We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good food, clean room & lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sigiriya Melrose Villas
Ranked #6 of 92 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, good food, clean room & lovely staff”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 night. Great location with a sigiriya rock view. Very nice garden. The staff is very lovely and helpfully. Good value. The room is very clean !
The water in the shower not warm enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrorLevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    108
    27
    2
    5
See reviews for
52
128
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We staid here for 2 nights and we just wanted to stay at the guesthouse !!! It's quite, relaxing, beautiful place. Great people smiling works here. No restaurants around so we ate at melrose and the food was great and fresh.
The rooms are big and very clean with hot water and A/C.
So- very recommend :) enjoy nature.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luli1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We arrived unannounced and were immediately welcomed into this lovely peaceful hotel, the rooms consist of bungalows which are kept beautifully clean ,around a central garden. Lovely meals are served in an out door covered dining area with views to Sigiriya Rock.
They also have a gorgeous dog called Randy who love to play ball, so please play with him!!

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisapoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We found this resort thanks to a couple we met at Ella. They highly recommended it. We quickly understood why. The place is really charming: there are only six bungalows surrounding a nice garden with some local vegetables, the Sigirita Rock in the background and a wild forest behind (with some wild elephants walking nearby by night but don't worry, the place is safe). Bungalows are spaceful, clean and well equiped (A/C, fridge). On top of that, the staff is as good as friendly. We discussed a lot with them and that was very pleasant. Food is great, we definitely advise to have dinner there.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have used this place many times and still using when ever we go to Sigiriya on our tours. It is very conveniently located in the cultural triangle which make it easy to visit all the sites. The view of the lion rock is fabulous and the food and and clean rooms is exceptional. The friendly owner Mr.Rohitha is always attempt to help you all the time with lot of information about sri lanka.

Room Tip: All the rooms are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkThamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
160 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We spent 3 nights here whilst we visited Sigiriya Rock, Minneriya National Park and other sights in this area. The detached villas are in a pleasant setting and are clean and comfortable, if a bit spartan: a couple of comfortable chairs would have been welcome. The breakfasts, included in the price of accommodation, were simple- scrambled egg, juice and toast and tea or coffee- and might be best described as adequate. Evening meals were quite good although we decided to go out on one night of our stay here as we were running out of options to try. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay. Overall, a good value base for Sigiriya sight-seeing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_of_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
136 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

My previous guesthouse booked this for me only that morning. It was probably one of the best value places I stayed in. Good food, clean room and great view of the rock. It isn't fancy but it doesn't charge fancy prices. I booked for two nights and stayed four. I liked it enough to take a few cards with me to pass on to other travellers. New place that deserves to do well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#12 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
2.9 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sigiri Lion Lodge
Sigiri Lion Lodge
#1 of 91 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Melrose Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Melrose Villas

Property: Sigiriya Melrose Villas
Address: Bandaranayake Mawatha | Ehalagala, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sigiriya Melrose Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing