We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Reviewed 8 March 2014

One of the nicest hotels we have been to. The rooms were nice. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Food selection was limited, but the chef was very accommodative and was willing to prepare what we wanted outside the menu as we were staying for more than 2 nights.

The rooms with in plunge pool was very nice. The kids had activities to do.

Only downside was both nights just in our room, we lost power, so no AC and mosquitos. Went with friends and their room didn't have this problem. Maybe one off issue.

Pricey, but for that price the food selection should be better

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgunendran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

As for your comment about the pricing, we greatly appreciate constructive criticism and we will be looking towards reviewing our pricing.

We warmly invite you to stay with us again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Please note that I am a frequent business traveler and designer (of hotels!); my report is perhaps a little biased but I feel that with a little love & attention from either the owner or the management, this hotel could live up to some of the rave reviews that it has had in previous years (before 2010 mainly!) This hotel needs a serious refurbishment in order to continue charging the exorbitant prices of a 5 star; we are in Sri Lanka after all, where one can stay at a Buddhist retreat and eat from all you can eat buffets 3 times a day for under $20. There is clearly a management problem here; no one seem to have authority to answer any questions, needs, complaints, except the GM, who was hidden away somewhere (if he/ she did actually exist). Staff seemed to do the minimum when they were not under the auspices of this obviously over hierarchical structure. The food is terribly over priced; especially the tomato soup which you cant fool clients that it comes from a can- most likely heinz! The spa was a disaster in terms of 5 star welcome and facilities, the 'sheet' on the massage table was dirty and I was supposed to change in full view of the noisy people passing outside the tiny massage room, (I presume there was a changing room but I wasn't shown one...); instead I went to the Ayurveda hotel down the road for a great massage at 1/4 of the price, sorry. Watch out for 'The bicycles' for guests- most have flat tires and they all need a good service. One of the main reasons that I booked this hotel, so that I could be autonomous and cycle to visit the 'Rock fortress', but no the 'rules' were that bikes were only for inside the resort, which is fair enough (the pool is quite a walk from some of the rooms) but NOT clearly stated in the hotel description. Be advised that after dark there is NOTHING to do at this place, well unless you want to watch TV and have a cocktail, but cant you do that in any hotel? We are next to one of the wonders of the world here- wheres the romance, the creativity, the Sri Lankan-ness?! As well as a strict warning to lock my door for fear of monkey and squirrel attacks, there were mice and wasps in my room & the shower was cold water only on the morning that I left (early enough to not have time to complain...) The private pool's (more a bath) filter was never on, so I wasn't so tempted to sit in this water... We were treated to a great tour of the surrounding area, with a bird watching guide and also taken to a Buddhist site- that was great; sadly the rubbish (plastic bags) scattered around the landscape confirmed my thinking that the management was really having difficulties and that there was no real respect for the 'Elephants' in this corridor. 6/10 could do better!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ideasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and your comments

First of all, we must apologize for your dissatisfaction. The management has reviewed your comments and is looking into improving our facilities and services. We are grateful for your constructive criticism as we are always looking for areas in which we can improve and we appreciate your comments all the more as you seem to have a lot of experience in the hospitality industry.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

A great property with a relaxing atmosphere.The limited number of suites makes the facility a very quiet place to relax. the suites are spacious and very comfortable with a private pool. the staff was friendly and the service was excellent

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranjithdesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We warmly invite you to stay with us again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

What a gorgeous place! On arrival we were offered a refreshing drink and towel - just the start of the great service on offer. The private villas are really lovely, large with huge windows. The bathroom was enormous and filled with light. Food is a little expensive, but the set menu at dinner was great value and very filling. The only downside is the slow drinks service - food is quick but drinks not?? You MUST take a nature walk with Panduka - he is incredibly knowledgeable about the local wildlife and can spot all sorts of birds and animals from afar. I wish they allowed you to take out the bikes from the hotel - would have been great to ride to the rock.

We were lucky to get a great deal with Agoda so we didn't pay full price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaandtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

Also, we thank you very much for your constructive criticism which we will use to improve our services even more.

On your next visit, please visit our horses as well. I’m sure you would have loved them!

We warmly invite you to stay with us again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

very nice place to stay.had a very nice time.Thank you all,i love this place.good food and friendly service,nice view ,we stayed 3 days and enjoyed a lot with the family.Thank you very much for everything.we will back soon....

Room Tip: Suit rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We warmly invite you to stay with us again in the future.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a room designated the Romantic suite. We are a young at heart, active UK couple (early 60s) who are used to travelling in S. America, SE Asia, Europe, Australia, India etc. This was our first time in Sri Lanka (3 weeks) and stayed in 7 locations, 3 of which were this price level, the remainder in small guest houses at a quarter this price. All our travel was on 2nd or 3rd class train (Gampaha-A'pura, Kandy-Haputale, Hikkaduwa-Colombo), Tuktuk (A'pura-Sigiriya, Sigiriya-Kandy, Mirissa-Hikkaduwa) or private car (Haputale-Tissa, Tissa-Mirissa). I hope the reader has a flavour of both our past & present experiences in order to set the scene (& our expectations) for this review.

We were extremely happy with our stay at Elephant Corridor. The food was good, staff delightful, room comfortable, clean & an excellent standard, the hotel grounds very well kept and the pool area private and serene. We did not use the spa, gym, helipad (hehehe!) or take lunch

We arrived from A'pura, perhaps incongruously by tuktuk, and were delivered, from the security gate, to reception, with our bags, by golf-cart. The hotel is in extensive secluded grounds away from any external influences and noise. Our drink and welcome at reception preceded a short walk to our Romantic Suite (yes, the intent was there, even at our age!). We were shown all details of our suite facilities, just as the plunge-pool cleaning was finishing. The suite was wonderful and well maintained by our daily cleaner and room servicing. We had no problem obtaining hot water in the bath-room. The tea/coffee facilities were replenished daily as were 2 small bottles of water. TV was satellite fed & MP3 music was playable if you had your own USB stick. A plate of fresh fruit enticed us on arrival. I think the only disadvantage of an indoor plunge-pool was that it could not reach outdoor ambient air temperatures and was "cool".
We used the bar each evening for a cold beer and Dilip chatted & took care of us.
We were booked B&B but there is no practical alternative of eating elsewhere. This did not worry us as the food was excellent. We took the 4 course set menu each evening for LKR2600 each and found there was sufficient choice, within that, to satisfy us. Breakfast provided a wide choice and we enjoyed fresh fruit juices & coconut water, cereals, fruit, buffalo curd & honey, croissants and omelette or pancakes.
Our first day was spent on a trip to Polonnaruwa and the second within the hotel grounds. A horse ride in the morning (LKR2000 for 30 mins), 1 hour nature walk at 16:30pm (free) and just relaxing in/by the pool and in the suite was just what we needed.
There have, indeed, been mixed reviews about Elephant Corridor and I wonder what has really happened to upset those reviewers, what was their backgrounds and their expectation levels? My wife & I work on the basis that you have to treat others well to expect the same in return. It works for us. Happy travels!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scubascubydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anupama S, Asst. Business Development Coordinator at Elephant Corridor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Elephant Corridor.

We appreciate your comments all the more as you have a lot of experience travelling the world. You seem to have taken the best out of what we have to offer and experienced the true beauty of The Elephant Corridor. Please do come visit us again; we will be waiting to serve such pleasant people like you again.

We warmly extend our invitation to stay with us again. Until then, please keep in touch with us via our Facebook page.

Best wishes on your future travels!

Sincerely,
Management
The Elephant Corridor
(Member of Sierra Leisure)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have heard of Elephant corridor as one of the best in Sri lanka, therefore along with Heritance Kandalama and Jetwing Vil Uyana we decided to spend one day at Elephant corridor. And I was really glad that it was just one night here.I had high expectations of the hotel until we went to our rooms. (family villas)there were unpleasant smells and it the interior was very outdated and unpleasant and gave the rooms a very dull and ancient look. But then we thought at least the food should be good. When we went to dine everyone was really disappointed with the quality of the food and the poor amount of choices available. We had set menus except for breakfast. And for lunch we just had one choice and it wasn't even a good choice, so we had to complain and they said that the chef had left and made a very slight alteration for us.All the menus were cheaply done and was not worth for the money paid at all. The only good points about this place was the great location, some friendly staff and the entertainment it offers.It was really sad to see such a beautiful place go to waste.This was the worst hotel out of all that we had booked for our vacation.I hope the management does something about this and improve the quality of food at least.
I really would not recommend this place to anyone as it would be a waste of their holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Padmi812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,713 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,649 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,094 reviews
4.2 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
139 reviews
5.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Corridor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Corridor Hotel

Address: Pothana Road | Kimbissa, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#11 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: £84 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Corridor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodation options await you at Elephant Corridor, with 22 individual cabin suites, each with its own private entrance, veranda and plunge pool. Escape from the rest of the world and find your oasis in a private suite or villa, each featuring exquisite architecture, inspiring design elements and modern amenities to ensure an experience of absolute comfort. In the vicinity of the fifth century Sigiriya Rock Fortress, also named the 8th Wonder of the World. Amidst thousands of acres of undisturbed jungle, teak forest, and wildlife of many species, includes elephants who occasionally visit to drink from the 1500-year-old lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Elephant Corridor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Corridor Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing