We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice to start our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent choice to start our holiday”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We booked this hotel with a present given by colleagues at work. We wanted to start our Sri Lankan holiday not at the beach or Colombo, but immediately more inland in Sigiriya.
The hotel had to have a swimming pool to relax and get used to the climate coming from an European winter with freezing temperatures when we left. It had one, with a nice view on Sigiriya Rock and also a lot of birdlife in the garden. The pool had not a lot of beds but with the hotel mainly used with tourgroups with a very tight schedule there was always room whatever part of the day. The hotel is very well located and it is a nice walk to Sigiriya Rock, which is offcourse a higlight to any Sri Lankan trip. The grounds of the hotel are very nice with a lot of detail and nature surrounding it. A walk over the grounds and in the forest in the neighbourhood gives you allready a lot of opportunities to see some nice collorful birds such as paradise fly catchters, barbets, grey hornbill, orange minivet, ... The langur and macaque monkeys make you feel immediately far from home : Yes holiday has started !
The complex delivers : bungalowrooms are nicely spread out over the premises, large room and dito beds with a good matress, plenty of hot water to shower, a few stains in the bathrooms (yes this is a tropical climate), good restaurant were you can also have a la carte in stead of buffet.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoelenKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    487
    192
    39
    18
See reviews for
273
411
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

As part of our weeks cultural tour of Sri Lanka we stayed at a number od hotels; Hotel Mermaid & Club, Heritance Tea Factory, Mahaweli Reach Hotel and Sigiriya Village Hotel.

The hotel is situated only a few miles from many of Sri Lanka's most popular cultural sites, such as Sigiriya Rock, Dambulla Caves, Kandalama Lake. It is built near a lake with much untouched flora and fauna, and we saw Monkeys and a monitor lizard and chipmunks and kites. The hotel's management have cleverly dovetailed nature with an acceptable degree of modernity.

Guests stay in well designed spacious bungalows with large bathrooms, each sporting verandas and up to date amenities. During my stay, complaints were notably absent and one of the nice surprises was that the bungalow had plugs suitable for UK citizens (no adaptors needed...).

Guests tended to leave the hotel after breakfast leaving the (small) pool area nicely quiet as there are only 12 (uncomfortable) loungers. On one occasion there were 36 people by the pool and due to the lack of loungers they were either on towels or normal seats. The pool service was very good but even doubling up the pads provided did not help much as the beds were quite uncomfortable. There is wild life around and one small girl lost her banana to a local monkey.

All meals are buffet style with plenty of variation and boast a high standard of quality.

There is a Spa here and a one hour full body massage is only 3,000 rupees - something to consider. They also have free wi-fi but strangely it only appeared to work at night, was only in the main building lounge and had a poor signal strength.

Near the hotel and lake, you have the opportunity to have an elphant ride and one I would heartily recommend. The elephant goes into the lake and gives you some magnificent views of Sigiriya Rock. A young lad borrows your camera and for a small tip will take (loads) of pictures of you and the elephant.

Our four night stay could only be described as 'Great' and I would re-book this hotel on any future visit to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ObjectiveAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The rooms at this hotel can only be described as basic. You get a clean comfortable room with a decent bathroom but not a lot else. However, fellow travellers had larger rooms with fridges and TV's. It would appear that the better accommodation is further away from the hotel. The hotel itself is well kept with a nice pool with a view of Lion Rock. The food was good with lots of choice. Around the pleasant grounds you'll encounter monkeys and land monitors. It takes a few minutes to walk to the village which sits alongside a lake that is rich in a variety of bird life. You can take an elephant ride on the far side of the village. *WARNING!* If you go to the rock beware of so called guides and helpers. Best advice is to ignore them completely, don't speak to them, make eye contact and under no circustances let them touch you. If you do, they will be demanding money from you later.

Room Tip: Further away from the hotel would seem to be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helpman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alresford
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Spread out like a village with bungalow style rooms. Pretty basic but comfortable accommodation with no frills. Food served buffet style was pretty good but a bit 'samey' after three days. Views of Lion Rock obscured by growing trees since the advertising pics. were published.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathanmckenzie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We arrived in Sigiriya Village Hotel from Trincomalee. As the only place worth seeing from a tourists' point of view was the Lion Rock, we had plenty of time to go for long walks inside the hotel as well as around the village. As it had rained in the afternoon, the weather had become quite bearable. We found the entire setting of the hotel, the rooms, the dining area, etc., very soothing and friendly. The television was a disappointment though. The hotel management could consider having a few English channels also.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vnlambu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We arrived here for one night after our seaside trip. It was the first up market hotel we enjoyed in Sri Lanka. It felt well managed and retains a small hotel feel with good service levels; particularly from the chefs, who were very proud of their food and keen to talk. The only comment would be that the room had a slight damp feel and smell, and our shower was not draining quick enough, and flooded the bathroom if the two of us showered back to back. Overall we enjoyed our stay a lot and were sad to leave; we would have liked to stay another night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Our agent had booked us a Deluxe room at this hotel but due to some screw up in the booking, we were booked into a Standard room instead (not sure if it was the agent's or hotel's fault as everyone was blaming everyone else). I cannot believe that this supposedly 4 star hotel would actually charge guests to stay in the Standard rooms. You'd have to pay me to stay in them!

The condition of the Standard rooms was dire, horrendous, appalling. The room was dark and dank, I felt depressed sitting in there for almost 2 hours waiting, while our guide rushed around to find us alternative accommodation in high season, at 6pm after a 4 hour drive from the airport (we ended up at Pelwehera Village Resort in Dambulla which was awesome).

What else was wrong with this room in this 4 star hotel?
- There was no kettle, fridge or TV
- There was a thermos water flask which looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a while and I certainly would not encourage anyone to drink from it unless you had an urge to overdose on Lomotil
- The furniture was worn out
- The towels were grey and thin
- The room service menu and information folder were covered in stains and looked like they hadn't been replaced in many years
- I've seen better bathrooms on campsites than the one in this room
- There was dust under the bed and bugs in the room
- The only positives were that the air-conditioning and fan were still working

The room looked like it had been long forgotten and neglected. If I was paying 1 or 2 star prices then I would not have reason to complain. But to rock up to this at a 4 star hotel is ridiculous and totally unacceptable!

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms like the plague! If you cannot get a superior or deluxe room, find another hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missduhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,536 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,592 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Sigiriya
549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#11 of 19 in Sigiriya
76 reviews
3.5 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 19 in Sigiriya
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Property: Sigiriya Village Hotel
Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing