We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vojta and Lucie”
Review of Tropical Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropical Garden
Ranked #16 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Tangalle
Kraslice, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vojta and Lucie”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have spend 4 beautifull nights at Tropical. Nice and quite place, where you can relax. Big and nice breakfast right on the beach. Plenty of restaurants arround - Ganesh garden, Little pumpkins - delicious seafood. Both bungalows have equipped kitchen wit water for free - that is great idea - you dont have to allways thinking to buy some.
I can definetly recommend.
all the best for all of you guys from Tropical Garden.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fretty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prag
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were 14 nights. Room, services (from Suliman and Anke), breakfast---excellent. Not far from Tropical are very good restaurants (example Sha-Sha or Little Pumpkins), we can use pool at neighboring hotel. This place is ideal for trips (temples, lighthouse, birds, turtles,geyser, lagoontrip, etc.) We recommend.
If you wish to visit Sri Lanka, then Tropical Garden is the clear choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisOldTown, Owner at Tropical Garden, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear guests,
it was a pleasure welcoming you to the Tropical Garden and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you very much for leaving your impressions on Tripadvisor!

It is a pleausre for Mrs. Anke to make our guest happy and satisfied.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Yours sincerely,

Iva & JItka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed there 10 days, very nice and quiet place, very good breakfast on the beach and great services. Not far from there is pool also for small children. There is lot of superb restaurants (Little Pumpkins, Sha Sha Seafood and etc.) You can get good and cheap connection to internet and you can chose lot of trips to sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josef H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisOldTown, Owner at Tropical Garden, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Josef & Helena,
thank you for your comments. It is greatly appreciated and we are happy to read that our small property was up to your satisfaction. All the team looks forward to your next visit sometime soon.
Iva & Jitka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We really liked the individual bungalow which is perfect for a couple. Nice ocean view from the balcony, very clean, furniture has a lovely style and there was a lovely natural citronella scent on the bed sheets. I really appreciated the fully equipped open kitchen on the ground floor as it makes one less dependent on restaurants. The garden in which the bungalow is situated was very well looked after, we adored the hammocks hanging in a shade right at the beach. The beach is wonderful for long walks, the only minus for us was the fact that one has to walk to a place safe to swim, right at Tropical Garden there are underwater currents. We also appreciated the Czech magazines, newspapers and books available. Anke, the lady who looks after the place, was very helpful and friendly. She offers breakfast but we found that rather overpriced for the quality of food offered. She also offers washing of your clothes and that is very quick and very reasonably priced.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tereza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisOldTown, Owner at Tropical Garden, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Many thanks for your Trip Advisor review – I greatly appreciate your kind praise for the property and thank you very much for your compliments and kind reassurance that we’re still on track
Calmer, more accessible waters are not far away and can make for a pleasant day out, although quiet walks or picnics on the spectacular beach are equally popular ways to while away the day without leaving the village.
And I can assure you that we changed some products which were offered for the breakfast… you can see the next time!
On behalf of the owners & the Team I’ll end simply by saying - please return to see us one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed here for 15 days (with a few days break for travelling in mountains) and it was just as we wanted it to be. It is located about 20 metres from the beach and the upper rooms have a view of the ocean.The ground floor room we stayed in was clean and had a nice view into the garden and actually provided more privacy than the upper ones.
You cannot get meals here but there is a kitchen with utensils, fridge and complimentary barrels of water free to your disposal, and actually, you can get a decently priced meal somewhere else in vicinity of TG.
There is not much to write concerning the quality, as it was exactly what one is used to in good European hotels; in other words - the best quality.
Anke the manager is superfriendly and funny, her three doggies may light up your evening, coming to you wagging their tails or sleeping in a beach deckchair.
The only drawback might be the fact that the road leading to Tropical Garden is bad at its end. Some tuk-tuk drivers complain about it and might try to charge you more due to "wear and tear" of shocks in their vehicles.
Oh yes, and if you forget a book at home, you can take advantage of one in the "library" - in Czech and German only, as far as I know. For me, the outside shower was one of the best features of this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ondrej D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisOldTown, Owner at Tropical Garden, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Ondrej,
from us all - thank you for your terrific and much valued review. We never take them for granted I assure you. After such a remarkable run of outstanding reviews, naturally I get anxious that we may not be able to live up to such praise. We always try to offer a private and comfortable paradise to our guests. We are trying several years to repair the road with neighbors but unfortunately after every raining season the status of the road is again very bad and sometimes worse than before. We were promised that the government is going to repair it soon….
Warmest regards,
Owners & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Staying in Tropical garden was one of the best choices we could have done. The level of accommodation was nearly the highest you can find across Sri Lanka (the rooms are more european). The houses are set in a tropical garden situated right at the beach that you can have only for yourself.
Anke, the lady who maintaines the property, is very helpful and always there when you prepare a trip anywhere (she can manage the transport and help you with decisions).
If you travel around Sri Lanka, Tangalle is perfect place to stay and in connection with Tropical garden it created 2 best weeks ever!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisOldTown, Owner at Tropical Garden, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Martin K., thank you very much for your fabulous review which is very complimentary. I’m delighted that you found the Tropical Garden a great place to relax and the small team ( Mrs. Anke and Mr. Budhika ) made a good impression.
We both are looking forward to meeting you at our place in the near future!
Iva & JItka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

If you look for a place where you are alone with a long beautiful beach you won´t find any better remote place on the south cost, far away from tourists. Bungalows are just a few meters from the sea so you can have refreshing bath right after you wake up to another beautiful day at Tropical Garden! Local land lady will give you good tips for trips to surrounding (Mulkirigala, turtle watch, Dickawella, etc) and also can arrange reliable and good priced tuk tuk. We can recommend Tropical Garden to all visitors of the amazing island Sri Lanka!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maara_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisOldTown, Owner at Tropical Garden, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you very much for submitting your high recommendation to TripAdvisor, I’m highly delighted with your review and, that you found the Tropical garden a good place to switch off and relax.
Iva Nesvarova & Jitka Adamusova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
2.3 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 21 in Tangalle
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#4 of 129 in Tangalle
264 reviews
3.1 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
0.0 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#3 of 118 in Tangalle
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Garden

Property: Tropical Garden
Address: Madilla Beach, Tangalle, Sri Lanka, Tangalle 100 00, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Garden offers accommodation in two bungalows located in a large garden with the full equipped kitchen. Most of the plot is not built up and you can enjoy its peace for relaxation. Sunbeds and hammocks are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Garden Sri Lanka/Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing