry season. dont miss the experiences.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Banana Rest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Charming place. Simple. Amazing value. Best curry in Sri Lanka. In the middle of nowhere but that was lovely. Rooms were clean and spacious. The family who run the place are so nice and we have so much respect for the lovely lady running it who sadly lost her husband a numbe of years ago. Averred limited evening menu ..curry....so beware if you are a fussy eater!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

The food we had here, home cooked by the owner, was some of the best we had in all of Sri Lanka. The place was very clean, basic but nice. Overall a good experience. Just be aware of the guy driver attached to the BnB, he took us to Negombo in minivan and it took us far longer than it should have!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EFBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We spent four nights in Banana Rest. The central location of this guesthouse offers an excellent opportunity to visit several major cultural sites, Sigiriya, Dambula, Polonaruwa, Ritigala, within the daytime using either bus or tuk tuk. The guesthouse is located in a peaceful and beautiful garden close to a lake 2 kms away from Sigiriya. The accomodation is comfortable and clean, providing large clear rooms and bathrooms with A/C or fan. The guesthouse is held by a friendly family which will help you kindly to organize every trip around. The cooking is fine and dishes change every day. Furthermore the rate of accomodation is moderate. Certainly one of the most pleasant guesthouse we visited during our 1-month trip around Sri Lanka. We recommend warmly Banana Rest.

Room Tip: The rooms in the bungalows are the most confortable with great view over the lake..
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soltaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the start of our trip. Like a few other reviewers, we were a little underwhelmed with the rooms on arrival. They were very basic and seemed quite pricey. Our stay here ended up being one of the best of our trip.
Although basic, the rooms were comfortable and clean. We started in a non-air conditioned room for the first 2 nights and moved to an a/c room for the last night. There are fans in all the rooms though so a/c isn't a necessity. The rooms have a beautiful outlook over a lake. We spent most afternoons sitting on our front verandah drinking cups of tea and playing cards.
The best thing about Banana Rest is the food. I am gluten free, and once our driving told them that I could only eat rice flour, not wheat flour or bread, the owner was happy to make me traditional Sri Lankan breakfasts every morning (string hoppers, egg hoppers etc), and for dinner we were treated to something different every night. The curries were some of the best we tasted in Sri Lanka. The owners are building a restaurant next to the guesthouse, and I would encourage anyone who is staying in the area to go and eat there once it is up and running!
The guest house is in a good location to Sigiriya rock and other sight seeing. There is also accommodation for drivers.

Room Tip: The air conditioned rooms are slightly newer.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the last two nights while on a five day tour originating in negombo. At first we looked at each other and said... This is where we're staying? It was a wet and miserable day ad were both a bit weary. The place must be quite new as it looked to be still under construction in some places.
First impressions aside we warmed up to this place very quickly. The staff are all very kind and helpful and are looking for anything they can do to make your stay more relaxing and enjoyable.
The room was comfortable enough. The shower was a mere trickle, but the beds firm and comfortable, and the porch area nice to sit in and read or play cards.
The property backs into a bit of a marshland area, this comes with its ups and downs. The upside being that you can see a lot of wildlife from the verandah. Lots of birds singing beautiful songs, peacocks and sometimes even elephants stroll by (we were told).
The staff ask you when you arrive want you would like for dinner and each night and morning they ask what you would like for the following meal and what time you would like to eat. It is assumed you will be out during the afternoon. (And you will!)
No wifi in the room but free access by the dining area is excellent!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrstobydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Banana rest is the first guest houst we stayed in Sri Lanka!We were 6 of us and at first we should stay only 1 or 2 nights in Sigiriya....we stayed 4 and do not regret it!!!
Ramith and his mum are so adorable, I have no word to express how warm was the welcoming.
At first they look shy but after a local volley-ball, a night safari, a concert (Ramith has a band and they play srilankan song..and mum is singing too!), a bicycle ride around Sigiriya rock, a swim in a lake where all the locals have a swin, do their laundry....so many good memories tank to this place and especially to the host!
It is not too far away from the city, as you can rent a bike and Ramith offer you to drive you to the rock if you need it..we did it by walk and it was pretty ok!
Go to Banana rest, you will not forget it!!!!!Thank to Ramith, his mum, Bandare, Manara...We will miss you!!!!!!!
Mélanie, Vincent, Tibo, Melisse, Alice et Romain

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melafouine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.0 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,661 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sigiri Choona Lodge
Sigiri Choona Lodge
#58 of 101 in Sigiriya
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Rest

Address: No. 164 A T.B. Tennakoon Mw | Kimbissa, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Price Range: £19 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Banana Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing