We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service with a smile in true Sri Lankan style”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We spent two nights at Vil Uyana occupying a "Forest Bungalow" which has a very spacious bedroom upstairs with all the facilities. There is a large bathroom area down stairs which has been designed artistically. The highlight of the bungalow however is the plunge pool which you have for yourself. This is a fairly large size plunge pool.

The service was excellent. There are no buffets at this hotel. All are set menu meals with good options to choose from. The management and staff are very accomadative and are willing to go out of the way to make you feel at home.

An extremely relaxing way to spend a few days away from Colombo. We loved it and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mallawicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,216 - 1,222 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

Perfect Place to relax and for nature lovers to spend outside. Or do nothing and just indulge in every single creature comfort inside the Villas. Out of the choices of Villas, we receommend the Forest Villa to be the best, with your own spa inside and private outdoor pool....

Room Tip: Forget the price difference and book a Forest Villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sethvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We had booked a one night's stay in a water villa on full board basis starting with dinner and ending with lunch the following day. At check in we were informed that lunch will be served from 12.30 to 3.00pm so we had a late breakfast around 10 am and had booked spa sessions from 11.30 to 1.00 thinking to have a late relaxed lunch on the day of checkout. However at 12 noon a phone call from the reception informed us that we must vacate the rooms and a person was sent to check the mini bar by 12.15pm. We have stayed at almost all of the Jetwing properties and at many top class hotels in Europe, Australia and Asia but never were we asked to leave a room prior to the meal that we had booked upto was served. If lunch starts at 12.30, surely a guest who had arrived for dinner the previous night and had booked till lunch should not be asked to leave the room at 12 even before the restaurant starts to serve lunch. Between noon and 1.30pm we were given three phone calls by the reception asking to pack up and leave. If you expect guests who have booked up to lunch to vacate rooms by 12 pm, you should not accept full board bookings starting with dinner.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank SamudikaLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Let us thank you for patronizing Jetwing Vil Uyana and we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. A proper investigation was done with regard to difficulties faced during your check out. Our normal check-in and check-out times our 12.00hrs and 14.00hrs respectively. The hotel was fully booked on the mentioned date and as such a late check-out could not be arranged. We do not wish to restrain any guest to a firm time line.

Striking a perfect balance between guests who are checking in and guests who are checking out is an art which eludes hoteliers. Instead we strive to reach a common ground where all parties are satisfied. Do expect my apologies if we have fallen short of doing so.

Awaiting your return and a much longer stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed here for the first few days of our honeymoon travelling around Sri Lanka. We were upgraded from a Paddy Villa (which looked nice anyway!) to a duplex Villa which had it's own private pool! The staff were great and the food was gorgeous. If you're an avid exerciser there is a track around the edge of the complex. Awesome!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

we arrived @ vil uyana after a long journey, and immediately realized that we should at least spend one day purely at the hotel, i.e. doing no sightseeing outside, just enjoying the serenity of the hotel and nature surrounding it. one of the things i realized after my trip to Sri Lanka is that Sri Lanka in total is a place where bird observers have a lot to do, since there are many lakes, etc. in this hotel you have one watch tower and another observation place. Apart from the nature, the architectural style of the main facility and the rooms themselves is extra-ordinary & very relaxing. The rooms with private pools are very convenient ...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Good concept. Has to improve on the food quality and selection. Some simple items like a cup of tea is priced unreasonably.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rushi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Mixed on this place overall and most likely would not recommend to visitors of Sigiriya.

Lodging was terrific, a standalone bungalow perched over rice paddies. The room was huge, and it was nice to pad around barefoot on the polished wood floor or to take a candlelit bath in the special tub. The rest of the facilities are also really nice.

Service however was majorly flawed. On our arrival, we were made to wait 30 minutes, part of it in the sun of the driveway, without explanation. Meals are provided in the dining area by a sullen staff that seemed incapable of fulfilling our simplest requests (like a coffee in the morning). Food was bleh. The meal stuff wouldn't have been such an issue had it been a realistic option to go outside the resort for meals (there's nothing around) and had we not had such good experiences elsewhere. But it was a real downer to feel trapped there and then to have this kind of treatment/food.

The final kicker for me is that the hotel seems to have initially quoted our tour operator a lower rate than what they actually charged him. I'm not totally sure what happened - he tried hard to leave us out of it - but I find that kind of practice by this kind of establishment to be totally unacceptable and caused me to drop the rating a further point.

If you're thinking of Vil Uyana as your splurge place, I'd hold on and do it somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank capttony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
138 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,670 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
431 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#6 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: £215 - £581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong ‘back to nature’ theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing