We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a real pleasure to stay in Suwaya Villa”

The Nature Tangalle
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Nature Tangalle
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Tangalle
1 review
“It was a real pleasure to stay in Suwaya Villa”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

After ten days of sightseeng Sri Lanka we decided to chill out in Tangalle. We were searching a comfortable and quiet place to stay and Suwaya Villa was the best place we could find! Nice swimming pool, spacious, well furnished and clean room with ac, and what was the most important: very helpfull, well trained, proffesional staff. Many thanks to Damith who took care about us, very professional and friendly person.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciesiel1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    3
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
5
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!
We booked a deluxe room and ended up in a grey wash prison cell see photos we got out as fast as we got in!
They have older rooms which appear better near the pool but general comments from others was dirty and many faults. Our room was 4x3 meters including bathroom a wet room, best place to take your shower would be to sit on the toilet! A big bed dominated the bedroom with approx 20cms between that and the wall on one side the other side more space but a broken down small cupboard took up space. the whole room was covered in a grey concrete wash .
There was a communal balcony with a window looking on to it which could not be used, reason wooden shutters that opened but no glass in windows , no curtains and no bars so anyone had a direct view into the room or access, also a 1/4 of the window was blocked by the wardrobe. There were 2 chairs and a small table in the room.
This hotel has a great situation wonderful beach nice pool but service ZERO 8 tables for 25 rooms don't even think about it . Along one of the worst roads in Sri Lanka and having been to Sr Lanka many times over the past 35 years we know bad roads!!
Drive said their accommodation was also disgusting

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tangalle hotels

Celje, Slovenia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

it was a little bit difficult to find this place, as it has changed name and management recently. it is a little remote place but it actually adds to its appeal as the hotel is situated on one of the most pristine beaches we have seen on Sri Lanka. it is surrounded by lagoon with plentiful bird life.

management is western which separates it from all other hotels we have visited: it is immaculately clean, stuff are well trained and friendly (they even offered to bring us dinner to the room on the first evening, because it was obvious we were very tired when we arrived), food is excellent (you certainly will find no need to leave the hotel for restaurant) rooms are clean, spacious with large balconies. a pool adds to the full comfort. important note regarding comfort: A/C works all the night which was not the case in many mid range hotels as they are trying to save electricity.

if you are looking for a good rest in the nature with all the luxury needed for an average traveller this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorazd r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I wouldn't want to go back here. Almost no staff and no smiles from the ones that were left (but three managers, no one to make the room up, non functioning air con,no decent food, no beer, nowhere to walk except the beach, probably not a good place to swim with a strong undertow, lots of ants in the room, a river to cross with a ford to get in and out, all in all, not a place to return to. We only went to see the turtles and it was a 20k round trip on some awful roads in a tuk tuk in the dark to see one turtle which didn't lay any eggs - probably scared off by the wardens who told us to be quiet and then proceeded to chat loudly to each other and also charged us 1200 rupees for the privilege. That wasn't the hotel's fault though.

Room Tip: Check the air-con and the ants first
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ewingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auroville, india
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

You like it when:
- the van driver sent by your hotel rather stays in the airport parking 45 minutes instead of coming to greet you at the exit with a sign like everyone else, until finally he shows up when you least expected him.
- the van driver was not given directions so you spend a half-hour around Tangalle in the dark asking for directions
- the van supposed to be AC turns out not to be but you still pay the price for a AC van at arrival. Not negotiable.
- you carry your luggage on your head and wade through water over a small bridge and walk barefeet for some 1/2km until you reach "home"because the booked van/taxi will not go further and the hotel does not have a van to come and pick you up.
- you arrive and are greeted at the reception by a loud sound system that shouts "Who lets the dog out?"
- you wish to order some local food but the "rasta style" waiters are too busy interacting with some Russian girls and you end up with plain bread and cheese sandwiches
- the room AC system does not work and the toilet does not flush
- you have no running water several hours a day and you are the one that signals there is a running tap in the garden
- the pool is a lavish green and unkept. The tea pot and tea cup you order the night before is still by the pool at 10 am.
- there is an ever ending lines of scorpions ants in your room - yes the one with a very thin abdomen that bite a piece of your flesh and create a swelling fro two full days
- the buffaloes rampage the garden because the fences giving on the beach are broken and no one seems to care
- ordering a meal becomes such an ordeal each time you are hungry that you figure out quickly that the best is to enjoy your breakfast and more at nearby customer friendly Ganesh garden villas.

Then surely Nature Tangalle quickly renamed "Sunawaya villas" after the "sorry" Christmas 2011 events is for you. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CeciliaDidier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This place has just changed its name to Sunawaya Villa because of the bad publicity about the murder here.
They were very short-staffed and nobody cleaned the room or made the bed.
Most of the items on the menu weren't available.
There was an endless stream of large ants and the ones we squashed were still littering the floor when we left.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

i was here this Feb and i loved every single bit i stayed.. staff is really helpful and so as the manager... My wife and I planned to be here back again on next year since we had only few days to spend.

Room Tip: Beach view cabanas are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
2.4 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 21 in Tangalle
324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
#11 of 21 in Tangalle
88 reviews
3.0 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Peacock Beach Hotel
Peacock Beach Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hambantota
176 reviews
4.5 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#9 of 21 in Tangalle
268 reviews
3.2 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nature Tangalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nature Tangalle

Property: The Nature Tangalle
Address: Marakolliya | Medilla, Tangalle 10150, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tangalle is a small fishing village on the southernmost coast of Sri Lanka and is best known for its beautiful stretches of palm-fringed beaches, sheltered bays, golden sands and blue waters. Should you tire of lying on the beach you can visit the impressive Mulgirigala cave temple close by or go for a day trip to one of 3 national parks close to Tangalle: Uda Walawe which is known for its elephants, Yala for its leopards and Bundala for its over 150 species of birds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Nature Tangalle Hotel Tangalle
The Nature Tangalle Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing