We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The owner tried to hit me” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Cabanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Cabanas
Ranked #39 of 96 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Sri lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The owner tried to hit me”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

One piece of advice- just don't go there!
To cut a very long story short- we are three young girls Traveling in Sri Lanka. This was the second night of our stay at this place. We ordered hot water for tea, the water were indeed hot but salty!
My friend and I went to see whether there was a problem, maybe we offended the owner in some way.
At first he completely disregarded us. When I said we'd like to check out the next morning he started cursing me. He got himself really excited over this and got up- and was literally one inch from my nose cursing me.
He raised a hand on me, hit my arm and he's workers that seemed quite accustomed to this type of behavior of his were holding him back. The time was- 10PM and he was forcing us to check out instantly and pay the bill for the whole night. The entire time he was still trying to hit me. We ran and packed our stuff. When we came to leave eight workers were waiting outside our room to make sure we paid. They locked the gate. We had to find a new place to stay in the middle of the night.

Terrible experience, this left a very bad mark on the place for us.
Honestly, I've been traveling in the east for six months now and it's the first time I encountered such behavior.

I hope the police will be wise enough to do something about this before someone gets seriously injured.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank SPR369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    75
    18
    24
    33
See reviews for
33
118
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sri lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for one night and it was perfect, the next night he Suddenly snapped at us, cursing and yelling , trying to hit my friend.
The staff had to hold him and restrain him. He ordered us to leave in the middle of night and forced us to pay for that night. The staff didn't let us go and wouldn't unlock the gate before we paid for the second night. We left in panic and had to look for some other place. We were afraid and horrified!
DO NOT STAY THERE. ITS NOT THE FIRST OR SECOND TIME HE IS VIOLENT TO CUSTOMERS !!
BE WARE ! THE MAN HAS ISSUES.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
12 Thank Ngshvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tangalle hotels

ella
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

It was so amazing find this small huts right on the beach .. First our driver bring to another place... But later we found and move next day... It was dream to sleep in cabana withso open.. We even had open air bathroom... Greatest find in srilanka..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musbheje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at Sandy’s for three nights at the end of April and had a really great time. The room was spacious and clean and had decent mosquito nets. Really reasonable as well (350rs per night for a twin room) and the perfect place to lounge by the beach. The dinner buffet was amazing – some of the best food we had in Sri Lanka, but the breakfast wasn’t great. We went up the beach to another guesthouse for breakfast on two of the mornings for this reason. Staff were nice, the resident tuk tuk driver was great and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

during check-in we were shown a concrete storage room hut in the back away from the beach behind all the cabanas. I told Chaminda this wouldn't do and that we had booked a cabana on the beach.

I calmly explained that we had lived in Asia for years and that I might stay there but we wouldn't pay the same rate. We have visited Sri Lanka 6 times since 2009 and I wasn't prepared for what happened next. If only I had read the other reviews here in Tripadvisor first... The owner started shouting and cursing at me and my wife (in front of our then 6 year-old daughter and other guests!). He threatened to hit me if we didn't leave immediately. We, of course, agreed to leave but he kept after us. I had to call the police from my mobile and only then did his staff step in to try to calm him down. One of them whispered that he has a knife in his pocket and that we should leave ASAP. later the police told me that he is a known local "hot head" and they have been called about him many times. They encouraged us to file a complaint with the Sri Lankan tourism authority.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank jksmith34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

No doubt: The location at Marakolliya Beach is just like a dream! The nice sandy beach with big palmtrees is nice and for us it didn't matter that the current was quiet strong - we just stayed up front and felt like kids playing in the waves!

The room we had including half board service seemed nice and romantic (Little beach cottage thats build from natural materials) but having no windows obviously animals can come in and they did: We had mice/rats in our stuff and well, obviously weren't happy about it!

The dinner buffet was great! The fresh seafood was so good that we ate way too much! The breakfast buffet was alright - nothing special but served western and sri lankan breakfast things!

We had a really unpleasant experience that overshadowed our overall (except the animal thing) experperience. We were sitting in front of the restaurant in the moonshine and all of a sudden heart and saw the owner brutally beating up a homeless dog. We are not exactly dog lovers but no matter that was UNACCEPTABLE. It took a while until a women I n the restaurant sreamed and took the dog away and even the next day the manager did not admit that this behavior might have been wrong...

The cabans and the location are certainty romantic and along with the good food a nice place to relax a few days - but we will also never forget the sound of the screaming, crying dog...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mareike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

super expensive place (70 euro for one cabana) , unfriendly manager, wi-fi was not working most of the time during our stay, very low quality of food for the price we pay for our H/B, My wife and I asked if they could clean our room a bit but the answer was ( sorry we clean the room only once every 3 days) , we were there for only 3 days so we didn't enjoy this kind of service but we still had to pay 10% service charge and that gave us the feeling of being ripped off, the cabana we had was on the beach but people are advised not to swim because it's very dangerous to swim there.

Room Tip: The cabanas on the beach is very nice but the it's a ripp off
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magdi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.2 mi away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
0.1 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#5 of 108 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#2 of 96 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gems Garden Guest House
Gems Garden Guest House
#69 of 96 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.0 mi away
Green Garden Cabanas & Resort
0.2 mi away
Ibis Guesthouse
Ibis Guesthouse
#17 of 96 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cabanas

Property: Sandy Cabanas
Address: Marakolliya Beach, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandy Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cabanas Hotel Tangalle
Sandy Cabanas Sri Lanka/Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing