We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

At the moment of writing we're still in paradise. The most beautiful place we've ever slept. Cute, clean cabana right on the beach with a fantastic bathroom underneath the cabana. Waking up everyday morning with the sound of the ocean and a view to die for. Staff is one of the best we have experienced and the food is delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wouter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Spent two nights here and they were not enough. The beach is stunning, the staff friendly and the food and cocktails were perfect. The rooms are simple and tastefully done, and there are a bevy of activities from kayaking to night walks to find sea turtles. Fresh fish cooked to order, long leisurely breakfasts--and a friend group of guys working here. I'd come back in a second :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balkans_Phile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights towards the end of our trip - we spent more than our budget to stay in a chalet as we felt in need of some serious R&R. The location is simply beautiful, and we received a warm welcome, including a welcome drink and a promise to organise a trip to see turtles laying eggs and a room with information about massages. When it came to it, noone was actually prepared to organise a tuktuk to go see the turtles (we had a lovely walk along the beach to look for ourselves and saw tracks, but no turtles) - and we were informed that noone in the whole of Tangalle would be doing massages in the off season (really???!!). All talk, no action from the many staff sitting around. The food was sadly un-Sri Lankan, but otherwise fine. We had better service and better food from cheaper places on our trip.
So, if you really want to do absolutely nothing in the off season, then this is a wonderful location with spacious chalets.

Room Tip: Ask for chalet number one - closest to the ocean and catches the breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights during a guided tour of Sri Lanka. We had chalet number one nearest the beach. Once at the Mangrove Chalets you only require flip flops as walking from the chalet to the beach or bar/restaurant is white soft sand. Lovely beach but limited swimming. however a fantastic place to chill out and relax. Breakfast at the bar on the beach is idyllic. Hammocks to rest in and plenty of sun beds. Even a lagoon with free use of Kayaks.

Spacious chalet with plenty of hot water however limited storage space.

Food is good in the restaurant but pricey. I would certainly recommend the Mangrove Chalets for a restful stay.

Room Tip: Room one is closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Homeworklil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at mangrove cabanas for 2 nights in May.. Despite it being the start of monsoon season in the south we went anyway and had pure blue skies to the whole time! When we arrived we had been upgraded to a luxury beach cabana as they were doing work on the room we had originally booked.. It was amazing! Beautiful room and a brilliant outdoor bathroom with a shell shower! The staff were very very friendly, Suli at the mangrove beach bar was brilliant, took great care of us and very friendly. Chama (sorry if we spelt it wrong!) at the beach cabana resturant was awesome, he took us down into tangalle to experience the Vesak celebrations, and even into
His beautiful family home! Perfect beach and a great safe natural rock pool to swim in. Couldn't recommend this place more!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kfplatts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at Mangrove beach cabanas. We really liked it here. Best location, best beach, very nice atmosphere, staff was very nice. We also enjoyed the mils shakes, appetizers and dinner. Breakfast is not included in the price. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night buy were very impresed by the place. We got the room without previous reservation and soon realised we were very lucky since the place had a lot of guests! The staff was helpful and friendly. Cabanas are eco-made, mainly of wood and are very opened, so you can hear everything from outside. Bathroom is downstairs, spatious shower. The beach in front is covered in beautiful seashells. Despite it is not safe to swim in the sea, I would recommend you to try this place, it is a great experience!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lukc567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
3.6 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
3.0 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#7 of 23 in Tangalle
331 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 23 in Tangalle
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 2 in Rekawa
704 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#4 of 137 in Tangalle
280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shiva's Beach Cabanas
Shiva's Beach Cabanas
#5 of 137 in Tangalle
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets

Address: Kapuhenwela | Marakolliya, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range: £30 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Beach Cabanas And Chalets
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets Hotel Tangalle
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets Sri Lanka/Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing