We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Violent manager, kicked us out in the middle of the night- attacked us !”
Review of Sandy Cabanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy Cabanas
Ranked #37 of 126 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for one night and it was perfect, the next night he Suddenly snapped at us, cursing and yelling , trying to hit my friend.
The staff had to hold him and restrain him. He ordered us to leave in the middle of night and forced us to pay for that night. The staff didn't let us go and wouldn't unlock the gate before we paid for the second night. We left in panic and had to look for some other place. We were afraid and horrified!
DO NOT STAY THERE. ITS NOT THE FIRST OR SECOND TIME HE IS VIOLENT TO CUSTOMERS !!
BE WARE ! THE MAN HAS ISSUES.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
12  Thank Ngshvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

It was so amazing find this small huts right on the beach .. First our driver bring to another place... But later we found and move next day... It was dream to sleep in cabana withso open.. We even had open air bathroom... Greatest find in srilanka..

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musbheje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at Sandy’s for three nights at the end of April and had a really great time. The room was spacious and clean and had decent mosquito nets. Really reasonable as well (350rs per night for a twin room) and the perfect place to lounge by the beach. The dinner buffet was amazing – some of the best food we had in Sri Lanka, but the breakfast wasn’t great. We went up the beach to another guesthouse for breakfast on two of the mornings for this reason. Staff were nice, the resident tuk tuk driver was great and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debs_reda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

during check-in we were shown a concrete storage room hut in the back away from the beach behind all the cabanas. I told Chaminda this wouldn't do and that we had booked a cabana on the beach.

I calmly explained that we had lived in Asia for years and that I might stay there but we wouldn't pay the same rate. We have visited Sri Lanka 6 times since 2009 and I wasn't prepared for what happened next. If only I had read the other reviews here in Tripadvisor first... The owner started shouting and cursing at me and my wife (in front of our then 6 year-old daughter and other guests!). He threatened to hit me if we didn't leave immediately. We, of course, agreed to leave but he kept after us. I had to call the police from my mobile and only then did his staff step in to try to calm him down. One of them whispered that he has a knife in his pocket and that we should leave ASAP. later the police told me that he is a known local "hot head" and they have been called about him many times. They encouraged us to file a complaint with the Sri Lankan tourism authority.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
11  Thank jksmith34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

No doubt: The location at Marakolliya Beach is just like a dream! The nice sandy beach with big palmtrees is nice and for us it didn't matter that the current was quiet strong - we just stayed up front and felt like kids playing in the waves!

The room we had including half board service seemed nice and romantic (Little beach cottage thats build from natural materials) but having no windows obviously animals can come in and they did: We had mice/rats in our stuff and well, obviously weren't happy about it!

The dinner buffet was great! The fresh seafood was so good that we ate way too much! The breakfast buffet was alright - nothing special but served western and sri lankan breakfast things!

We had a really unpleasant experience that overshadowed our overall (except the animal thing) experperience. We were sitting in front of the restaurant in the moonshine and all of a sudden heart and saw the owner brutally beating up a homeless dog. We are not exactly dog lovers but no matter that was UNACCEPTABLE. It took a while until a women I n the restaurant sreamed and took the dog away and even the next day the manager did not admit that this behavior might have been wrong...

The cabans and the location are certainty romantic and along with the good food a nice place to relax a few days - but we will also never forget the sound of the screaming, crying dog...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mareike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

super expensive place (70 euro for one cabana) , unfriendly manager, wi-fi was not working most of the time during our stay, very low quality of food for the price we pay for our H/B, My wife and I asked if they could clean our room a bit but the answer was ( sorry we clean the room only once every 3 days) , we were there for only 3 days so we didn't enjoy this kind of service but we still had to pay 10% service charge and that gave us the feeling of being ripped off, the cabana we had was on the beach but people are advised not to swim because it's very dangerous to swim there.

Room Tip: The cabanas on the beach is very nice but the it's a ripp off
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magdi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This place is in a beautiful location, just out of the main part of town so really quiet. We stayed in one of the cabanas. They are fun, but really dark, dingy and to be honest a bit dirty. All night we could hear rustling, which is understandable because the room was made from bamboo leaves but we didn't sleep very well. The bed was soaking yet when we got into it. It must have rained and come through the balcony at the top. Not sure how long it had been like that for though because it smelt really bad! The beach it is on is lovely, you can walk for ages without seeing other people and there are loads of shells washed up. The bar is a cool place to hang out, good drinks and yummy food but the accommodation needs a bit of love.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jenkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.1 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#4 of 139 in Tangalle
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
0.1 mi away
Little Pumpkin Cabana
Little Pumpkin Cabana
#21 of 139 in Tangalle
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#3 of 126 in Tangalle
157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lonely Beach Resort Tangalle
Lonely Beach Resort Tangalle
#27 of 126 in Tangalle
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Star Fish Beach Home
Star Fish Beach Home
#16 of 139 in Tangalle
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cabanas

Address: Marakolliya Beach, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range: £15 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy's Cabana is a beach front resort with various room categories. It comes with a nice beach and a vegetarian restaurant located on the beach. You can be seated in the restaurant or the bean bags at the beach. There are 5 cabana with the garden view, 5 cabana with sea view, 2 deluxe double room, 1 beach front family room and 2 deluxe family cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandy Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cabanas Hotel Tangalle
Sandy Cabanas Sri Lanka/Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing