We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on what you're looking for...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surya Garden Guesthouse
Ranked #91 of 120 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Depends on what you're looking for...”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This place is a complete relax. No rush here at all. Private beach with no tourists. The garden is quite large with 3 or 4 bungalows randomly deployed. In the center part of the garden the restaurant is located. Because the "Italian Management" was not present at the time we were here, all services took their time. But we did not care so much, because we were on vacation right? Rush we have enough at work.
So chill out and enjoy to be away from ordinary life. And yes, if you are looking for perfect services on time, go to some 4* hotel (and I suppose still will be hard to find in Sri Lanka though). This place is then not for you.
The only thing that should be fixed is missing mosquito net above the bed.
And the dogs were really suffering when Manuella was not there!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rudolf_Vohnout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    6
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
9
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

When we booked Surya Garden it was top of the Tripadvisor list for Tangalle and all reviews were excellent. So we were a little disappointed when we arrived to find that things weren't going too well.

Manuela, the owner is a lovely Italian Lady who set this up as her dream. The setting is beautiful - rustic bungalows in a jungly garden leading to a beautiful unspoilt beach where you can swim and bodyboard safely at the right time of year.

The bungalow we had was fine - apart from the very dim lighting (we used a torch to find things in our case!) and the fact that the outside door was rather flimsy - leaving security an issue.

At the time we visited Manuela was experiencing staffing problems - a turnover of cooks and some lads working for her who were nice enough but who tended to disappear when there was work to be done. This led to understandable public tickings off which were best done privately.

The restaurant was fine in the evening if a little plain at breakfastime.

I was pleased to read some later reviews which seemed to show that Surya was back on track.
Manuela is a lovely lady who deserves better support from her staff. At the time of writing Surya is 10th in the order of merit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pejayHolmfirthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed there a couple of days in January 2013. I was looking for the perfect beach on Google Maps and that is how i found the place.

On arrival, we had been greeted warmly, offered a welcome drink and instantly checked in to our cottages, without any paperwork.

The place is a lovely garden with tropical flora, ambient sounds are amazing with so many kinds of birds singing. Our bungalow vas very clean and well maintained. The beach is lovely, clean and almost deserted, not counting some fishing boats on one end. Neighbouring beaches and lagoons are simply superb.

Manuela, the host, is a really kind-hearted, lovely person. She told us many things about nearby interesting places, found probably the best guide to the Yala National Park, made our stay an effortless family-like experience. After Tangalle we were heading to India, we were leaving Surya early in the morning to catch our flight. Manuela prepared a breakfast at 4am for us and packed us loads of sandwiches and fruits for our way.

For the previous French reviewer, complaining about the humidity - did you make any research about Sri Lanka at all before coming? It's a lush green tropical island, with very humid climate. Where do you think all the greenery comes from? :) It's kind of unwise to blame the cottages located in a tropical garden, maybe some concrete hotel with AC in a more developed place is more for you.

As for the dogs, they are very friendly and it's fun to watch them playing. We especially befriended one of them, she was great company strolling with us on the beach, chasing crabs etc :) No barking at night at all.

Overall, this was a lovely experience and we will definitely visit Surya again if we happen to be in Sri Lanka.

Chris & Caroline

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leptonhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Only three cabanas in a huge beautiful tropical garden guarantee for a very tranquil, relaxing atmosphere. The cabanas are convenient, the open air bathrooms are a nice design idea. It's just beautiful when you see little birds flying around or even sometimes monkeys in the trees while you take a shower or brush your teeth.
The staff are just very nice people and extreme helpful, trying to fulfill every wish. The food is solid, spaghetti pesto are a nice alternative to tasteful rice and curry or grilled fish but in general the kitchen organization has some room for improvement. The manager and owner Manuela is quite a character and since she is Italian, has a real temperament and a big heart.
To Surya Garden are six funny and friendly dogs and some cats belonging. Since I stayed 2 weeks I made friendship with each of them but I have dogs and cats at home and though I am quite familiar with animals. When you dislike animals or you are afraid of dogs, this place is definitely not the right one for you.
The beach is really beautiful and save for swimming what is a rare thing along that coast and you are sharing it with max. 5-10 people giving it a very private feeling.
I took the opportunity to have some Ayurvedic massages, each appr. one hour, which I found extremely helpful for body and mind.

Concluding I can say I had wonderful 2 weeks at surya garden and I hope to come back soon again. Many Thanks to Manuela and staff for your help to have such a relaxing and wonderful holiday.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MacChanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

After reading the reviews here on Tripadvisor, my friend and I decided to try out the 'amazing' Italian food. We were staying elsewhere in Tangalla, but my friend was craving authentic Italian cuisine. We rang ahead to book the table and were passed over to the chef, who asked us what we would like to eat. So far so good. All booked and ordered.
When our driver arrived at the location, we were met by a pack of stray dogs who nearly bit my friend's ankle! We made our way to the dining area and were ignored by the waiting staff. After confirming the booking and asking what the restaurant etiquette was, we were shown to a table. The atmosphere in the restaurant was most unwelcoming. After 15 minutes of wondering what was going on, my friend found a staff member and ordered a gin and tonic. They arrived after a further 10 minutes, and the taste was not dissimilar to gasoline - with no ice. We had to collar the waiter yet again, and ask for ice. Most of the time the requests were met with blank stares. We weren't sure if it was us who were mad or what. Soon after all this the restaurant gradually began to fill. A lady with long grey hair floated around the restaurant saying, 'Buona sera' to the guests. Then floated off again. We waited. The guests waited. The children started crying. And we waited. And waited. Again, we asked the waiters if they had understood the pre-order and if it was on its way. The other guests were looking edgy. The atmosphere was edgy. Luckily, a small child was given some bruschetta. They had been waiting over an hour for food. A child.
Our order arrived backwards. Grilled fish, then the spaghetti, then the bruschetta. The fish was swimming in a pool of darkness. Half a bowl of spaghetti with tomatoes between two (should have been with seafood). I do have to say that the bruschetta was excellent, but by this time the experience was so tainted that it was just time to get the hell out of there. we sped off to our guesthouse and ordered a salad to clean away the whole experience.
It's worth mentioning that the local staff were very apologetic and kind, but the lady with long grey hair just vanished from existence.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27MaddyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

If your looking for something a little off the beaten track, a little bit different with an incredibly unspoilt beach this is the place for you!

The beach is its selling point, the whole beach is shared with a couple of guesthouses when my boyfriend and I were there we had the whole beach to ourselves except for another couple!

The bungalows are a bit different in the sense that the bathroom is outside, I personally think this is a selling point, however if you are someone who isn't keen on insects it may be a bit more difficult. There aren't copious insects but as you are in a hot country and its outside, it's to be expected!

The food is excellent, make sure you have the chocolate salami for dessert!

If you want to get away from it all the location is perfect, it is a 5 minute tuk tuk journey to tangalle.

A perfect place to retreat from reality and indulge in relaxation! Wish I was back there

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love_to_travel_28806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

If the idea of going to a tropical beach and staying in a resort is not for you, you should consider Surya Garden.

3 cottages which have been designed with some flair and although they are fairly basic that is part of their charm - very good bathroom design!

The big draw here is the beach...deserted, clean and right on your doorstep.

Manuela and her team are great and extremely helpful. Food at the restaurant is good and plentiful..

If staying there ensure that you have plenty Mosquito repellent! The sea breeze doesn't make it to the rooms and they came be rather warm - however that's the tropics for you.


Would throughly recommend Surya for a chilled out beach holiday in Sri Lanka

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joma71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
2.5 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
1.1 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#9 of 21 in Tangalle
268 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#7 of 21 in Tangalle
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Taru Villas - Mawella
Taru Villas - Mawella
#7 of 132 in Tangalle
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Isana Beach House
Isana Beach House
#12 of 120 in Tangalle
50 reviews
1.6 mi away
Little Tamarind
Little Tamarind
#9 of 132 in Tangalle
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surya Garden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surya Garden Guesthouse

Property: Surya Garden Guesthouse
Address: Pubudu Mawata, Seenimodara, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Surya Garden Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surya Garden in Tangalle is a charming, small resort right on an unspoiled and deserted feeling beach in a secluded bay a short distance from Tangalle center with western management. The three private bungalows and spacious suite style mud house, open-air restaurant, as well as other facilities are hidden in the large and carefully maintained tropical garden. The three spacious bungalows for 1 to 2 persons are each very special in their own unique design and character. They are simple, but decorated with taste and love. All bungalows have large open-air bathrooms, fan, mosquito nets and private veranda. The larger beach-side mud house is perfect for families or larger groups to enjoy a large bedroom that sleeps 4, large private bathroom, and personal outdoor sitting and dining area just steps from the ocean. The Surya Garden restaurant is known for its internationally inspired beach cuisine, ranging from perfect fish, chicken or vegetable curries up to fresh pasta and world bbq created by an American 5-star chef who has traveled the world in search of the best dishes to offer. Also available is crafted island classic cocktails and your favorite local beers in a calm, unfussed atmosphere that invites pure relaxation and checking out from the hurry of life. The extensive garden just in the front of the large sandy beach offers not only enough space for the enjoyment of the tropical flowers and trees, butterflies and birds but also places for relaxing Ayurvedic treatments, massage, and yoga. Surya Garden is well secluded but also well connected to the town of Tangalle that is just few kilometers away by onsite private driver to explore the town and then retreat to your personal beach oasis. The surroundings are quiet and ideal for enjoying nature and the unique spirit and beauty of the southern Sri Lankan shores. Surya Garden is only about 240 km from Sri Lanka's international airport and 220 km from Colombo. With the opening of the new highway Colombo-Galle it is thus easy to reach the place within few hours. The resort is a perfect base to explore the south of Sri Lanka: watching whales in Mirissa, elephants in Uda Walawe, birds in Bundala, leopards in Yala or deep tropical rainforests in Sinharaja. All within a few hours distance from there and can be arrange by our onsite tour concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Surya Garden Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Garden Guesthouse Sri Lanka/Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing