We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably The Best Guest House in Tangalle”
Review of Pastissade Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pastissade Beach
Ranked #82 of 143 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We found this guest house by accident. The staff were absolutely amazing. Incredibly helpful and friendly. The room was big, light and airy with a large shower room with hot water. Siranga is an excellent cook. The other staff member kept everything spotlessly clean and delivered endless pots of tea and coffee to our terrace. Every possible wish was catered for and nothing was to much trouble. The location was also superb, right on the beach and very peaceful. We planned to stay for 5 days over Christmas (2012) then go travelling. We stayed for 7 days then left the bulk of our luggage and went travelling so that we could come back. We were not charged for luggage storage and were welcomed back like family. The room was 5000rps per night and was worth every penny. A peach of a place.

Room Tip: The two rooms had mozzy nets and fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooncarrot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

l when to Tangalle to spented my last 6 days before flying out, l was told of a resort but it twice expensive as where l,ve stayed before. l walked around lots were expensive place came to Pastissade Guesthouse it was just what l was looking for l was the only person staying there the meal was great wash down with a couple of cold beer, watch the cricket with local and staff l really enjoyed this place
Dave R

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

It is a very nice place to relax for few days! Located on the beautiful marakollia beach, it is quiet and very peaceful guesthouse. There are only 2 rooms, so you have this part of paradise just for yourself. You can also relax on the terrase and shadow of a small garden just on the beach or got a swim on the ocean! Rooms are basic. You can have also good food there. (On these beach food's price are more expensive.) I really recommande these place. We stayed only 2 nights but we should have stay longer there!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonia_d54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We had to move here because Mangrove Cabanas was full, but we really enjoyed our stay. Though the mattress and pillows are a bit flimsy, everything else was great, and made for a perfpect relaxing holiday. The rooms were clean, the food was really good, and the location of course was spectacular. The staff were very nice and attentive. We stayed only one night, but wish we could have stayed longer. This is a perfect spot for just chilling out.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobes_and_Ej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We stayed at Pastissade for two nights after having to move from the nearby Mangrove Chalets which were full - at the time we were sorry to leave Mangrove but what a lucky move it turned out to be!

The existence of this guesthouse is not obvious, we found it by walking along the beach. It is in a beautiful spot next to Lonely Beach, set back a little from the beach in a garden which is home to woodpeckers and butterflies. It has just two (large) rooms on the ground floor complete with enormous bathrooms and walk in wardrobes to put the backpacks in. Run by two young brothers, two of the nicest and most helpful people you could wish to meet who work incredibly hard to make your stay a pleasant one, this really is a slice of paradise. Mealtimes are relaxed - you can wait for your food in the hammock - and as with most places in Sri Lanka you will not be left hungry! The only slight downside about the accommodation was that the mattress was a bit on the thin side, but that really is picking holes in what was probably our most enjoyable stay in our tour of the amazing Sri Lanka. If you are looking for five star luxury then this may not be for you, but for anyone else this is a real treat in one of the most beautiful spots you are likely to find.

Tip - walk along the beach at night to look for turtles, or Siranga will call the sanctuary at Rekawa for you to check if they have made an appearance. Apart from that, you may not wish to move very far!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerfectFootprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katarzyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Willem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
3.5 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
54.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 23 in Tangalle
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#7 of 23 in Tangalle
343 reviews
5 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#10 of 23 in Tangalle
285 reviews
3.7 mi away
Green Garden Cabanas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pastissade Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pastissade Beach

Address: | Kapuhenwala, Marakolliya, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Hotel Class:1 star — Pastissade Beach 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Pastissade Beach Sri Lanka/Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing