We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice is not enough!”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a long delayed review on Jetwing Vil uyana. We travelled there two times in 2010 and 2013, first as a couple then as a family with out little one. We had a superb time at this stunning eco friendly hotel located in the vicinity of Sigiriya rock fortress. In both times we stayed at a forest villa, which comes with a private pool. The chalet was large enough for a family and contained all the essential facilities. The service from check in to check out was brilliant. The whole staff was very efficient and attentive. Food was outstanding. No other hotel we’ve been so far could beat the quality of the authentic Sri Lankan dishes served at Vil Uyana. We loved the location of the hotel. The surrounding was so calm and quite and it was a luxurious getaway in a village setting. In our second visit we got the opportunity to take part in a harvest festival, which was so authentic and splendid. The staff was so generous to explain each and every ritual and we felt so welcome in that friendly atmosphere. It was my baby girl’s first trip and we are so glad we took her to Vil Uyana as she enjoyed her time even more than us. One more thing about certainty, hopefully our third visit to this terrific hotel will not be far off. Because “Twice is not enough!”

Room Tip: Forest Chalets has private pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDMB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the well descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana. We are happy to know you have had an amazing stay with us, and also experiencing the harvesting ceremony while enjoying your stay.

Your compliments on our services are very much appreciated. Our dedicated and attentive associates are always geared up to deliver nothing but the best of service to all our guests. It was pleased to know that all our operational associates have lived up to the expected standards of Jetwing Hospitality.

We have our “YALA” season paddy harvesting ceremony coming up in this month again on the 24th, and all our guests can experience the unique, traditional way of paddy harvesting during their stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you once again and serving you better.

Thank you for your patronage.

Sincerely,
Indika Gamage
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our luxury villa was set in a jungle like environment. It had its own private pool and large bath. Other villas were set amongst paddy fields. It was for us a unique experience and a highlight of our Sri Lankan holiday. But beware of the mini bar. I opened a half bottle of bubbly without looking at the price list. As I was popping the cork my son yelled out " that bottle is $125 Au. Ouch!!.

Room Tip: Splurge on one with its own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of our little haven, Jetwing Vil Uyana. We are pleased to know you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments are a recommendation to our fellow Trip Advisor users. We are very much appreciative of your positive feedback on our services and facilities and hope you will return for yet another memorable stay with us.

Thank you for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful accommodation. We stayed here for 2nights on our honeymoon as part of a 5night stay in Sri Lanka. Very secluded but perfect luxury after a long flight. Food excellent and staff very friendly and always willing to help.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable time to write a review on Trip Adviser about your experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We were thrilled to note that you enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana and that we were able to turn your moments with us in to a lasting memory. There is nothing warms our heart more than a guest who truly appreciate all our efforts.

We were pleased to know that we managed to meet your expectations in most aspects of our service. Your kind compliments have passed on to our entire team of the hotel.

Once again we thank you for your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana and sharing your holiday experience. We wish you would return and looking forward to welcoming you to Jetwing Vil Uyana

Yours Sincerely

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Designed with the touch of tropical aspects together with the local architectural elements such as walls with clay compositions and polished teak cladding you would just be amazed as you step in the place. Surrounded by paddy fields natural ponds and many other breath taking sceneries, it truly is one of it's kind, which you will never experience elsewhere.

The rooms being designed to stay as large and spacious chalets with lovely views as well as maximum privacy. Some offer shared plunge pool areas whereas others offer private pools for the chalet it self. The main pool is just heavenly, calm and leaves you speechless whether you look over it during day or night.

The staff is extremely friendly, courteous and really helpful and are at service with warm smiles throughout the day. Room service is just amazing.

Coming to the common areas, there are a few public areas including the pool and a read area which overlooks the tank, which flows with a continuous soft lovely breeze. Dining area is on a elevated floor level, which clearly exemplifies the traditional pitched roofs of Sri Lankan housing. This too offers a sort of a stunning overall view of the place while you dine in their deliciously cooked meals organized through menus.

If you are on the lookout for a eco friendly, quiet place with serenity, this is the place to be!

Room Tip: Try to choose the ones with private pools as these chalets are more concerned on privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sahankekiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We were pleased to note that you were extremely happy with the room that we allocated for you, the warm welcome and the personalized service of our team. It is always wonderful to receive such praises as in Jetwing Hotels we always focus to be world class in everything we do.

We have shared your appreciation with the entire team to keep them inspired in performing their duties to the utmost.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana for another memorable holiday.

Sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The food was so good that we had to stay another night!!
Everything was wonderful- ethos, spa, room, setting, pool, food.
A special feature was the library of books. Most non fiction and fascinating.Why don't more hotels think of this? Also it has a resident naturalist who can take you on walks around the site.
A special mention for the Spa which my son and I used each day. That and sitting quietly reading by the pool was very therapeutic.

My only reservation is the shop which sells ethnic products at very inflated prices which therefore people are reluctant to buy. This does not help the ethnic community which is stated as part of the ethos of the hotel. It is better to buy at Selyn's in Colombo or Kandy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank vivace49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of our little haven, Jetwing Vil Uyana. We are pleased to know you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments are a recommendation to our fellow Trip Advisor users. We are very much appreciative of your positive feedback on our services and facilities and hope you will return for yet another memorable stay with us.

Thank you for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I adore this unique place. Viluyana is always cherished as heaven on earth in my memory. I spent two splendid days @ Viluyana. One day I spent @ a Water Villa which is located in a lake!!! It is on a wooden platform & has a spacious living room area, an open bathroom with a jacuzzi and a wonderful open front area whicj has a breathtaking view. Second day we spent @ a Forest Villa. It is located in an little isolated area on the banks of the lake. It is a big but cute apartment with two floors. Upper floor is the sleeping area which has a splendid view which I have thoroughly enjoyed. Ground floor boast a small swimming pool (way bigger & spacious than a plung pool) and a jacuzzi which is situated in a open area. There's another type of villa , Paddy Villa which is located on a greeeeen paddy field. It is same in structure to the Water Villa. This hotel is a super eco friendly hotel. We took a golf cart ride to the main restaurent which is located in a lovely place. It offers fine dinning of mouth watering delicacies, be it western cuisine, eastern cuisine or delicious Sri Lankan cuisine. I truly love the place & the courteous staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GimalD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

It was wonderful to read that you were amazed with the product, environment, luxury rooms at the property and we are certainly proud of our team who took care of you and your expectations were met during your stay.

As you have mentioned Jetwing Vil Uyana is the kind of peace and serenity that hard to find the experience at Vil Uyana is unmatched with any other.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our valuable guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana for another memorable experience.

Yours Sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This memorable hotel is so relaxing and calming. The route from the reception leading to the pool, restaurant (and library) is breathtaking with the layout of ponds. The luxurious, spacious and comfortable water villas overlooking the lake are fabulous to spot all sorts of interesting wildlife. The pool is gorgeous. Seriously delicious food and wine (Set menu was superb) . Wonderful spa. Attentive staff. If you are going to the Sigiriya fortress, arrive at 7 am when the ticket office opens. Not crowded then (and cooler!).

I did not want to leave this haven of peace and our two teenage daughters also loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank char918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We were glad to read that you had enjoyed the overall service and facilities of the hotel and would like to thank you for your positive feedback on the room, the breath taking view of the hotel, delicious food and the about the staff. Our friendly and professional associates are always dedicated to provide the best service to our loyal customer.

Our cuisine at Jetwing Vil Uyana is another key ingredient to our customer satisfaction. Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Jetwing Hotels and its rewarding to learn that it has been achieved during your stay.

It was indeed our pleasure having you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing family for another memorable holiday.

Yours Sincerely,

Indika Gamage
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
6.4 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,775 reviews
4.7 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 21 in Sigiriya
164 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#4 of 18 in Dambulla
3,746 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 21 in Sigiriya
441 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya, Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: £266 - £523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong ‘back to nature’ theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing