We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but the rooms are average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Palace Hotel
Ranked #64 of 91 Sigiriya B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place, but the rooms are average”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Se stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. First night, there were some problem with water pipes so we get room opposite the restaurant. It does not have any window, except for glass doors. But the curtains have to be closed otherwise, everybody will see you. The bathroom looks very old and there is only cold water. Instead of window, only hole. Next day we move to better room with nice view on paddy field. The room is better, but it is also smelly. The hot water is available, only the stream is very weak.
The restaurant is a bit overpriced and the portions are small.
For breakfast we have fruit, toasts, jam and butter, tea or coffee.
The next positive thing is young boy, who acts as waiter, bellmen and receptionist.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katchik2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    14
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
4
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Its exactly like staying on a remote farm surrounded by paddy fields and a massive lake, with cows mooing behind your bedroom in the mornings and ducks padling in the paddy fields. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are basic with the mosquito nets and a simple but clean shower and toilet.
It was a welcome relief breathing in fresh air instead of car fumes.Breakfast were the normal eggs, toast and juice. The owners made us a special roti with coconut sambal and Sri lanka curry. It was a welcome change staying there instead of the hustle and bustle of the city. I saw the most beautiful turqouise birds flying around, something which you will never see in the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatima786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the Green Palace in December 2013. We were impressed with the brochure but when we got there we were left disappointed. We had 2 rooms. One of the rooms the shower was broken off the wall. The other room had a big hole in the roof. The doors didn't seal properly and there wasn't enough mosquito nets to cover all the beds. There was NO hot water at all. The food in the restaurant was less than desirable for the large price you paid for it.

On the upside, the beds and towels were clean.

This was definitely the worst hotel we stayed in during our 3 week trip through Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieFamily_of4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This guest house may not be to everyone's taste - it is a little remote and part of the place is yet to be built. However, in many ways that is part of its charm. The hotel is surrounded by rice fields. On our first night we could see elephants in the distance near the lake illuminated by the moon.

The staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make our stay a success. Best of all is the food: cooked by a talented young chef it really was some of the best local food we ate during our time in Sri Lanka.

Quiet, clean, restful and charming and good value!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rossaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
0.0 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,018 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sigiri Choona Lodge
Sigiri Choona Lodge
#54 of 91 in Sigiriya
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Palace Hotel

Property: The Green Palace Hotel
Address: No 170 Rangiri Gama, Batuyaya Road., Kimbissa, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing