We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in a unique setting”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Nr Frome
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Superb hotel in a unique setting”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is set amongst the lakes and marshes close to Sigriya rock and other heritage sites. The rooms are extremely large and set amongst the lakes and marshes. Each building has a set of rooms including a pond and it's own plunge pool.

The staff are extremely friendly and the food is excellent, especially the Sri Lankan curries.

It is well located for the heritage sites and part of the recognised Sri Lanka tour.

The only down side is that the lakes and marshes do attract their fair share of biting insects.

Would definitely come back, the ambiance, food and friendly service make the stay worth the distance travelled to get there.



Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BraddyNrFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

It was very nice to hear from you and we appreciate your recommendations on Trip Advisor. Jetwing Vil Uyana is an Eco-friendly, man-made reserve that takes great pride in its barefoot elegance. We believe our little haven is tranquility at its best. Our team is greatly dedicated to hospitality and customer care. We are proud of their performance and our cuisine at Jetwing Vil Uyana, both key ingredients to our customer satisfaction.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. We wish you would return and look forward to welcoming you to Jetwing Vil Uyana in the near future.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    236
    51
    19
    4
See reviews for
270
974
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The dwellings are really cool. I prefer Forest Dwelling. They go a private pool outside the dwelling and another one inside. The Room and other areas inside the dwelling are spacious and clean. A dining experience at their dining are a unique experience for dinner.

Room Tip: Very good for a honeymoon couple. Forest Dwellings are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oshan555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which was short but sweet. We appreciate your thoughts and kind words. It was our pleasure to make your holiday a memorable experience. Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana and we await your next visit.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent three nights at Jetwing Vil Uyana during the first leg of our trip to Sri Lanka. We so enjoyed our time. Staff and service are outstanding. Great attention to detail from the food preparation to the rooms. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for writing on Trip Advisor and for leaving behind such a great review. I have shared your thoughts with my other colleagues who are always eager for guest feedback. It was a pleasure having you with us as our guest. We hope we have provided you an unforgettable experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Once again thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Amazing! I would have stayed for a week! Paradise. Peaceful, excellent spa, great service, great dinner, beautiful cabannas...strongly recommend it for couples looking for a romantic scape.short distance to Lion s rock.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 948Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are all extremely happy to hear that you had a wonderful holiday at Jetwing Vil Uyana and would like to thank you for taking your precious time to write about your experience, it really was a joy to read.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The first stop on our honeymoon tour and the only complaint that I can make is that the experience will not be possible to equal elsewhere. A large private pool and a indoor tree and pond made the villa something a bit out of the ordinary. As did the staff who were all amazing. Food is of a particularly high standard, with the set menus being more of a 6 course tasting extravaganza than the price tag might lead you to believe. Really spectacular hotel and setting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Public Relations Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which was short and sweet. We appreciate your thoughts and kind words. On behalf of the entire team at Jetwing Vil Uyana, I wish to thank you for your patronage. There is nothing warms out heart more than a guest who truly appreciates all our efforts. It was an absolute pleasure to be part of your special occasion and memories. Look forward to welcoming you once again in near future.

Yours Sincerely

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and myself haven’t been able to put the thought down of talking about VilUyana to anyone.
We did indeed enjoy every day, every hour and even every moment of the rich and splendid hospitality provided to us during our honeymoon at this amazing property.
In fact, we can’t remember ever having enjoyed ourselves so much and so thoroughly anywhere in any of the Srilankan resorts / properties!!!
The Delicacy of the food served during all meals is still lingering in our tongues;
The choice of dwelling provided was extremely satisfying and delightful!!
We deeply appreciate the hospitality and affection of all staff beings provided to us during our lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZinthImran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are absolutely thrilled that your stay with us was such a success. Thank you for your kind words which will be passed on to the rest of the team and for taking the time to post your experience of the highly distinctive Jetwing hospitality.

We are always honoured when newlyweds choose our property for their honeymoon and it is a privilege to be part of such precious memories. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we wish you both a world of happiness as you take your first step together as husband and wife.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

There are no faults with this hotel. It is perfect in every way. we stayed here for 4 nights - wonderful as it gave us plenty of time to enjoy everything the hotel has to offer. Food is amazing -best we had in Sri lanka - its fine dining - we found it was better food to have the set dinner menu rather than things off the a la carte. Amazing swimming pool where you can swim and watch the wildlife of the lake. Wonderful mega sized rooms. Excellent service.

Room Tip: cant go wrong its all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berylhinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our food and the services provided during your stay, as most of our guests strongly believe in Jetwing Hospitality, and we are glad we have now made you a believer as well. We will definitely share your thoughts with our team and they will be pleased to hear your kind words. As you have mentioned, this location does provide many opportunities for bird watching and for other wildlife. The Grey Slender Loris, the nocturnal primate that has made the grounds of the property its home, is the most unique feature at Jetwing Vil Uyana, as you can go on a Loris trail during the nights. Jetwing Vil Uyana is also the only Loris conservation site in Sri Lanka.

Once again, thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,625 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,571 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 19 in Sigiriya
417 reviews
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
108 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Property: Jetwing Vil Uyana
Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island's rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong 'back to nature' theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing