We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Sigiriya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sigiriya
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

An excellent hotel - would highly recommended!
When we arrived we were greeted with a cold scented face towel and a welcome drink (free). The rooms were basic but comfortable and clean. We got two free bottles of water each day in the room. The buffett was brilliant - quite a variety and good hygiene. Beautiful pool area and fantastic views. We were woken a couple of times in the morning (6am) by the monkey's running around on the roof but this all added to the atmosphere of the place. Also saw land monitor lizards, various birds and bugs - e.g praying mantis.
Staff were so helpful and lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Banno27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,663 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is a lovely small hotel close to Sigiriya Rock Fortress - We stayed there for three nights during a tour of Sri Lanka - it was almost perfect really.

The rooms are a little shabby and there seemed to be a problem with hot water - but it was dealt with very quickly.

The food was really good and hot - the waiters were really courteous and hardworking.

This hotel has a lovely pool and a stunning view of the rock fortress.

Would recommend whole heartedly for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bluemary1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Ok, so if you're not feeling energetic enough to climb "The Rock" you can always relax by the pool with a cocktail and watch others do it!
Great hotel, very friendly staff, rooms are spacious and well stocked with bathroom goodies.
The buffet dinner and breakfast provides plenty of variety, both Western and Sri Lankan cuisine. They also have nightly "promotions" for an additional cost.
Great place to base yourself for Dambulla, Minneriya, Polunnuruwa, Anuradhapura etc.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jacki_PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay - the hotel reminded us of lodges in African safari parks. A romantic place facing the Sigiriya rock! The hotel was very comfortable and the service by all staff excellent. Food was delicious - plenty of choice ... the hardest part being to select.

Room Tip: If you want a double room, make sure you specify so when making the reservation because the majority...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rookie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Great location with superb view on the Sigiriya roch, beautiful restaurant and nice garden setting. Very friendly personal, great food (the buffet offered great choice and was of high quality), overall a wonderful experience. Wish we could have stayed longer than one night. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Edelchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The hotel is in a fantastic location to visit sigiriya rock - just past reception you are greeted by an amazing view of the star of the show - sigiriya rock - it is lovely just sitting in the bar for hours just staring out at the awe inspiring rock. The rooms themselves were pretty decent - clean linen, towels etc, a TV, a working aircon and fan. They were a little dated but it kind of added to the charm. The bathroom (like most of those we found on our visit to Sri Lanka) wasn't the cleanest, most pleasant looking place. Service was relatively prompt and always friendly. Food at the restaurant was great (the best of the 10 hotels we stayed at on our trip) - a great tasting, varied buffet with fresh items cooked in front of you - yummy yummy - the chef making the hoppers had his work cut out ... we must have visited him over 10 times !!! Only one small negative - when first going to the room the lock of our door was quite tight and we ended up snapping the key in the lock. Having taken the 2 bits of the key back to reception to explain the problem the first thing we were faced with was a request to pay for the key! After a bit of protesting the manager saw sense and gave us a key free of charge ... a bit of unnecessary agro!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samsamaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Sigiriya rock is one of the "must do" sights in Sri Lanka. This hotel is perfectly positioned as a luxury base. From the bar and pool you can gaze across the tree tops to the rock itself as it rises majestically out of the heavily wooded plain that surrounds it. There are also elephant "safaris" and other nature based activities nearby.
The hotel is of a very good standard. Typical of most Sri Lanka hotels the dining room provides a buffet, although a la carte is available (if you are prepared to wait). There was plenty of choice and the standard of all the food was excellent, with several options cooked fresh in front of you.
The public areas are open sided to allow the breezes through, and all furnishings etc have a quality feel. The pool is a reasonable size, including a slash pool for kids, but in common with most places that we stayed during our tour I felt that there were too few sunbeds, should everyone want one.
The rooms were of a good size, again with quality furnishings. The large bathroom had an excellent walk in shower with lashings of hot water. The air con was good (and quiet) and there was also a ceiling fan.
The staff were universally friendly and efficient. Everywhere was clean and tidy.
There is a pretty lake a few minutes walk away, again with scenic views of the rock across the other side; plus a small huddle of shops selling carvings and basic provisions.
Overall we were delighted with our 2 night stay here and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RedCompliance11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sigiriya hotels
9.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,101 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
579 reviews
3.6 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
434 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#13 of 20 in Sigiriya
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sigiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sigiriya

Address: Hotel Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range: £56 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sigiriya 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sigiriya is for the nature-culture lover and the eco-buff. For a perfect mix of the splendour of nature and culture, there is nowhere quite like Hotel Sigiriya. Situated in an eight-acre garden of verdant trees, chirping birds and flitting butterflies, overlooking the spectacular Sigiriya Rock, and just four hours away from the capital city of Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sigiriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing