We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The hotel area and its view is superb. Magnificently laid out with a high focus on "green" initiatives. Excellently laid out dwellings that exceeded out experience. Very friendly and supportive staff and excellent food were awesome as well.

The hotel does have a sign board at the Dambulla junction, however not from the Inamaluwa junction from where one needs to turn to the right side, for the Sigiriya Road, so watch out for it.

Room Tip: Water dwellings offer the best view I believe, however the Forest Dwellings contain an attached mini...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,496)
There are newer reviews for Jetwing Vil Uyana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,193 - 1,199 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

I booked a room (forest dwelling) with my husband for only 3 nights in this hotel but would stay in this place for at least a month!. The hotel is just great: all the villas are surrounded by green and nature.
The rooms are very spacious (we had one big bathroom on the ground floor and bedroom, with another small bathroom, on the first floor), clean, well-equipped (slippers, umbrellas, plate of fresh fruit every day, towels, tea and coffee of any kind ...), elegant without being opulent. In our forest dwelling room there was also a small but nice swimming pool (even if the hotel has one nice and big swimming pool in the main area).
The restaurant is perfect: the food was great, the staff was very professional and helpful and the prices reasonable. If we should come back to Sri Lanka, we will definitely be back in this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaeSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The location and wild life are stunning but the food service and quality are really not 5 star. The bungalows are very private with an excellent buggy service to the main facilities. The Spa is excellent and very good value for money. However the hotel transport and trips are very over priced. Do try and book your own.
The hotel is a long way from anywhere else so one is rather held captive to eat in the hotel. The restaurant atmoshpere is more casual cafe and nowhere near fine dining. The room service food was also disappointing as the bungalows are so far from the restaurant and our food was dry and cold.

Room Tip: The forest bungalows have private plunge pools which are really quite cold and too small for swimmin...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandm61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at Vil Uyana for 3 nights which wasn't long enough as we were sight seeing most of the time and didn't get chance to relax and use our own plunge pool!! The unique setting and wonderful accommodation was perfect and the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: The forest pavilion room swith own plunge pool is a must!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHeyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This hotels is in a beautiful setting and well worth the travel to. Wildlife abounds but on a recent three night stay as part of touring the 'Cultural Triangle' we had had to move rooms because of a coackroach infestation. The resulting attempts by the hotel manageress to 'compensate' us with a free meal (that no-one had informed us about and was to take place at a table by the pool in the dark to the effect that the waiter offered us a torch to read the menu) that did and did not include wine, questioning of a complimentary dinner and wine voucher issued by Kuoni, our travel company, wanting to use the 'wine' offer by Kuoni to cover the single and cheapest bottle of wine on the wine list that we chose as part of her complimentary dinner, telephone calls from her reception and one from herself offering me two free glasses of wine if I would agree to this proposal, not passing on a telephone call from the local ground agent when I had telephoned England to seek advice about her antics and then providing me with receipts at check out which I had not signed (when I had informed her that I would pay all bills and that Kuoni would sort it out) did spoil what is a unique experience. We would go back but not unless the manageress has been better trained and she in turn has better trained her staff. Our experience with the management of the hotel has influenced our scores for the hotel, but take this out of the considerations and the hotel would score highly for cleanliness (cockroaches excluded), the restaurant and setting.

Room Tip: Ask when the room was last treated for pests - this should be every two weeks according to the hotel...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamWrawby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

As a responsible hotel we have taken these comments very seriously and if there are areas we need to improve let us assure you this will be done.

It is unfortunate that you have had a bad experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana, we can assure you this is an exception and is not the norm as can be evidenced from the numerous positive reviews we receive for this wonderful and unique property.

Since we have an outdoor concept we always do everything possible to ensure these type of issues do not arise but on the rare occasion it does occur we are committed to redoubling our efforts in maintaining the service standards Jetwing is renowned for.

In this instance we have also extended several service recovery measures and it is unfortunate that they have not met with your approval and we also think the response is a little unfair.

In addition we also contacted the next hotel in your itinerary – Earls Regency and extended several other service recovery measures at this particular hotel as well to show our sincerity in retaining you as valued guests for Jetwing and we hope this has at least gone some way as another gesture to show that all our guests are very important to us.

We humbly invite you to visit Jetwing Vil Uyana again and hope this event has not taken away from your overall holiday to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Jetwing Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

very unusual place - and worth staying a night or two when in the northern area to see sigiriya rock etc. look out for the crocodile which comes at breakfast time. and if you order sri lankan breakfast dont be surprised if it is curry.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hunter-str
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Beautiful wilderness backdrop. Truly private space to lounge on the cool cement floors, plunge into your own pool, sit on an arm chair on the wooden deck and gaze at the night sky or very simply b, just as you want to - uncomplicated, pampered, blissful. Oh and the full body aromatherapy massage was heavenly.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,661 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,604 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 15 in Dambulla
3,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
426 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: £209 - £518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island's rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong 'back to nature' theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing