We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, but.....”
Review of Hotel Sigiriya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sigiriya
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Fabulous view of Lion Rock and very nice pool and bar area. Room are OK - quiet and the beds are comfortable, but the switches and controls are ancient and largely not functioning and the bathrooms are very average with some plumbing problems. Service was average - not through lack of effort, but more likely from lack of training. Breakfast buffet was great, but dinner buffet was just average. This hotel needs work and it should be much better than it is. Driver accommodation and food was rated by our driver as very poor - 8 people in a room less than 5m x 3m with some smoking and drinking is not good enough. We encourage others to comment on driver and guide accommodation at all of the places they stay with a view to lifting the standards to a better level - this is particularly relevant to the Hotel Sigiriya.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLFP_WSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

755 - 761 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and overall had a very pleasant experience. The rooms are spacious and clean but a little tired especially the bathrooms. The view of Sigiriya rock from the pool cannot be faulted and is stunning. The hotel offers a dinner buffet which we dined at both nights as there is not much around the area. There was a good selection of western and Sri Lankan food choices. The restaurant staff are extremely friendly and service is efficient. Driver accommodation is also provided.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MYM1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Perfect views of the Rock, which is only a short drive away, from the pool/gardens. A good base for exploring this part of Sri Lanka (Pollonnaruwa, Minneriya Nat Park & Dambulla caves)

Rooms are adequate but showing their age, the bathrooms need updating & a more thorough clean here and there wouldn’t come amiss.

No village of any size or amenities locally, so you will probably need to eat in. The buffet was reasonable (c. 1,600 rupees).

Had an excellent (& very well priced) massage from the spa.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sotongirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel is close to Sigiriya rock, and the bar, restaurant and pool areas have a wonderful view to the rock. The bar is a wonderful place to relax for a cocktail after climbing Sigiriya rock, and other local sightseeing. It is close to Pollonawara Ancient City and Dambulla Temple.

The restaurant was nice but offered mainly buffet to cater for all the tourists staying there. The buffet breakfast was nicer than the dinner, although there was a huge variety and you could also choose a-la-carte (discouraged by the wait staff).

The rooms were nice, however, a little tired, particularly the bathrooms. Overall the stay was very pleasant and I woudl recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelHappyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, the location and setting are wonderful. Restaurant and bar were really good, pool was also. Rooms were Ok but bathroom smelt a bit of drains. Overall the stay was enjoyable

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lepidoptera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here at start of our holiday for 3 nights. The staff are all friendly and polite. The rooms are a little basic and could be cleaner but are still a good standard. During our stay we used the laundry facility which was good value and washed, dried and returned on the same day. The food was of a good standard and the overall feel of the hotel was relaxed and calm. The odd monkey appeared from time to time and could be heard on the roof in the mornings. The view of the rock definitely makes this hotel extra special.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anntte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here in January, the staff are very attentive and the food was excellent. There is a fantastic view of the rock from the pool and the rooms are spacious and clean. I would agree with previous comments about the bathrooms, they could do with some redecoration but apart from that a lovely place to stay whilst visiting the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
9.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,077 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
428 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
575 reviews
6.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sigiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sigiriya

Address: Hotel Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range: £55 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sigiriya 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sigiriya is for the nature-culture lover and the eco-buff. For a perfect mix of the splendour of nature and culture, there is nowhere quite like Hotel Sigiriya. Situated in an eight-acre garden of verdant trees, chirping birds and flitting butterflies, overlooking the spectacular Sigiriya Rock, and just four hours away from the capital city of Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sigiriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing