We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recomended!”
Review of Mango Shade

Mango Shade
Ranked #4 of 210 Restaurants in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$3
Description: Home made Food
Restaurant details
Description: Home made Food
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Delicious sea food, very good lime juice and coconut pancake. The owner was very helpful.We definitely reccomend!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank VacationerAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, attentive host.
Veg curry was lovely as was the fish curry all at a good price.
Recommended and would,will return.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food is totally honest. One of the best places I’ve eated in Sri Lanka! The owners are so nice and humble. We ended up in their kitchen making a tonic gin. Felt like home!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank joanabastos79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This little restaurant deserved more than 5 stars! We decided to give it a try after reading all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we were not disappointed, we had some difficulty finding the place as we do not have the guide book with us at that point of time (lonely Planet guide book has a good map of the restaurant, attached is the map to the restaurant, number 11), there were no signage along the road, after speaking to the owner, he told us that he has tried to put up the signage on the main road 5 times but it was taken down by some unknown people, could be due to jealously of their good business i guess. Although we had problem finding the place, i am glad we didn't give up. It was all worth the walking (while searching) when we had been served good food, reasonable price and most importantly the sincerity of the owner Ruwan and his brother. They both did a good job in making us feel welcome. I have to say these 2 guys deserved our support! A big Thank you to Ruwan and Ruwan's brother
Oh ya btw, they are turning 2 next month, we would like to wish them all the best and keep up the good work.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Dream36032131701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is pretty far up the path away from most of the beach bars but we’re so glad we found it after hearing some others in our hotel talking about it and reading about it online.I had a set special (lion beer, fresh tuna steak with fried rice and coconut pancakes for dessert) and my partner had a mixed prawn curry with 6 small dishes. It was great food, lovely atmosphere as it was reasonably full unlike the other restaurants and such great value! It was about £11 for both of us with drinks. Highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Tangalle as we ate at a few of the beach bar/restaurant and this place is head and shoulders above the rest.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank BM4101234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mango Shade also viewed

Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
 

Been to Mango Shade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing