We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ideal getaway: beautiful and tranquil” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Last House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangalle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Last House
Ranked #8 of 98 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The ideal getaway: beautiful and tranquil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

This slightly rustic, beautifully designed Geoffrey Bawa retreat was as close to perfect as we could have imagined. Rooms are spacious and comfortable in a simple way --good fans and mosquito nets, true rainshowers with hot water, nice linens, and good lighting for reading. The grounds give view to the beach beyond, which offers long walks, no crowds, and good surf for those who like waves. Food is fresh, especially fish and seafood, with some local specialties such as egg hoppers and onion sambal for breakfast which should not be missed. The open areas provide great seating for looking at the sea, lounging, and reading. Staff are kind an unobtrusive, but ready to assist if you need. Wifi is available in the common area if you need it, but after a few hours here you won't want to be checking it. The comfort of this spot, its soothing colours and relaxing, remote atmosphere made us regret leaving it for points beyond.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely; ones in the main house have good sea views, but might not be suitable for thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    15
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
75
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

It is hard to imagine a hotel closer to perfection than this. Everything from the slendour of the beach to the open and balanced architecture to the excellent cooking and the teeming wildlife is a delight. The staff were very kind towards our three kids and Ananda, the manager, is informative, helpful and hugely professional.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

I couldn't fault our stay at the Last House in March 2013. Architecturally alone, the place is a masterpiece. To fully appreciate it, I'd recommend doing ten minutes' pre-reading about Geoffrey Bawa's work on the internet.

The Last House is wonderfully isolated. There is no access to the hustle and bustle of Tangalle, thankfully. However, you are afforded the priceless pleasure of a private beach at the bottom of the garden. I say private, you do of course share it with the fishermen, who are all friendly and unobtrusive.

Food is exceptional, and the service is friendly and personal. You are never sharing the place with more than two or three other parties, so the staff remain attentive throughout.

We took staff up on the offer to arrange a night-time trip to a beach along the coast with a local turtle conservation NGO. It was obviously an incredible privilege to see these magnificent beasts in the wild. But we ended up being part of quite a large group, which became a little oppressive and I wasn't absolutely convinced that we weren't disturbing the animals by being on the beach in those numbers.

Likewise with the whale-watching. Six hours at sea to catch a glimpse of a whale and a loose-handful of dolphins. In retrospect, I'd rather have been on my back in the garden at the Last House with a book and a bottle of beer.

Speaking of which, the Last House doesn't have a bar or any alcoholic drinks. You can ask for them to go out and get some but you have to pay for the Tuk Tuk to bring it out for you. This is a quirk and is kind of nice, but it was a long journey to get there and I spent much of the latter stages fantasising about a cold beer. We had to wait for a few hours for the beers to get there after our arrival. I think it'd be a nice touch if staff could offer guests a cold lager on arrival. I accept there may be local sensibilities at play here, but when catering for an international audience, these things make the difference.

If there was a sixth star, I'd award it.

Wonderful.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful here and each has its own architectural character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

In summary, this is an amazing place to stay – like having your own beautiful summer house on the beach, staffed by a discreet team and with a brilliant chef.

This place is pretty special and unique – originally designed by Bawa as a private house. There's only 6 guest rooms so you'll always feel like you've more or less got the place to yourself. Each room has its own style and design, but all are in the Bawa style of linking the outdoors and indoors – ours (Moonamal) had an outdoors bathroom (as well as an indoors), with private terrace and seating areas, which is great if you don’t fancy lounging about in the central seating area.

The pool is nice and a decent size, but you also have direct access to the beach from the bottom of the garden which is ideal. We went swimming and body-boarding most days and had a great time. The food was simply amazing, some of the best I had during our stay in Sri Lanka. However, it's not cheap by their standards but the freshness of the fish and talent of the chef make it worth it.

The service is designed to add to the feel of being in your own home - they pretty much leave you completely alone except for meal times. But there is always someone around if you need them (even if you have to walk in to the kitchen to find them). It's also worth noting it's very secluded – we loved having the equivalent of a private beach, but if you want to spend your days ‘doing’ and trying lots of different menus, I'd consider looking around before booking, otherwise, this place is pretty amazing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing. If you can afford it, get the suite on the 1st floor of the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

A wonderful boutique hotel in a beautiful peaceful location by the beach. Service was unobtrusive, the food was excellent. Ananda and his staff made us feel very special. This was the best hotel of the eight hotels we stayed in in our three week tour of Sri Lanka. We stayed four nights and could have stayed longer. The lobster dinners and the barbecue were memorable. Not licensed but they can organise delivery of beer and wines with absolutely no mark-up.We loved the long walks on the empty beach and the body boarding even for four "silver surfer" was wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed in NA (called after a flower) It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TormodSona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

The Last House exemplifies what a sojourn in the beach should be. Once you’ve stayed there one can truly appreciate what Sir Christopher Ondaatje says – “You can take the boy out of Ceylon but it is not easy to take Ceylon out of the boy.””. The place with its openness and breeze flowing through every bit of it will give you the best nights of sleep you would ever imagine. The food so lovingly created will simply make you compare forever. The quiet and the ambience will lull you into contemplation. To match it all, the staff led by the ever enthusiastic and world class Sri Lankan, Ananda, redefines all levels of hospitality. If you ever wondered what the setting for Browning’s verse was, well you have the answer in our beloved island Sri Lanka with the Last House diligently yet silently fulfilling its part.

The year’s at the spring
And day’s at the morn
Morning’s at seven
The hillside is dew pearled
The lark’s on the wing
The snail’s on the thorn
God’s in his heaven
All’s right with the world. - Browning

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Weir, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We spent three nights here after a fascinating but exhausting time looking at Sri Lanka's history and culture. The Last House is the most wonderful place to relax. Secluded, discreet and quiet, placed in greenery, with the garden opening on to a long, empty beach with excellent waves for body-boarding. Many other beaches nearby. Tangalle, just a few minutes away by tuk-tuk, is a busy little town, full of vitality. The house is of course an architectural gem, cleverly designed to be cool and comfortable without the need for air-conditioning. The food is excellent and the service impeccable. No licence, but will buy drinks for you in town.

Room Tip: An uppstairs room in the main house is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalterReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tangalle
2.6 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
3.7 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#4 of 15 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#7 of 15 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.5 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#3 of 15 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
8.1 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 1 in Rekawa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last House

Property: The Last House
Address: Pubudu Mawatha | Seenimodara, Nakulugamuwa, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's beach and chic at this Tangalle beach villa. As Geoffrey Bawa's final example of his infamous brand of architecture throughout Sri Lanka, this six-bedroomed seaside escape enjoys space, ventilation and barefoot luxury in a private location. Decor throughout the property is largely a mix of fresh white walls and grey polished cement floors, serving as a backdrop to a mixture of antique and contemporary furniture, all adorned with bright colours. Bedrooms enjoy views of the sea or a lagoon, set in tropical gardens with a central swimming pool. Whether with family, friends or as a couple, this Tangalle Hotel - The Last House is a truly serene tropical hideaway planted beside the Indian Ocean. It can be booked in part or as a whole house, and is staffed (including a chef) to accommodate up to 14 guests. Well suited for couples and families, and situated at the end of unspoilt Mawella beach. The house is also a perfect wedding hotel in Sri Lanka. The Last House Tangalle beach hotel provides for a quintessentially seaside holiday combined with a variety of wildlife, cultural and heritage destinations to visit on the south coast. From The Last House you can visit Yala National Park to see Sri Lanka's highest concentration of Leopards, see elephants at Udawalawe Reserve or visit the Turtle Conservation Area at Rekawa. Alternatively try whale watching from Mirissa, only 45 minutes away. Or closer to home, get aboard our Fishing Boat to try your hand alongside Mawella's fishermen, dive off the boat to swim or snorkel, or just observe the Blow Hole at Kudawella from the sea. For sights nearby, take a short trip to the Mulkirigala Caves boasting a remarkable temple and monastery carved out of a large and sheer rock formation in the surrounding forest. Also nearby, fans of Bawa's architecture should visit Ruhuna University and Claughton House. There's the Dutch Fort at Matara to warm you up before a visit to Galle and its own UNESCO World Heritage Site at Galle fort, also an oasis for some browsing and shopping in its' boutiques. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Last House Sri Lanka/Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing