We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kadju House - Magic home”
Review of Kadju House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangalle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kadju House
Ranked #32 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Tangalle
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kadju House - Magic home”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had an amazing time in Kadju House.

The place itself is stunning with the pool overlooking the Indian Ocean, a very nice design...

The fantastic staff, the house, the beach, the pool, everything, was simply the best and perfect!

It's not paradise, it's just Sri Lanka!

Many Thanks.
Mu

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muriel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

It's not paradise, it's just Sri Lanka! We had an amazing time at Kadju house, everyone was helpful and willing us to have the best time ever, which was the case. Nice view, beautiful house, good food... what else? Thanks to the team... Michi and Mu

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

All I will say is that this was the very best holiday I ever experienced. The house , the staff , the beach ,the pool , everything. Simply the best and most romantic three weeks of my life. The attention detail made me cry with happiness at times. The chilli crab remains firmly in my memory palette and one day I hope to experience it again. The cook is just so talented and he even gave my partner a cookery lesson. That pool , wow that pool and that view just magnificent , especially as we sipped fresh mango juice made from the freshly picked fruit. The gecko's in the evening entertained us far more than any tv show. Waking and opening the windows to the wildlife call sometimes took my breathe away. How lucky we felt. We actually went in Jan in 2010 for our pre moon and Kadju House actually made our wedding back in London complete. Kadju House was the perfect appetiser to the most perfect few months. Sri Lanken's are beautiful people and hopefully one day their beautiful land will be healed from wars and disasters. I doubt I will ever return but I will in my imagination.

Room Tip: We had run of the house but the bedroom on the pool level was our fav.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A beautiful modern villa run by exceptionally kind, helpful people. Nothing was too much trouble, from changing my flights to taking me to see turtles laying eggs at night. Beautiful beaches, with nobody on them. Swimming in rivers without crocodiles in them. It was perfect in every way. I cant recommend it more. None of this could have happened without the wonderful natural kindness of the people of the south.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Our family of 5, 2 adults and 3 children arrived late in the afternoon and were a little taken aback by the appearance of the house (the house appeared incomplete).

We were met by Keerthi, the villa/house manager and introduced to all the staff. The chef took us through all the menu options along with Keerthi's assistance and so it was with a little trepidation that we unpacked our bags as we had been royally spoilt at all the other establishments we had stayed at.

Our initial fears were entirely unfounded; the staff made this our most enjoyable stay down South. The food that was prepared daily was magnificent and arguably the best we had in 3 weeks in Sri Lanka. The table was impeccably prepared for every meal and the service was simply amazing. Keerthi's excursions were from the top drawer and we count ourselves blessed to see turtles walking up the beach, laying their eggs, covering them up and returning to the ocean.

The beach is a casual 5 minute stroll away and on our second morning we were met by net fisherman bringing in their catch for the day. We all did our share and helped haul the net in and were suitably rewarded for our efforts with a few fresh fish.

There is simply nothing that can be faulted except to say that the house and the fixtures and fittings could do with a little TLC and be made a little more child friendly, especially around the pool area where it is very hazardous when wet.

The bill for the whole week of sumptuous food ended up costing us around £75 (3 amazing meals every day, with dessert). Leave it to Keerthi to take care of.

To Keerthi and his team we wish to say a massive thank you again for a most memorable and enjoyable stay. You treated us as one of the family and our excursions will be remembered for a lifetime; particularly the kindness that you showed our children.

This villa should be on everyone's itinerary!!

We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The room upstairs does not have an airconditioner. The two rooms downstairs both have airconditionin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doha_Resident_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikrom, Owner at Kadju House, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your wonderful review. Kadju House was built in 2007 and concrete exterior walls, lime washed internal walls and indoor-outdoor living spaces are central features of our design philosophy of 'tropical modernism'; the uncluttered minimalist finishes and fittings provide a neutral backdrop for the stunning natural surroundings. I will instruct the staff to be more cautious about wiping wet floors in the pool area when kids are playing/splashing in the pool.

Vikrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We traveled to Sri Lanka with our family and some friends from Singapore- 6 adults and two children ages 8 and 10. We booked the villa through Sri Journeys. CJ at Sri Journeys helped us to book the Villa over the Easter break. She was absolutely fabulous in every way and I would highly recommend anyone coming to Sri Lanka for the first time to use Sri Journeys to help you plan your trip and find the perfect accommodation for your needs.

That is exactly what she did for us at Kadju house with stunning views of the Indian Ocean and a spectacular (and virtually private) beach just a short 5 minute walk down the hill from the Villa.

The real luxury of the villa though was the staff. We all have travelled to many locations in Asia and have stayed in many villas and private houses with full staffs. The consensus from our group was that this was one of the best. They catered to our every need. Kamal, the Gardner, even took my family to the beach one day, while the rest of the group went diving.

The house is an open air multi story structure with a beautiful infinity pool and four rooms. The room on the top floor has the best view, but no AC. We found that we did not need the AC due to the brilliant ocean breezes.

The house is a bit remote about 90 minutes south of Galle. If you are looking for quiet tranquility then this is a good place to land. If you want to be close to Galle and the bars then it may be a bit far.

The beach is gorgeous and quite secluded. We spent a week there and only saw one other family on the beach the entire time. There are a few friendly locals who may stop by for a chat, but no one will hassle you on the beach.

All in all we loved Sri Lanka and the Kadju House and the ability to draw on CJ's expertise and advice.

We will definitely come back here!!!

Room Tip: There are four rooms, three with AC. The room on the top floor does to have AC, but has a beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asia_travel_fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

It just doesn't get any better than Kadju house. The place itself is stunning with an infinity pool overlooking the Indian Ocean, an unbelievable garden where peacocks and other exotic birds roam and outdoor showers where you are completely alone with the stars. But however amazing the surroundings are the true magic of Kadju House is in the fantastic staff: Keerthi (who organizes everything at a moments notice), Chamara (who knows what you want before you do), Deepika (who cooks better then your mother), Kumara (who does the garden and greets you with a smile every morning) and the ever laughing night watch (who keeps you safe and smiling). It's the kind of home away from home that money can't buy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fusentaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.0 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 21 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
0.0 mi away
Villa Tangalle Lagoon
Villa Tangalle Lagoon
#14 of 126 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.0 mi away
Esperanza Beach Villas
Esperanza Beach Villas
#12 of 126 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 1 in Rekawa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kadju House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kadju House

Property: Kadju House
Address: Seenimodera, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Tangalle
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shower under a Frangipani tree, luxuriate in a cinnamon-walled spa or stroll down the hill to the beach. Kadju House is serene, relaxed and intimate. Overlooking a pristine crescent-shaped beach, the house offers four en-suite bedrooms, an Ayurvedic spa and an infinity pool with sweeping sea views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kadju House Sri Lanka/Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing