We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great All Round Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Sigiriya
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel is in a terrific location – out of town and with a superb view of Lion’s Rock. Our room was clean and spacious and included a mini fridge for keeping your water cold. The hotel has a lovely pool with plenty of shaded areas. The food was of high quality. The buffet at night was good, as was the a la carte service at lunchtime, which you could get poolside. Service was excellent all round.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were spending only a short time in Sigiriya, and had come here for some lunch.
It is an excellent place, seemed well organised and peaceful.
I did not want to go climb the Sigiriya, so I stayed here after lunch, had some drinks and
stayed by the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malnit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Well located hotel with a fantastic view to the rock. The rooms were OK, the pool was nice, but mostly the personnel was very kind and helpful. Always smiling and willing to help.

The concept of having different themes around the hotel was also quite interesting and gave a special atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THOMASSTEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Me and my fife stayed at the hotel for two nights from 8 to 10th of feb 2014. A realy nice place to stay while wisiting Sigiyria and the area around. From the pool and restaurant area ther is å nice wiew to the Lion-cliff! The food is good and so is the the service.
The bungalows are nice and spasious and so are the rooms. Its a large resort with many tourists coming and going all day long.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stalemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights 12-15 Feb as part of a tour of Sri Lanka

room.....fab room set out in a chalet style with individual Lilly ponds at the front and ponds around the block where you would see turtles,fish and land lizards strolling by. Big room and great bathroom with bath and large walk in shower. Air con excellent so much so had to switch it off also a fan on the ceiling to switch on if you want. TV,mini bar,hair dryer,safe in room. Amazingly clean room

Restaurant/bar...... Great choice at the restaurant . Breakfast plenty of fresh fruit and amazing porridge,also indian option curry for breakfast along with bacon and eggs . Evening meal again great choice,meat and fish cooked on grill,usual indian options,great veg and good salads. Desserts looked nice but I don't eat dessert much
It was my birthday whilst I was there and the rep arranged a cake with candles and the restaurant all sang happy birthday, made my day. Bar had plenty of choice but as all of Sri Lanka hotels slow service. Just order in plenty of time and chill.

Grounds. . . . Amazing grounds nice to walk around and spot all manner of wildlife. Plenty of monkeys,birds,chipmunks,lizards,fireflies turtles and amazing foliage and flowers. Also kept spotlessly clean. Amazing view of Sigiyra rock from the pool

Pool....nice pool, not big but great for small swim and to cool off.
Location...good for Dambulla,Lion rock (must climb amazing ) and Polonnaruwa

Spa....booked a massage . As nice as the staff were unhappy that she would not say what oils she was using and massage not good. Also could hear everything. Sing said in next treatment room and Mosquitos flying about who bit me on my face .

Final mention for the room boy ( sorry didn't get name ) who decorated my bed Happy Birthday with flowers and stems from the grounds. THANK YOU.

Wish I could have stayed longer but had to move on

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzannesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Fantastic, large room - with complimentary fruit basket. Loads of food to choose from at the buffet. Great bar area to chill before/after your walk up the rock. Amazing view of the rock from the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCJones82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Set in such beautiful grounds with amazing views of the rock. Monkeys are a fun addition to your stay. There are a lot of trainee staff which could do with more guidance.
Top tips Order you drink before going to your table for diner as the service is very slow
Try to hang on to your plate while eating your diner as the staff are very keen to clear plates even if you are still eating.
Have your shower early or no hot water

Room Tip: ask for a room near the main reception as lighting is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,744 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,814 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 21 in Sigiriya
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#11 of 21 in Sigiriya
125 reviews
3.5 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 21 in Sigiriya
446 reviews
3.6 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range: £66 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing