We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach but average beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
Singapore
Level Contributor
200 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great beach but average beds”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

On arrival this place looked like paradise. It is away from everything, the beach is lovely and it is very peaceful. The few people around the place were dozing in the sun. We had booked a wooden cabana on the beach, very basic but fine. No air con or hot water which isn't a problem. The beach facilities are good with hammocks and loungers. It is unsafe to swim right in front of the property but you can swim just up the beach. There is a restaurant but the food wasn't as good as we'd had elsewhere. The bugs are pretty crazy here and we were really eaten by mosquitos unlike anywhere else in Sri Lanka including the rainforest. The biggest downside was the bedding which was mouldy. The pillows especially which didn't make for a good nights sleep. Maybe based on the other reviews we just got a bad room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    143
    43
    15
    16
See reviews for
58
240
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

After traveling around Sri Lanka for 2 weeks we found this beach the absolute nicest one on our journey. It is long, wide, empty with open sea and big waves (not safe for swimming everywhere, ask for the safe spots). We stayed in a normal cabana and it was clean and comfortable, nothing special. The beach hangout area was great and very laid back with many hammocks and sun chairs. We found the service so so, it felt like it was understaffed, but no big trouble.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linnea83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Look no further you have arrived a 10 out of 10 from us as we returned on our final leg of our Sri Lankan journey . Polite, attentive staff, nothing was too much trouble . A relaxed atmosphere to do as you please, beach huts clean and comfortable with just the sound of the rolling waves to break this tranquil paradise, no noisy bar music . We celebrated a 50th birthday , the manager organised a personalised cake , flowers , and an evening bonfire on the beach , don't miss this one it's a real gem.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tedo1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

After travels around sri lanka for over a week or so we reached Ganesh Gardens and we were so pleased we did, it was a little bit of paradise on earth. The beach huts "Cabanas" were clean, comfortable with a great location right on the beach with a great restuarant on site while you could relax with a cold beer or two.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potters2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

As a solo traveller I found there was just nothing going on at this place, contrary to what Lonely Planet claims. As a couple this'd be the perfect getaway. That being said, if you're alone and all you want to do is tan or read a book then this is the place for you. There are no wild parties nearby, no hawkers, no traffic/pollution - just pristine sand and gentle waves.

The walk from town is a little far but is pretty fantastic if you go along the beach. Lots of places to eat and drink right next door.

Rooms with sea views are pricier. Mine had a side-on view and I paid a little more for it. It had a nice little balcony with chairs and a table. There was a good fan in the room, plus a mosquito net. There's a volleyball court of the beach and plenty of loungers.

Breakfast was a sizeable buffet. The staff were always on-hand to answer any questions and book me tuk tuks - they just seemed a bit bored.

Be aware there are tons of bugs in the evening, mostly harmless flying ants, but still it can get annoying. Let the geckos make quick work of them.

Room Tip: Haggle the price with them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Night before sleep need some bug spreay for room. Day time its perfect place to stay. Golden sand of tangalles. Food it good all time. But you cant swim in sea. Ganeash garden beach. If you like to swim have to walk on beach and find some good sea but all are like beach wave breaks.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Coming from a very long travel in the crazy Sri Lankan traffic i found this really a great place, calm, beautiful and well kept, the stuff is nice and the food is ok, i wanted to spend one night and i stayed 5 days on the amacas in front of the ocean. seat back and relax. Not the best place to swim but perfect to relax and enjoy a great sunset with a cold beer in your hand.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesco b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
2.4 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 21 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
3.0 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
3.1 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets
0.2 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#4 of 126 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandy Cabanas
Sandy Cabanas
#41 of 117 in Tangalle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas

Property: Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
Address: Madilla Beach, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganesh Garden Cabanas Hotel Tangalle
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas Sri Lanka/Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing