We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“execellent”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

we stayed there for 2days in vil uyana in forest villa. it was superb.manager Indika, and entire team was fantastic.staff were friendly and service is excellent. special thanks to duleep, kanishka, roshana and nihal. i travel with kid and chef lal personally check his need. superrb hotel.nice clean room.my wife used spa and she was really impressed.tasty food and over all good service and trully sri lankan hospitality.

Room Tip: book forest villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malinda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor regarding your wonderful experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

It was a pleasure to note that you really enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your words of praise regarding our hospitality and the personalized service rendered to you by our dedicated team, as you have mentioned. We have shared your appreciation with the entire team to keep them inspired in performing their duties to the utmost.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future to Jetwing family.

Yours Sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 days in April, the hottest month of the year. But we had our own pool and it was very private and lovely. We traveled the entire island for 3 weeks, staying in wonderful places but was one of our favorites and the food was some of the best we had during our stay. The traditional Curries, but also some fun twists.

You are in a very rural part of the country so going for walks to meet the people was something we really enjoyed.

Room Tip: Spurge and go for a room with a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana. Myself and my team were extremely delighted to know that you had an excellent stay with us and that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel, the attentive service of our dedicated team.

Your kind words of praise are greatly appreciated and it was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guests. It would be our pleasure having you back with us for another memorable experience.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of any assistance in your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Yours Sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

we stayed there for 2 nights in June 2014. The place was so different from any other hotel. it is truly Eco to the core. if you are a nature lover who would love to hide away in a tranquility ...this would be the ideal place to go. The evenings by the lake siting in the library or the lounge area would be truly divine....... the best ever.....it will be one of the most relaxing evenings you can find any where in the world... the dwellings were superb. we stayed in paddy dwelling in the 1st night and forest in the 2nd. Apart from the big private pool i would prefer paddy dwelling as it was much more cozier...forest dwelling is big but as it is two storied it was bit too big for us.one thing i didn't like was the mosquito net they put around the bed ..it was quite disturbing and prefer if it had a bigger frame at the top...
place is superb.. they give free mountain bikes to ride around lush natural habitat that surrounds.
food was OK. but we expected more . Anyways as it is a set menu and the choice was very limited..make sure that you ask the them to describe the menu and what is included to avoid disappointments.As it is fine dining..we cannot complain much.but the Sulang cafe has variety of drinks for the evening which are highly recommended.
we came across many fauna such as gray heron,purple heron,and so many other wetland birds.. different species of dragon fly's and a monitor as well.it was truly a Relaxing holiday of rural simplicity combined with the lavish comforts of the present day ....a stay hard to forget.... just as they describe in their website.... would definitely go again....simply love it.

Room Tip: if you want privacy make sure you describe them exactly what you want.because sometimes they would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gimhani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to upload such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana. We always take constant effort to create a relaxing environment and offer efficient, warm and personalized service to our guests.

It was wonderful to note that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and we were delighted to read that you appreciated the location, food and the services of our associates.

Thank you once again for your encouraging feedback and we look forward to having you back with us.

Yours Sincerely

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Me and my husband stayed there with our 3 months old baby on last May. We had a great experience there after a long time. Location,food, room service, staff all were perfect and they had designed the interior of the room nicely and well planed. This is the best hotel I have ever visit in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ridl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor and for your valuable time .It gives us a great pleasure to note that you were pleased with the product and the services available at the hotel. We have shared your praise with the entire team and all associates were equally happy that their efforts were well recognized.

The heart of Jetwing brand always has been unmatched hospitality. As a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the world, we try to provide an experience that is unmatched with any other.

It would be our pleasure having you back with us to give you another memorable experience.

You’re sincerely

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Jetwing Vil Uyana
This hotel was a little unusual from the others we had booked for our tour of Sri Lanka. It consists of individual buildings mounted on piles over swamps and paddy fields. Our room consisted of a well designed individual two level building so no noise from adjoining rooms and absolute privacy, peace and quiet. Just you and the background sounds of wildlife. The room is enormous with a large queen sized bed on a raised plinth covered in a mosquito net. Adjacent to the bed is a very large bath, the size of a plunge pool! You walk down to the lower level for the toilet and large shower. Also in the room, a Bose stereo system, television, tea & coffee making facilities and free wifi. Outside, we had two sun deck areas with seating, table and sun beds.
The hotel main building is built over water with connecting walkways and is a very comfortable and peaceful place to watch the world go by whether from the outdoor lounge or the waters edge library with comfy sofas. We were given a tour of their impressive wine cellar accessed via a beautiful antique wooden door. A good sized swimming pool greets you on return from tours and golf buggy style transportation is readily available to transport you to & from your room.
The restaurant is on the first floor with views across the lake. Service was good and prompt but the food a little disappointing for a hotel of this calibre. I had a Sri Lankan chicken coriander curry but instead of breast meat was presented with a pile of bones & joints with little meat. The daal lacked background spice and flavour as well.
The hotel lakes and surrounds have now developed and matured to extent that it's hard to believe that the lakes are man made. The hotel owners apparently visited the London Wetland centre to harvest ideas and advice about how to design, build and layout the lakes. The amount of different wildlife on the lakes show they got it absolutely right! I recommend the night forest walk with the hotel's naturalist looking for rare nocturnal Loris monkeys. We saw several including mothers with their young clinging to them. The highlight for me was seeing 2 Civet cats close up with their beautiful leopard like spotted coats and ringed tails. It's worth taking binoculars or a long lens on your camera as there's plenty too see when walking around day or night. I must admit that I was apprehensive about snakes being in a paddy field swamp area but my concerns were unfounded. There are plenty of mongoose and peacocks in the area which keep the numbers in check so you're unlikely to see one.
So overall, a very nicely designed hotel with a lot of thought put into environmental impact giving good levels of service but let down by food quality. Stick to fish dishes which the chefs are used to preparing! We would use this hotel again but stick to simple dishes on the menu.
One more tip - the hotel billed me in sterling on my credit card and I didn't think to check the exchange rate they were using at the time due to a hurried checkout as our driver was keen to depart. Their rate was 209.77/£ Vs my credit card company rate of 220/£ with no exchange costs to pay. This difference could add up if you stay for a week so go armed with knowledge of your credit card company exchange rate and charges as you may be better off billed in local currency.

Room Tip: Watch out for poor exchange rates if hotel bills you in UK pounds or US dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor and for patronizing Jetwing Vil Uyana. We were very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you basically enjoyed all the services and products we have on offer at the hotel.

We have shared your marvelous compliments with the entire team, and yours serves as an encouragement to all of us. It is always good to know that our guests left our hotel completely satisfied, as it is what we strive for in Jetwing hotels.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to Sri Lanka

Yours Sincerely

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Everything there is really great. We have privacy, excellent service and I prefer bit more activities to do and better meal options (specially dinner) as those are set menus. There are nice views and bicycle riding facilities.

Room Tip: Go for Forest villa if you like a private pool and little extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dumindu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We were more than happy to note that you enjoyed your vacation and that you were particularly pleased with the personalized service you received from the entire team of Jetwing Vil Uyana. Your word of appreciation will inspire the team to continue providing the best of services to our valued customers.

Once again thank you for choosing Jetwing Vil Uyana as part of your holiday and look forward to host you again

Yours Sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Practice that is, if it is your signature that is required on all the bills you will accumulate - it is very generous of them to provide the envelope gratis.
You really have to nitpick to find bad things about this place....
There were no instructions for the free boardgames available to you while you consume alcoholic beverages near the pool.
We thought we were to be served breakfast by someone who perhaps should have been home ill, but it turns out she was the only person available to take our order as we seated ourselves 45 minutes before service.
The food overall was top notch and the attention to detail is impeccable.
Our only consideration before booking to stay here again would be that it is rather remote so organising transport (we had a driver) is a must.
For those with zoophobia, be aware that with a resort designed to be as animal friendly as it is human friendly comes the inevitable risk of facing your worst fear - we frightened a gecko in our fruit bowl!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBnMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We have shared your compliments with the entire team and they were equally happy that their efforts were well recognized.

However, we were concerned to note that you were not satisfied with the service provided during the breakfast which made you waiting for long time and also that you were not aware of the available board game which can be used at leisure. We assured that we have reviewed the matter with the responsible department heads.

It would be our pleasure having you back with us to give you another memorable experience.

Yours Sincerely

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,734 reviews
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
148 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 17 in Dambulla
3,694 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
436 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: £288 - £579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong ‘back to nature’ theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing