We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely people”
Review of Sinhagiri Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sinhagiri Villa
Ranked #17 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Sigiriya
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely people”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Could not be closer to Sigiriya's main entrance and the owners are such a lovely couple. The food is proper home cooked Sri Lankan fare and very tasty, rooms are good value especially considering the decent breakfast, air conditioning and location.
The owner was also very helpful organising a great driver and recommending which of the local National Parks to visit whilst we were there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWSAUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    46
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel is not bad but it could be better without a doubd, let me explain it:

-The best thing is the location, it´s great, next to the hot Spot, Castle Rock, a surprising place even if you saw previously photos or read information about it.

- Rooms are quite good but the bathroom did not smell good. (We are not very exigents). It´s obvious that the owners did not put them hearts when they prepared the accomodations. But the worst thing about this place is the service value. It´s bad if you compare it with the rest of the country hotels/hostels, and the extra services like renting bike or tuk tuk transportations are extremelly expensive.
In my opinion, main problem of this housing is the price. You realise that it is expensive when you try what it offers: it is very simple and offer expensive services.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cintia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed at this fairly new guest house. The family that run it were very welcoming. The man was very knowledgeable as he had been a tour guide. His wife cooks well and they made sure all my needs were met. They have bicycles to rent. It is a 10 min walk from the Rock - great location as you want to be at the site as close to 7 after it opens. Later it is too busy! This place reflects wonderful SriLankan hospitality and friendliness. Highly recommended. Rooms are clean with a/c and hot water. The price very reasonable for what you get. Definitely qualifies as a boutique budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontosouza44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

This little guest house is a perfect get away. The owner is so nice and speaks perfect English. He also runs a tour operating service and has worked for many many years as a driver/guide/tour operator before getting into the guest house business. His tour company is called sinhagiri tours and has its own web site. He will fix anything for you.

Staying here was like living in someone's house. The wife did all the cooking, and what AWESOME cooking it was. Best food out of all our three weeks in Sri Lanka. She was so sweet and even gave us the recipe for her coconut sambal that was to die for!
They have just built some more rooms on the property so you can live out of their house as well with private garden, but we really liked living with this wonderful family. Late night conversations about economy, politics and religion. We felt right at home!

Sigiriya rock is walking distance from here, but we rented bikes from the owners to get around. The views are amazing. Sigiriya rock towering above the trees in one direction, a large Buddha statue smiling down at you from the temple in the other direction. Luscious trees and jungle birds all around. Relaxing to say the least.
The owner arranged a safari for us which was soooo cool with elephants and peacocks and thousands of other animals. When time came to leave, the owner drove us all the way to kandy. Go here!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Gnosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights.

This is like coming home to a family. A classic guesthouse feeling.

Very nice and clean rooms. The owner and his wife run things.
My advise would be not to look at the menu but rather have them recommend you what to eat. Had some marvelous food here.

The owner is really good at managing tours and driving and from what I understand he is fully licensed to do so. He also speaks impeccable English which makes things smooth and easy.
He got us on a safari and it was great. Saw wild elephants up close. Also drove us to Kandy.

Will come back here one day.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StiffStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiligenhafen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Very warm welcome, all sorts of support for planning and organizing tours, owner is a tour guide with excellent knowledge of the sights. Knows exactly where and when to go. He has means of transport (minivan, tucktuck, 2 bikes). We were never disappointed with what he suggested (Ayurveda massage, Minneriya National Park ..). The guesthouse is quietly situated so you can enjoy the music of the jungle. Rooms are nice and spacecous and there are big roofed verandas.
It would be good if they offered trips on a board to sign in so that guests with a lower budget could share transport costs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This place is very nice, not directly on the main road which is an advantage compared to the other places (means no noise from cars). It is a short walk from Sigiriya rock, and then we rented bikes from the owner to go to Pidurangala (nearby hill/rock from which you can see Sigiriya very nicely) and explore the surroundings (it's all flat so easy bike ride). There is bus stop for buses to Dambulla (about 45 mins ride) to explore the temples there.
The room was quite big but a bit dark, also it would be good if there was a wardrobe... There is a computer in the common area for everybody to use.
The owner is very friendly and arranged for us everything we asked for, gave us directions.
There were monkeys on the tree in the garden which we watched while having breakfast. It is a really nice place in the middle of nature.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jitka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,536 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,033 reviews
9.1 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#11 of 19 in Sigiriya
76 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
0.9 mi away
Sigiri Lion Lodge
Sigiri Lion Lodge
#1 of 100 in Sigiriya
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinhagiri Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinhagiri Villa

Property: Sinhagiri Villa
Address: No. 24 New Town | Enalagala, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinhagiri Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Sigiriya Rock Front, Sinhagiri Villa is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Sigiriya. The hotel lies 1.0 Km from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. A heaven of rest and relaxation, the hotel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as Pidurangala Temple, Sigiriya Rock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sinhagiri Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing