We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet repose in the wilds of Sigirya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A quiet repose in the wilds of Sigirya”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Finding that we had individual cabins/cottages as our main accommodation we were really enthusiastic about our short stay. The grounds are beautifully maintained and give the opportunity, if that's what you're looking for, to checkout the local wildlife - monkeys, lizards, terrapins and some wonderful birds. The rooms are really well-appointed with some lovely Sri Lankan wall hangings, well-planned lighting and nicely-appointed bathrooms.
A stroll takes you to the bar and restaurant. The whole complex is open-sided, so is always pleasantly airy. The staff are very, very attentive ( we were pleased to see how many of them were badged as trainees). The buffet meals were exceptional and there were always staff around to advise and recommend. I was travelling with a group of birders but would happily book into Sigirya Village with my wife.
There's plenty to do around the area - not least, if you're that way inclined, scale Lion Rock!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank localhero13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    481
    191
    39
    18
See reviews for
265
407
44
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Sigiriya Village and greatly enjoyed our stay. The staff was attentive and interacted like in no other Hotel we visited during our two weeks holiday through Sri Lanka. We had good fun with the Waiters and the Managers in charge were happy to hear our opinions on how the make the Hotel even better.

I also greatly enjoyed Bird watching with Malaka, their Environment Executive/Naturalist. It would be nice to see if the Hotel could organize a program bringing the Nature closer to the guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcolino888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel had arranged a real cultural heritage lunch for the SAARC delegates. there was a small paddy field, a man ploughing, a tree hut where a man was singing folk songs, display of grinding and pounding grain. Then lunch on lotus leaves, real indigenous curries and sweetmeats, which also included sweet toddy straight from the tree.

Room Tip: if you are going in a group request this special lunch layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saadhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour of Sri Lanka. We had a deluxe room which was very clean and comfortable, with the exception that the air conditioning unit was located directly above the bed and during the night it would drip on to our heads. We reported it and the maintenance attendant came to look at it, but it did it again on the second night! Apart from that though everything else was absolutely fine. The location as a base was very relaxing, we enjoyed the pool and also walking around the grounds which are home to quite a lot of wildlife, monkeys, birds and monitor lizards included. The food was very good with plenty of choice and they also kindly indicated the "hotness" of the various curries which was very helpful (hot really did mean hot!). All the staff were very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms were very comfortable although keep an eye on the air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Amazing room, designed in such a way that you almost don't feel like you're in a stuffy Western hotel. So much wildlife in the grounds, staff are great and food was really good. Wouldn't stay for more than two nights but was pleased that I stayed for two. You can rent bikes at the hotel which is great for exploring the area - although it is a lot more expensive than any other place you can rent bikes from in the area. Packed full of tours but didn't really affect us. Only downside maybe the price but I think it was still worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FFC579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 days on our back packing holiday around SL, as a bit of treat (for the pool!). Whilst the setting could not be more ideal - overlooking lion rock and a short walk to its entrance - the hotel is now on the package holidays hotel hitlist and has lost its Sri Lankan charm somewhat and become overly westernised. The bungalow rooms were perfectly comfortable and had rustic charm for the Eco-tourist, but perhaps not 5* resort luxury. Good huge beds with decent AC and fans though not much natural light unless you opened your drapes to the bungalows opposite to see in!

Our main gripe was the overly westernised food and price for drinks/ dinner. We chose to eat from the a la carte menu rather than the set price buffet as the buffet curries were not very special. Combined with bus loads of organized tour groups descending on the pool, hardly made for a relaxing dip!

However, the setting is fabulous , and ideal location to explore the surrounding area. Just eat elsewhere if you want some authentic cuisine!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SKbristol24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

There isn't a lot to say that hasn't been said in the other reviews, except of all the 3 and 4 star hotels we stayed in Sri Lanka this was our favorite. Yes the rooms are a little tired and it would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities but room service brought the tea at no extra cost and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The setting is beautiful and take a look at their veg garden, they use their own grown organic produce in their curries. The rooms take our British plugs and European plugs and our room was very clean with a comfy bed. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillips52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,504 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
534 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#12 of 20 in Sigiriya
66 reviews
3.5 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigiriya Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigiriya Village Hotel

Property: Sigiriya Village Hotel
Address: PO Box 1, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sigiriya Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional ways of Sri Lankan life, we have conceptualised and grouped our 120 rooms into 06 clusters, namely Kingfisher, Paddy Field, Temple, Avurudhu (New Year), Ganga Addara (River bank) and King's Arbour. In an evergreen ambience, where the air is purer and rich-soil is sprinkled with beautiful blossoms, our conceptualised 120 rooms are awaiting to accommodate you as a lucky lodger, stimulating your senses to a novel existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sigiriya Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing