We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but very slow service”
Review of Hotel Sigiriya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sigiriya
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Hotel and rooms are fantastic, and the view towards Lion's Rock from the pool is great. But unless you have all afternoon do not order food at the bar. It took between 40 mins and 1.5 hours for our food to arrive and then one order was still missing. If you're going to eat here have the buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 951PatMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights. The view of the rock is lovely, as is the pool (although there are way too few loungers for a hotel of this size). The food served during the day is excellent – although the evening buffet is overpriced. Take a 2 minute walk to the Sigiriya Village hotel, for the same food at a saving of over LKR 1000 per person. The hotel trips are also way overpriced; talk to a tuk tuk driver who can invariably help you organise the same excursions (in air conditioned cars) with significant savings – as we did. The hotel room was very nice, although we did have a problem with the patio door not locking properly (this took them 2 days to sort out). All in all, the service is friendly enough, but it seems they are used to tour-bus tourists who are likely to stay one night, then move on.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed only for two days as it was a good reviewed hotel near Sigiriya! Wish we had stayed longer as the hotel had many other activities you could do through them eg. Hot air ballooning safari reserve drives spa days and massages etc which we didnt have time to do.
Room was comfortable however we did unfortunately have a power cut due to a faulty generator however staff worked to get the fault resolved quickly.
Bathrooms were very small however with it feeling quite claustrophobic.
Food was tasty and chefs on hand to cook other things upon request. For breakfast the cooked fresh belgian style waffles to die for!! Again wish I'd taken more of them!!
Staff friendly and helpful!
Pool kept clean and brilliant chillout area to look up at Sigiriya!! A must stay and will be recommended to others!
Oh and not to forget... riding elephants nearby ;)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank MathuLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I was first struck by the view of sigiriya over the pool!! Fantastic location.
Clean rooms, good selection of food both srilankan and continental including chefs resdy to grill different meats on the open grill outside!! Very tasty.
Friendly staff made out stay enjoyable.
Wifi was a bit slow in the main area however.
Plenty of activities which can be organised through the hotel including hot air ballooning , spa massages, safari drives, riding elephants in the nearby area :))
Lovely hotel
Overall a good stay and one to recommend if you want to visit sigiriya during your srilanka holiday ( a must-do )!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Nirthana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Sigiriya on a half board room rate and our stay was average, if that. On arrival in our room we discovered an ants nest attached to the hotel guide, which was evidently because the room had not been cleaned properly. On alerting the reception desk they said they were going to fumigate the room. However, we asked to be moved to another room which they agreed to. Our room was spacious but the room was shabby in places e.g. soft furnishings were stained and fraying around the edges. This room had not been cleaned properly as there was dust on surfaces, cob webs behind the chairs and in the corner of the room and the towels were stained as well as being frayed around the edges. In addition, we were unable to use the tea and coffee making facilities in the room because there was no plug socket that was compatible with the kettle in the room, this was not rectified during our stay even though we informed reception. The food was served buffet style, which consisted of a good choice of Sri Lankan and Western dishes but the quality of the food was average. The hotel had a lovely view of Sigiriya rock which was the highlight of the stay and was walking distance from the rock. On a number of occasions we felt that the hotel lacked good customer service for example on our first day in Sigiriya we decided to go and see the elephants at Minneriya National Park, the hotel failed to inform us that it had rained for the previous 3 days therefore the elephants would not be at the tank and it would perhaps be best to wait a day, instead they tried to book us a trip for Rs. 7,000 when there are places in the village that will do the same trip for Rs. 5,000. As a result, the trip was very disappointing and we only saw a couple of elephants outside the national park. On our day of departure a member of staff knocked on our door prior to breakfast and entered the room to check the mini bar even though at the door I had informed him that we had not used anything. I felt that this was rude and very inappropriate seeing as we were changing at the time. On check out, the staff did not enquire to as how our stay was, in fact they made no conversation other than to ask us to enter our credit card pin number! Overall, our stay was poor/average based on the room costing upwards of $100 per a night, therefore we would definitely not stop here again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst making the obligatory visit to Sigiriya Rock and whilst not blown away by it (other than it's excellent position and view of the rock) I can't really find too much to fault here. Room was spacious enough and clean and looked as though the bathroom had fairly recently been updated. Food was of a good quality and varied enough to cater for most tastes. Staff friendly and obliging and although there was some mid communication between reception and housekeeping with regards to some laundry I had requested be done, the mixup was very quickly resolved and the laundry turned around within hours. All in all a good place to stay.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Sharon1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Took five hours by car from Colombo to reach Sigiriya but worth the wait good welcome hot towels and a refreshing cocktail we had four days to do culture triangle before moving on to next location. Room good size great new bathroom plenty of tea coffee and free bottle water every day flat screen tele good aircon only 10 minutes to Lions Rock.Dinner three course buffet about 7to8 pounds good breakfast of Asian and European plus the wild life monkeys lizards birds would stay again.thank you all.x

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank christine186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
9.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,077 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
428 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
574 reviews
6.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sigiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sigiriya

Address: Hotel Road, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Price Range: £55 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sigiriya 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sigiriya is for the nature-culture lover and the eco-buff. For a perfect mix of the splendour of nature and culture, there is nowhere quite like Hotel Sigiriya. Situated in an eight-acre garden of verdant trees, chirping birds and flitting butterflies, overlooking the spectacular Sigiriya Rock, and just four hours away from the capital city of Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sigiriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing