We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a heritage lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel had arranged a real cultural heritage lunch for the SAARC delegates. there was a small paddy field, a man ploughing, a tree hut where a man was singing folk songs, display of grinding and pounding grain. Then lunch on lotus leaves, real indigenous curries and sweetmeats, which also included sweet toddy straight from the tree.

Room Tip: if you are going in a group request this special lunch layout
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saadhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
There are newer reviews for Sigiriya Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour of Sri Lanka. We had a deluxe room which was very clean and comfortable, with the exception that the air conditioning unit was located directly above the bed and during the night it would drip on to our heads. We reported it and the maintenance attendant came to look at it, but it did it again on the second night! Apart from that though everything else was absolutely fine. The location as a base was very relaxing, we enjoyed the pool and also walking around the grounds which are home to quite a lot of wildlife, monkeys, birds and monitor lizards included. The food was very good with plenty of choice and they also kindly indicated the "hotness" of the various curries which was very helpful (hot really did mean hot!). All the staff were very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms were very comfortable although keep an eye on the air conditioning!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Amazing room, designed in such a way that you almost don't feel like you're in a stuffy Western hotel. So much wildlife in the grounds, staff are great and food was really good. Wouldn't stay for more than two nights but was pleased that I stayed for two. You can rent bikes at the hotel which is great for exploring the area - although it is a lot more expensive than any other place you can rent bikes from in the area. Packed full of tours but didn't really affect us. Only downside maybe the price but I think it was still worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FFC579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 days on our back packing holiday around SL, as a bit of treat (for the pool!). Whilst the setting could not be more ideal - overlooking lion rock and a short walk to its entrance - the hotel is now on the package holidays hotel hitlist and has lost its Sri Lankan charm somewhat and become overly westernised. The bungalow rooms were perfectly comfortable and had rustic charm for the Eco-tourist, but perhaps not 5* resort luxury. Good huge beds with decent AC and fans though not much natural light unless you opened your drapes to the bungalows opposite to see in!

Our main gripe was the overly westernised food and price for drinks/ dinner. We chose to eat from the a la carte menu rather than the set price buffet as the buffet curries were not very special. Combined with bus loads of organized tour groups descending on the pool, hardly made for a relaxing dip!

However, the setting is fabulous , and ideal location to explore the surrounding area. Just eat elsewhere if you want some authentic cuisine!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SKbristol24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

There isn't a lot to say that hasn't been said in the other reviews, except of all the 3 and 4 star hotels we stayed in Sri Lanka this was our favorite. Yes the rooms are a little tired and it would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities but room service brought the tea at no extra cost and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The setting is beautiful and take a look at their veg garden, they use their own grown organic produce in their curries. The rooms take our British plugs and European plugs and our room was very clean with a comfy bed. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillips52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed two nights at the Sigiriya Village in March and found it very comfortable and clean in a beautiful setting. The food was good in a spacious dining room with views of the Sigiriya Rock Fortress. The staff were pleasant and helpful. It was a shame we didn't have more time to explore the grounds and the surrounding area of the hotel, but as this was part of a tour we didn't have the time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dottyandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel has a good location - close to the Sigiriya Rock. The pool is nice for a refreshing dip. The room decor looked outdated. There are lots of monkeys and birds around the hotel. Bar area was nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayLover053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,604 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,658 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#10 of 20 in Sigiriya
99 reviews
3.5 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
424 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range: £43 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing