We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An ideal place to unwind”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An ideal place to unwind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My family and I stayed at vil uyana for two nights and as I sit on the balcony over the water at dawn to type this, I find it hard to put into words the serenity and magic of this place. We live in Dubai and this beautiful "hotel" is the complete antithesis of the hustle and bustle of our normal day to day lives. We've seen land and water monitors, terrapins, a plethora or fish and birds...the monkeys, the butterflies and the sounds of the natural world have charmed the stress out of us.  The food has generally been very good, especially dinner on the second night...a five course delight.  The breakfast is well put together with good choices and timely delivery.  My wife had two treatments at the spa and commented that the rooms were beautiful and the treatments good value  A couple of practical points though, it's been mentioned by other reviewers that "some" of the water dwellings do not have pools...actually none of them do.  When booking I requested that our water dwelling have a plunge pool, I received no feedback to state that the dwelling type selected did not have a pool so was a little disappointed to find out that none did when we arrived.  An email back after booking would have out this right. Our children are five and seven and although no one at any stage has made them feel unwelcome..in fact its been quite the opposite, I still would say this probably isn't an ideal hotel for them. In all honesty I think they are too young to truly appreciate it!  They have had a wonderful time, climbed Sigirya rock, been charged by a naughty young bull elephant at minneriya national park, which although a little scary was very well handled by our guide and driver, but besides that and seeing nature in its finest regalia they've been able to watch the everyday tension and stress unwind its grip from their parents - something I hope they remember as fondly as I'm sure we will. 
There were a couple of slight negatives that are the reason I've only given a 4 star, my wife thinks I shouldn't mention...and all in all in all it does seem unfair to be critical, but if the management really want to be know a world class resort, then some tiny changes need to happen, mainly just attention to detail in the restaurant. Having said that, we would love to return someday, although probably without the children in tow.

Room Tip: Water villas have no pool, but do have the most wonderful view of the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Adviser while enjoying the light and beauty of dawn. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful time at Jetwing Vil Uyana.
Most of our guests become truly fascinated by the nature as this location provides many opportunities for nature lovers. We also organize nature trails such as bird watching tours, village walks, sightseeing tours and our latest is the Loris watching tour during the night which is only available in our hotel. Our team is our biggest strength. We also have well experienced and well trained spa therapists to provide the best to or guests.

We are glad that you enjoyed our food during your stay, but disappointed to hear that your kids didn’t quite enjoy the property. Water dwellings are one of the most in demand room categories but Water Dwellings are without plunge pools as it sits on the water. We are incredibly apologetic for any inconvenience caused for the lack of communication on our part. As a responsible hotel we have taken all your points in to our consideration and the areas we need to improve on, let us assure you this will be done.

We are truly grateful that the good outweighed any inconvenience and we thank you for your kind words and grace in the matter. Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana and we eagerly await your next visit as it was a pleasure having you with us.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaiyke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,116
    220
    50
    19
    4
See reviews for
256
932
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newberg
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had a sublime time here. It was private and quiet. We looked forward to our walk through the beautifully designed grounds to the open air restaurant for each delicious meal. We had the most basic of their rooms and absolutely loved it. We watched birds from our porch each day. This was a respite and treat as we spoiled ourselves by this luxurious stay in the middle of a thirty day discovery of Sri Lanka. Do climb Sigiriya. A visit to Dambulla is easy by car or bus.

Room Tip: Our room was nice and removed. We liked the outdoor shower room. For more money the cabana with a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acooley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana. Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We believe Jetwing Vil Uyana is the kind of peace and serenity that is very hard to find. We always try to provide an experience that is unmatched with any other.

It was pleasure having you and we await your next visit to host you in Sigiriya once again.

Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I've rarely been literally wowed by a hotel but when we arrived with my wife in our bungalow room with private swimming pool we had rarely been as excited in our entire lives! In fact, we were so excited that we went straight back to reception to ask if it was possible to double the length of our stay (and happily for us it was)!
The bungalow, facilities, the hotel itself, its architecture, etc. are absolutely world class.
The only downside of our stay was the food which simply wasn't up to par; which is especially annoying since this is literally the only place where you can eat within miles so you end up being stuck with really bad food (and painfully slow service)

Room Tip: Do choose a room with a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnaudBertrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave behind some thoughts about your stay on Trip Advisor. And we are happy to know that you had a wonderful time at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We are incredibly apologetic for the inconvenience caused at the restaurant. I have passed your comments to our Executive Chef, who will be looking in to diversifying the menus to give our guests a wider choice. We will look in to this matter seriously to ensure this disappointment will not occur with future guests.

It was pleasure having you here and we look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Yours Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

The most prominent aspect one notices in Sri Lanka is their consciousness towards the environment and their value of cleanliness. New Zealand is the other country which treats the earth, water and air with the respect Sri Lankan's do. 

Sri Lankan's are extremely courteous and pleasant people. I attribute this to their lack of understanding of the English language a trait similar to the Thai's who are also extremely courteous and pleasant (and I mean this as a compliment) because these races have been unadulterated thus far.

Our stay at Vil Uyana though started at a sour note when we discovered that we were booked in the "Internet Quota" of standard rooms; apparently they have two rooms at the periphery of the resort which look to be make shift rooms, occupied when the resort is full. Bookings.com must make a note of this.

Having forgiven this experience and the proactive approach of the resident manager, we then realised that we were indeed in a place closest to nature. The tranquil lake with its virgin inhabitants including few rare reptiles, ducks and fish created a wonderful opera to be enjoyed from the cutely designed pool. 

The resort boasts of some rich flora and fauna including rare varieties of herbs.

The food is average but it hardly mattered as the minds preoccupation with natures hallucination overtook all disappointments of the material world.

We were trying to reestablish the connection with mother earth; if not here it would be difficult to imagine where else could we have achieved it!!

Let me get back to it as we still have a day left in heaven ...

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vickramjadhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jetwing Vil Uyana! We were delighted to welcome you at Jetwing Vil Uyana and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are grateful to you for the time taken to upload your comments and feedback on Trip Advisor, it shows the way you feel about our product and services, which is truly an honour.

Our people, our country is incredible and it is a great pleasure for us to have such energetic hospitable associates within our company as well, as they contribute a lot in terms of our growing success of hospitality in Sri Lanka.

E-bookings have become a very competitive tool in today’s hotel business and can be complicating when it comes to certain points and system errors. Therefore we apologize for the disappointing start to your visit at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

I appreciate the fact that you have mentioned our environment conservation and green initiatives that we have implemented, indeed our “Tree for life” program has planted over 3500 trees and we also educate most of the school children about environment conservation and energy saving from their little age as a CSR project.

With regards to the food, our chef and the team take pride in their food and are very passionate about their spices, we will be even more careful when catering to different tastes in the future.
Jetwing Vil Uyana is a true gem to escape with your family and we are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again the near future. Please do contact us for any future assistance with Jetwing Hotels Sri Lanka.

Yours sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaiyke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Everything was fantastic about the Jetwing Vil Ulyana. We only had a
standard triple room, but it was still perfectly luxurious, great amenities, absolutely
fantastic large open air bathroom, all the "dwellings" as they are called and the grounds
were stunning. The cuisine and service was all excellent. Everything was beautiful to look at, the swimming pool was lovely. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. One night we asked the waitress at the restaurant what a certain condiment contained (maldivian fish flakes) and the next morning, the chef had typed out for us the recipes for two of the dishes that we really loved. Another very special touch was that the manager came to the restaurant every evening and literally said hello to each table, introduced herself, asked if we were happy with everything, asked if we needed anything, and then left her business card to call her personally if we needed anything. The wild peacocks throughout the grounds were a lovely bonus. I also had a couple of treatments at the beautiful spa, they were extremely professional, 5-star. A special thanks to Chamani, for her fantastic massage and facial.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would hope to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yank-in-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave behind some lovely thoughts about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your comments and all your recommendations. We have different categories of dwellings such as Paddy/ Marsh/ Water and Forest. Most of our guests are very excited to get different experiences in different dwellings.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our food and the services provided during your stay. Our team is very dedicated to hospitality and customer care. We are proud and confident about their performance. We will definitely share your thoughts with our team and they will be pleased to hear your kind words. We always talk to each and every guest and make sure that all their requirements are fulfilled, as our utmost priority is to keep our valued guests happy.

Thank you again and we eagerly await your next visit to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaiyke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Lovely hotel in fantastic setting. A nature lover's paradise - eagles, egrets, monitor lizards and countless other animals to view around the site. Possibly slightly understaffed and food menu a little uninspired, except for the evening meal, but otherwise a great place to unwind. Go for the single villas with their own pool - swimming in the dark with fireflies above you is unreal.

Room Tip: Go for the single villas with their own pool - swimming in the dark with fireflies above you is unre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpkhmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking your valuable time to write a review on Trip Adviser. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana. Most of our guests are fascinated by our surroundings as this location provides many opportunities for nature lovers. Gray Slender Loris is the most unique feature at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Although we trust that you have enjoyed our accommodation and other facilities we are disappointed to hear that our food standard did not reach your expectations. However we will take your comments in to our consideration and improve the areas which you have mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana in the near future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaiyke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Myself and my Husband came here for a couple of nights on our honeymoon in 2007 and it was pure luxury and heaven. The open air bathroom was stunning and the butler service was lovely. We got on so well with him. The food and restaurant where amazing and the whole experience was unforgettable. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm regards from all of us at Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya, Sri Lanka. We are happy to know that you did enjoy your honeymoon at our hotel. We would like to thank you for your visit and for the comments you made on Trip Advisor, it means a lot to us and it will energize our team morale to go even better in the future. It was also very encouraging to read your comments about Jetwing Vil Uyana food and we will convey your compliments to our team.

We are happy to be of assistance if you need any in the future, we would be delighted to have the chance to welcome you back some time soon.

Yours sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,372 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
4.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Property: Jetwing Vil Uyana
Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island's rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong 'back to nature' theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing