We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff, tasty food, good location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sigiriya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Travel House Sigiriya
Ranked #36 of 110 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed there only one night but it was a really nice stop during our travel through Sri Lanka. The cottage was well-equipped with three beds (together with mosquito nets - this was a single time we used it due to a small gecko inside our room ;)), coffee table with two chairs and a lot of space for two of us staying there. The food served both for breakfast and dinner was very tasty, there was a really huge choice and all the prepared dishes were fresh and of very high quality. The staff were very nice, they offered our driver accommodation and food for free so the next day we may continue our journey without any delay. May seem to be quite difficult to be reached as it is situated in the jungle but no problem to get there by car or tuk-tuk. Located near the Sigiriya lion rock.
Definitely worth recommending!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mokry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Travel House was down what looked like a forgotten path but this led to a great open setting for the three houses (six guest rooms) and a kitchen/dining area. Our room was spacious and was welcomingly air-conditioned. We did have a lizard and some small frogs trying to share our room, particularly in the bathroom. The owner and staff were all very helpful around the site - yes the food was great! Lots of plates and walked away extremely full both nights! There were also two bicycles for free use, which we took to the nearby lake for a brilliant sunset with Sigiriya as the backdrop. The owner even rode out with us on his motorbike to make sure we knew the return route.

Overall this was a great little stay away off the track from the other hustles and bustles of Sri Lanka - a little communal TV in the dining area (for predominately cricket purposes) and Wi-Fi as mod-cons also helped for breakfast reading on the overnight sports results :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very nice place to stay after the visit of the Lions Rock in Sigiriya with extremely accommodating and friendly staff. The food they prepared for us was of highest quality, but what made the stay most enjoyable was the friendly owner and his staff. Highly recommended. Rooms are very clean as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matthias_tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and visited Sigiriya as well as Polonnaruwa from here. The room is nice and spacious and the bathroom well clean. We really enjoyed the food!
The only thing we found a little disturbing was that you can basically hear everything from the next door room, so it depends on your neighbours!
We liked the fact that you can walk to the rock, so no tuk tuk needed :-)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BBMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The setting was lovely, the curry was outstanding (10 dishes in total), and the host was charming. We enjoyed the two well cared for puppies. Not the place to dry clothes as the air was damp. A/c helped however and the room was very clean. The dinning area allowed for conversations with other guests. No alcohol available for purchase.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank NeenieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay here. Each duplex cabana was well-furnished with a large 4 poster bed and a single bed both with mosquito nets. The air conditioning worked well and the ensuite bathrooms were fine. Each cabana also had a concrete patio at the front with comfy outdoor chairs. The food here was outstanding. Evening meals were about 700 rupees a person and were fresh and delicious. Breakfast was equally yummy and very generous making this accommodation very good value for money. The staff were lovely and provided very good service. The impressive young owner worked in France for 4 years so speaks French fluently. The location is nice and quiet surrounded by bush with a few houses nearby. It doesn't take too long to walk along a couple of dirt tracks to get to the Sigiriya rock entry point. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are triple and furnished the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TanG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for one night before visiting Sigiriya. The rooms are large and the beds are comfortable. They were a bit run down in places. Like the sheet had a small hole in it, although it was very clean. There were just two rather sad looking pillows on the bed, like alot of places of this price in Sri Lanka, but again they were clean. And I had to do a running fix of the shower head. 2 minutes and no problem for someone who knows what they're doing.
Otherwise the staff were excellent though. Helpful and polite with good English. The food was great, the evening meal was typical Sri Lankan type fried noodles and veges. The breakfast was excellent too.
It's off the main road and down a rather uneven dirt road. Our driver had to ask directions as there was not alot of signage. But this made for a nice quite location in the jungle and it was surrounded by other locals residents. There is nothing to do outside the garden in the evening, in fact you have to be careful of snakes and sometimes elephants after dark. So plan on staying in the evening or make sure you have transport to take you elsewhere once it's dark.
You can walk about 1/2 km to a local shop that sells water, snacks etc and we did this, during daylight, to stock up on supplies for our visit to Sigiriya the next day. You can actually walk to Sigiriya from Travel House and it's reasonably straight forward but will take about 30 minutes. I'd recommend walking if you can as we chatted to several locals on the way and it's a nice way to see the surrounds. Leave early though to miss the heat.
Overall I would recommend this place and would happily stay there again. Thanks to Sameera and his staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical but one away from the main gate and dining room might be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sean_bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.0 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,709 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,644 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,091 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#13 of 20 in Sigiriya
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sigiri Choona Lodge
Sigiri Choona Lodge
#61 of 110 in Sigiriya
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel House Sigiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel House Sigiriya

Address: Ehelagala Road, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing