We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to spend lesure time with many activities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to spend lesure time with many activities.”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Reasonable price with delicious local & international meals. Beautiful locations. More activities. But inside room facilities has to be improve. Coffee & Tea making facilities, water heating facilities are not in rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGHarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    480
    190
    39
    18
See reviews for
263
406
43
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here as part of a short driving tour through the cultural triangle and this was the perfect place to stop over. The room was great and very comfortable so we were able to relax instantly. The rooms are spread out almost like cottages and so although it is quite a big hotel it doesn't feel like it. Buffet food isn't my favourite but of all the places we stayed on our trip this was the best by a long way. All the staff was very attentive and friendly - I recommend the special liquor coffees that they make up by your table. The hotel restaurant has a wonderful view across the pool to Sigiriya Rock - I just wish we'd had a longer stay here so we could enjoy the pool and the hotel a bit more!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Spent two nights here at the start of a three night Cultural Tour with Mercury Direct.
First impressions of the lodge/room was that it was basic, dark and had a musty odour ( it is in a tropical jungle ) However it was adequate for our short stay.
It lacked room comforts such as a good electrical supply ( for hair straightners as the humidity did havic with my hair) no kettle and in-room safe. The bathroom was basic but again adequate, the wet room shower felt like you were showering in the jungle.
The hotel position and attractive grounds with "mock " paddy fields and wildlife was amazing.
Did not have time to use the pool and spa facilities.
The restaurant was of good quality and variety.
Would recommend for short stay only, but loved the location.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesholidies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2013

well , i liked the the room and the views over the pool side , the bar and restaurant looks nice and traditional , the staff are friendly and helpful the spa is the best thing in this hotel , the only major boomer was the bathroom , it need major updating

Room Tip: make sure that your room has a good toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sekoon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We spent the first 2 nights of our Sri Lankan holiday here. The room was fine and clean, the buffet dining room excellent. I was irritated by some of the staff who kept appearing to get a tip eg "I thought you might want an early call" (no - we're on holiday ....). Bikes were advertised to rent but were in very poor condition and when we finally found 2 that seemed OK, we were later stranded by the crank shaft falling off one of them. Having said that, it's a great spot to visit the rock which is an easy walk away

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We booked this hotel with a present given by colleagues at work. We wanted to start our Sri Lankan holiday not at the beach or Colombo, but immediately more inland in Sigiriya.
The hotel had to have a swimming pool to relax and get used to the climate coming from an European winter with freezing temperatures when we left. It had one, with a nice view on Sigiriya Rock and also a lot of birdlife in the garden. The pool had not a lot of beds but with the hotel mainly used with tourgroups with a very tight schedule there was always room whatever part of the day. The hotel is very well located and it is a nice walk to Sigiriya Rock, which is offcourse a higlight to any Sri Lankan trip. The grounds of the hotel are very nice with a lot of detail and nature surrounding it. A walk over the grounds and in the forest in the neighbourhood gives you allready a lot of opportunities to see some nice collorful birds such as paradise fly catchters, barbets, grey hornbill, orange minivet, ... The langur and macaque monkeys make you feel immediately far from home : Yes holiday has started !
The complex delivers : bungalowrooms are nicely spread out over the premises, large room and dito beds with a good matress, plenty of hot water to shower, a few stains in the bathrooms (yes this is a tropical climate), good restaurant were you can also have a la carte in stead of buffet.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoelenKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

As part of our weeks cultural tour of Sri Lanka we stayed at a number od hotels; Hotel Mermaid & Club, Heritance Tea Factory, Mahaweli Reach Hotel and Sigiriya Village Hotel.

The hotel is situated only a few miles from many of Sri Lanka's most popular cultural sites, such as Sigiriya Rock, Dambulla Caves, Kandalama Lake. It is built near a lake with much untouched flora and fauna, and we saw Monkeys and a monitor lizard and chipmunks and kites. The hotel's management have cleverly dovetailed nature with an acceptable degree of modernity.

Guests stay in well designed spacious bungalows with large bathrooms, each sporting verandas and up to date amenities. During my stay, complaints were notably absent and one of the nice surprises was that the bungalow had plugs suitable for UK citizens (no adaptors needed...).

Guests tended to leave the hotel after breakfast leaving the (small) pool area nicely quiet as there are only 12 (uncomfortable) loungers. On one occasion there were 36 people by the pool and due to the lack of loungers they were either on towels or normal seats. The pool service was very good but even doubling up the pads provided did not help much as the beds were quite uncomfortable. There is wild life around and one small girl lost her banana to a local monkey.

All meals are buffet style with plenty of variation and boast a high standard of quality.

There is a Spa here and a one hour full body massage is only 3,000 rupees - something to consider. They also have free wi-fi but strangely it only appeared to work at night, was only in the main building lounge and had a poor signal strength.

Near the hotel and lake, you have the opportunity to have an elphant ride and one I would heartily recommend. The elephant goes into the lake and gives you some magnificent views of Sigiriya Rock. A young lad borrows your camera and for a small tip will take (loads) of pictures of you and the elephant.

Our four night stay could only be described as 'Great' and I would re-book this hotel on any future visit to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ObjectiveAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#12 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.6 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Property: Sigiriya Village Hotel
Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing