We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place to stay in a village hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sigiriya Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good place to stay in a village hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a tranquil & beautiful location, seegiriya lion rock can be seen from the restaurant & Pool. We can go around sigiriya by mountain bikes wich gives by the hotel. Foods are also satisfactory. Rooms have class facilities & spaces.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RGHarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    469
    184
    37
    17
See reviews for
253
397
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoy our 2-night stay here. The beautiful grounds are extensive and well-maintained. They include pool with view of the rock; ponds with turtles, ducks, birds; a fountain and stone wall covered in five-finger ferns; many trees/flowers; and pleasant walking paths. It was fun to watch monkeys and monitor lizards at close range. Photographic prize was close-up of a bright blue kingfisher. Room itself was clean and functional but not luxurious. Bathroom was not air-conditioned and did not provide typical hotel amenities. Buffet in restaurant provided many delicious choices at both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights during a tour of Sri Lanka. This is a tranquil and beautiful location, the imposing Sigiriya, "Lion Rock" can be seen from the restaurant/pool area. The rooms here are in chalet type buildings arranged around a theme, our group stayed around pools rich with water lilies and vegetation. each had a small veranda and a lounger. The room itself was basic, clean and quite dimly lit at night. We noticed a candle by the bed which came in useful later when we had a power cut, (the power was back on by the time we got back from dinner). Bathroom facilities were good, there was a large walk-in shower and a reasonably lit mirror. The room safe was not secured and could easily have been lifted up and taken out of the room!We weren't particularly impressed by the food available at the buffet dinner in the evening as most of it was quite cold. However, we did enjoy a tasty snack cooked to order for lunch near the pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perfumelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel is in a terrific location – out of town and with a superb view of Lion’s Rock. Our room was clean and spacious and included a mini fridge for keeping your water cold. The hotel has a lovely pool with plenty of shaded areas. The food was of high quality. The buffet at night was good, as was the a la carte service at lunchtime, which you could get poolside. Service was excellent all round.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were spending only a short time in Sigiriya, and had come here for some lunch.
It is an excellent place, seemed well organised and peaceful.
I did not want to go climb the Sigiriya, so I stayed here after lunch, had some drinks and
stayed by the pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malnit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Well located hotel with a fantastic view to the rock. The rooms were OK, the pool was nice, but mostly the personnel was very kind and helpful. Always smiling and willing to help.

The concept of having different themes around the hotel was also quite interesting and gave a special atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THOMASSTEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Me and my fife stayed at the hotel for two nights from 8 to 10th of feb 2014. A realy nice place to stay while wisiting Sigiyria and the area around. From the pool and restaurant area ther is å nice wiew to the Lion-cliff! The food is good and so is the the service.
The bungalows are nice and spasious and so are the rooms. Its a large resort with many tourists coming and going all day long.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stalemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
9.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
8.4 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
3.1 mi away
Kassapa Lions Rock
Kassapa Lions Rock
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Property: Sigiriya Village Hotel
Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing