We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty but dirty, very buggy and limited electricity”
Review of Eden Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eden Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Reviewed 14 April 2013

When we first pulled up to this hotel, I thought it seemed really pretty. There are tons of beautiful palm trees around, and I loved all the greenery. The good things I can tell you about the hotel: the food was pretty good and the alcohol was cheap. What the hotel needs to work on: clean the area around the pool (it felt slimy), update the pool lounge chairs, clean the rooms better (we got NO room service at all the 3 nights we were there), get softer beds, and get a staff that knows better English. Oh and it would've also been nice if the electricity didn't flicker on and off or go out altogether and not get turned back on. Overall, I do not recommend this hotel; I felt like I was camping instead of staying at a hotel. If you do stay here, bring LOTS of bug spray!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fixureyes81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Eden Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

We've just came back from 15 day trip from Sri Lanka and Eden Garden Hotel is the hotel we enjoyed the most. In this hotel one can feel like in real jungle, everything natural.
Maybe the bad was not the most comfortable, rooms were not fancy but if you travel to Sri Lanka you do not look for fancy.
Food very good, stuff friendly and always with a big warm smile.
Over all we would suggest this hotel to everyone who loves to enjoy in nice nature and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The room was in bad need of rennovation with the plastic toilet covers looking distinctly grey and unpleasant, the shower area moudly etc The mattress had the springs poking ut, the room smelt of disinfectant and was generally clean but asked to see other rooms as this one was so bad - turned out to be no worse thn the others - around 5 or 6 rooms were booked and we could see why this place was virtually empty when others were fully booked. Pool looked uninviting, electric seemed to blow up and then needed an hour or so to get working, food distinctly below average.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for two nights.

On the plus side, rooms were spacious and clean. We ate dinner here one night and good was decent with good portion sizes. The pool was nice to cool down in after a hot morning climbing Sigiriya rock and was clean.

However there is an overwhelming smell of damp in the rooms and hotel generally and the rooms could badly do with being updated. The selection of food at breakfast was fine but everything was cold- including sausages, eggs etc. Also, staff were bit odd and seemed to see no issue with taking photographs of guests without their knowledge/consent on their mobile phones!

I think there must be better value places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandyB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Don't be fooled by the pictures here - in reality Eden Garden is nowhere near being the actual Eden Garden. The pool is so small and looks kind of dirty - anyway you would never want to swim in there. There's so much mould on the wall and the bathroom seems it has some uncleanable filthy dirt. And the staff... Some of them seem like they have no idea nor care what they are doing, not to mention people who work at the reception constantly stare at you and make annoying giggles like they have never seen any foreigners before in their life. Best way to sum up: dirty rooms and extremely unprofessional staff - DONT STAY THERE!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessicachan0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The hotel is on an excellent location for Sigiriya but its rooms seriously need a renovation. The whole place smelt strongly of mould and ventilation/air-conditioning was not working at all. The room was spacious but dimly-lit and furnitures were largely worn-out. We slept uncomfortably because of the old mattress and got backache in the next morning. Guest room's sliding door couldn't be locked properly, raising a serious concern for safety. Cleanliness of dinning area and swimming pool was totally neglected by hotel staffs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateRosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed here February 2013 for one night whilst touring the Cultural Triangle. Unfortunately that night there was a bad thunderstorm and water was leaking through the ceiling in one of the rooms we were allocated. The other room had very poor lighting which made it dark and dingy, it smelt badly of mould and the shower needed a good clean.
The sheets didn't fit the beds properly and just covered the top of the mattress which meant a sleepless night as they wouldn't stay in place.

The evening buffet was mediocre to say the least with minimal choice and barely warm food and breakfast was the same.

On the positive (there is one!) the staff were friendly, and tried to be as helpful as they could.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meplusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
4.6 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#10 of 20 in Sigiriya
98 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,059 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#13 of 20 in Sigiriya
261 reviews
5.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,658 reviews
5.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Garden Hotel

Address: Sigiriya Road | Inamaiuwa, Dambulla, Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range: £25 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Eden Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing