We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints whatsoever”
Review of Tropical Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropical Garden
Ranked #18 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Tangalle
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No complaints whatsoever”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed here for 15 days (with a few days break for travelling in mountains) and it was just as we wanted it to be. It is located about 20 metres from the beach and the upper rooms have a view of the ocean.The ground floor room we stayed in was clean and had a nice view into the garden and actually provided more privacy than the upper ones.
You cannot get meals here but there is a kitchen with utensils, fridge and complimentary barrels of water free to your disposal, and actually, you can get a decently priced meal somewhere else in vicinity of TG.
There is not much to write concerning the quality, as it was exactly what one is used to in good European hotels; in other words - the best quality.
Anke the manager is superfriendly and funny, her three doggies may light up your evening, coming to you wagging their tails or sleeping in a beach deckchair.
The only drawback might be the fact that the road leading to Tropical Garden is bad at its end. Some tuk-tuk drivers complain about it and might try to charge you more due to "wear and tear" of shocks in their vehicles.
Oh yes, and if you forget a book at home, you can take advantage of one in the "library" - in Czech and German only, as far as I know. For me, the outside shower was one of the best features of this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ondrej D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisOldTown, Owner at Tropical Garden, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Ondrej,
from us all - thank you for your terrific and much valued review. We never take them for granted I assure you. After such a remarkable run of outstanding reviews, naturally I get anxious that we may not be able to live up to such praise. We always try to offer a private and comfortable paradise to our guests. We are trying several years to repair the road with neighbors but unfortunately after every raining season the status of the road is again very bad and sometimes worse than before. We were promised that the government is going to repair it soon….
Warmest regards,
Owners & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Staying in Tropical garden was one of the best choices we could have done. The level of accommodation was nearly the highest you can find across Sri Lanka (the rooms are more european). The houses are set in a tropical garden situated right at the beach that you can have only for yourself.
Anke, the lady who maintaines the property, is very helpful and always there when you prepare a trip anywhere (she can manage the transport and help you with decisions).
If you travel around Sri Lanka, Tangalle is perfect place to stay and in connection with Tropical garden it created 2 best weeks ever!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisOldTown, Owner at Tropical Garden, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Martin K., thank you very much for your fabulous review which is very complimentary. I’m delighted that you found the Tropical Garden a great place to relax and the small team ( Mrs. Anke and Mr. Budhika ) made a good impression.
We both are looking forward to meeting you at our place in the near future!
Iva & JItka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

If you look for a place where you are alone with a long beautiful beach you won´t find any better remote place on the south cost, far away from tourists. Bungalows are just a few meters from the sea so you can have refreshing bath right after you wake up to another beautiful day at Tropical Garden! Local land lady will give you good tips for trips to surrounding (Mulkirigala, turtle watch, Dickawella, etc) and also can arrange reliable and good priced tuk tuk. We can recommend Tropical Garden to all visitors of the amazing island Sri Lanka!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maara_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisOldTown, Owner at Tropical Garden, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you very much for submitting your high recommendation to TripAdvisor, I’m highly delighted with your review and, that you found the Tropical garden a good place to switch off and relax.
Iva Nesvarova & Jitka Adamusova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We spent a week at Tropical Garden in August. And what a memorable week it has been! I liked the location (it's out of town, but the walk along the beach is sooooo pleasant), the spacious garden, the room (which was not very big but had been thought out for your convenience carefully), I enjoyed early morning yoga on the balcony and OF course - the kitchen! A self-made fruit salad with dates and local fresh curd with a sea-view and a light morning breeze...... was it a dream?.... No it was better than a dream - it was our breakfast at Tropical Garden! (And did I mention how much money we saved on cooking our food?! Considering the prices at the closest beach restaurants - a LOT!))
Having visited Arugam Bay, Mirissa and Tangalle I'd say that the beach in Tangalle is superb! And we lived right there - on the beach! What else would you want? Lying on the bed and watching huge waves rolling onto the beach - it's yours already..
And Anke's massage was definitely one of the highlights of our 25-day trip to Sri- Lanka!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svargamarga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisOldTown, Owner at Tropical Garden, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear guest, we are happy to learn from your feedback that your visit to our property was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you were to your satisfaction. We are looking forward to your next visit! With best regards from Prague!
Iva Nesvarova & Jitka Adamusova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricany, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We spent almost 3 weeks in this beautiful place . Tropical Garden is the right choice for all who can enjoy wild ocean,quiet long beaches but with a selection of cozy restaurants and bars just a few steps from the resort, Clean a spacy rooms with big garden suitable for just a great relax. We can recommend to all who look to spend here a quiet holiday with a possibility of interesting trips to mountains area, natural parks or to visit historical sights like Kandy.Tropical Garden resort offers all for very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petr g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisOldTown, Owner at Tropical Garden, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear guest, thank you sparing your time to write in. We are delighted that the Tropical garden resort measured up to your expectations. It gives us a sense of pride when we receive feedback like yours. We thank you again and hope to see you back with us soon. With kindest regards from Iva Nesvarova & Jitka Adamusova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed in Tropical Garden nice and roomy bungalow 10 days, having nice weather, all organised by lovely people Anke and Jitka. We visited very interesting places in Sri Lanka as National park with wild animals, lot of Budhist Temples, rain forest, tea gardens etc.. All these trips can be organised for you by Anke, living nearby. We can only recomend to you all this lovely place. You will live a dreem and you will enjoy, be sure about it.
Alzbeta and Vladimir Simonek + Pavel Prochazka.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisOldTown, Owner at Tropical Garden, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
On behalf of the Team I express our sincere gratitude for your supportive TripAdvisor review. Thank you very much! We are looking forward to hosting you again in the Tropical Garden.
Iva Nesvarova & Jitka Adamusova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This big house is placed in beautiful garden with loungers, hammocks etc. and the garden is in fact part of the beach so you can hear the sound of the ocean from your bed. All rooms are spacious with bathroom. There is also kitchen with all equipment you could need. The view of the ocean with beach and coco-palm is awesome. Seriously I have never had such a great view from my terrasse. Nothing to complain about, just great accommodation for relaxing in beautiful surroundings.

It is 15-20 minutes by walk or 5 minutes by Tuk-tuk from Tangalle city, where you can buy food in "west-style" shop called Food city :-)

About attraction nearby, you can visit Bundula NP or Yala NP, where plenty elefants live.

I have also one great tip for restaurant (search Sha-sha seafood on TA), it is 5 minutes by walk from Tropical garden.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davecze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisOldTown, Owner at Tropical Garden, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
On behalf of the Team I express our sincere gratitude for your supportive TripAdvisor review. Thank you very much! We are looking forward to hosting you again in the Tropical Garden.
Iva Nesvarova & Jitka Adamusova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
2.3 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 21 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
0.0 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#3 of 116 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#5 of 126 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets
3.1 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Garden

Property: Tropical Garden
Address: Madilla Beach, Tangalle, Sri Lanka, Tangalle 100 00, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Garden offers accommodation in two bungalows located in a large garden with the full equipped kitchen. Most of the plot is not built up and you can enjoy its peace for relaxation. Sunbeds and hammocks are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Garden Sri Lanka/Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing