We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place with eco friendly design and good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aliya Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aliya Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place with eco friendly design and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Aliya is a beautiful place with great eco friendly design and beautiful view of sigiriya rock.. It is situated in habarana and about 15 km away from sigiriya town. I loved the overall set up of the place but special mention to the reception, the swimming pool area and the rooms. Restaurant is good but with limited choices for dinner option. Breakfast was pretty good and they packed us picnic breakfast on the day we had to check out early.
Service was good but language seems to be a problem.
My only suggestion will be to have a alternative mode of transport inside the resort for invalid and old. Rooms are very well spread out and walking to and fro can be a problem ( I had sprained my leg in sigiriya and had a tough time walking around the resort :-))

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank geminigirl_2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    398
    101
    32
    7
See reviews for
407
722
39
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mittagong, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Location- I felt deceived by the location of this hotel- It is not in the Sigiriya/Kimbissa area. It needs to be marketed as a Habarana hotel. It is at least a 15 minute one way tuk tuk ride to Sigiriya (1000rupee one way). This was a deal breaker for me, I wouldn't have booked here knowing that..

Rooms- the deluxe rooms are superb however I cannot recommend the tents. We booked a tent room and I quickly changed to a deluxe room as I saw a snake and there were many Mosquitos.. I knew that I was going to get bitten by Mosquitos throughout the night so I had to change rooms. This process was well looked after by the staff.

The hotels facilities- are great. The pool, the look of the lobby, hotel and restaurant are impressive and so was the quality of food.

Service- is average. We were treated well by most staff however the following incidents happened during our stay;

1/ a lady on the front reception desk answered her mobile phone and started to chat on it when my husband was making an enquiry with her at the hotel reception desk one afternoon. He had to say something to her and only then did she try to hide her phone and dismiss what she was doing. We got the feeling she may have been a manager at Aliya. The gentleman who we thought was the main manager was great and the executive chef, bar staff, baggage people and the waiters were also very accommodating and nice.

2/ We weren't served breakfast one morning. We were given a basket of breads/croissants and looked around to see that other guests were getting meals but we were never given a menu till 20 minutes later and by that stage we were full of the bread and couldn't eat anything else. There were many staff in the restaurant when this occurred and perhaps assigning one waiter per table would stop this from happening again.The hotel should streamline it's processes and also refuse staff from using their mobile phone whilst at work.. this should eradicate these issues.

In a year or so, I think this place will reach it's full potential, as it is a lovely resort but they should be honest about the location of the hotel and resolve the issues mentioned.

The hotel also should have a tourist information centre about activities available, they may have this though we did not locate it! We were aware what was available due to our lonely planet guide book.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Aliya was more than a 5 star hotel in all aspects. Very large area, green everywhere, giant pool has a very cool view! The staff was kind. Breakfast was containing both intercontinential and local choices. Housekeeping comes twice a day. The room, the sitting area, the bathroom, the balcony, the tub, eyc. Everything was so elegant and nice. Very pleasant stay it was.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maidebaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Aliya when it had only opened up commercially a day before but was operating otherwise since a month.

The staff was super friendly and the pool at night is a reflection of the starry sky.
They even let us take their bicycles out of the resort to Habarana which was around 8kms away and was not allowed. Never even charged us after we managed to broke a paddle.

I would however say that the dinner menu needs more dishes to be offered on it.
Enjoyed every bit of our stay here.

Room Tip: Take a room that is away from the entrance gate. Is going to be a long walk but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very nice hotel, friendly staff! good location!! fantastic scenery. It's so quiet and peaceful there. I recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Sigiriya. It was an excellent stay and we'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. We had a fantastic welcome on arrival and were amazed to discover we had been upgraded to a private 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom suite with kitchen/living area, a jacquzzi bath, sauna, private garden area and private pool! It was amazing and the perfect place to relax. The facilities at the hotel are really good -the large pool is simply amazing with views of the rock fortress at Sigiriya. The pool and restaurant areas are very tranquil -they play very relaxing music at the restaurant/bar area and it is the perfect place to enjoy a pre dinner cocktail looking out onto the pool and the views further afield.

We had a Sri Lankan meal one evening in the traditional Sri Lankan restaurant which was a great experience -fantastic food and lovely to be outside listening to the sounds of the jungle.

We were also given complimentary massages at the on site spa and this was a really nice experience.

I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel or recommend to others. The staff were all so friendly and we were very well looked after. Perfect place for a honeymoon or relaxing holiday

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank anna_c20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

we stayed in this beautiful hotel for two nights during our visit to sigiriya and elephant safari at minneriya. the hotel is ideally located in the centre of these two places, just half an hour drive.
Built in a previous onion cultivation land hotel blends with the nature very well. even the trees which were there before were not cut down.the entrance I thought was a bit crowded and small,but the lobby was well designed with a view of the pool and the historic sigiriya rock.
the rooms are spacious,very modern and gave the visitor a homely feeling.The "pel Kaviya" written on the head end of the bed was interesting. baths were large and well planned.
About food i would say excellent .variety, layout and the taste were top class.

I especially loved the paddy museum.Very thoughtful and educative.kids loved it there to see the ancient things which were on display.
Overall This hotel is the stay for anyone visiting sigiriya and surrounds

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Rajith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
3.1 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,310 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
17.5 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aliya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aliya Resort & Spa

Property: Aliya Resort & Spa
Address: Audangawa, Kimbissa, Sigiriya 21100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aliya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concept and Design Embracing one of Sri Lanka's most beloved animals, the elephant ('Aliya' in Sinhala), the Aliya Resort & Spa is set in the lush forests where elephants roam free. An artful blend of contemporary architecture and the minimalistic style with an authentic Sri Lankan touch, the resort aims to provide the distinctive experience of a villager's uncomplicated lifestyle. Location - Sigiriya, Sri Lanka Accommodation Each chalet's chic yet simple structural design has been carefully planned to blend in with its natural surrounding and have been built to comply with green building guidelines on energy and environment. The resort consists of 96 rooms that come equipped with all modern comforts, illustrating a discreet opulence. These rooms have been uniquely designed with the colours and motifs of Sri Lankan batik with themes mostly inspired by the elephant, giving them an artistic appeal. In addition to the chalets, the resort accommodate 18 spacious luxury tents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Aliya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing