We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect.....”
Review of The Last House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangalle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Last House
Ranked #9 of 116 Tangalle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Almost perfect.....”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Last House as part of our 2 week trip to Sri Lanka and I actually planned our itinerary around this hotel as we had high expectations. They were all met - except the food. The price of the food in my view was ok (unlike some previous posts) the issue was the lack of sri lankan food! The chef clearly has experience in a wide range of cuisine and has put together a fusion menu with two choices of starter, main and dessert each night and the food is nice. The problem is that we didn't come all the way to Sri Lanka to eat western food - we wanted to eat local food which didn't make much of an appearence on the menu when we were there and as everyone points out, you are quite isolated so there isn't much other choice.

That said we did find an excellent "shack' down the beach, which was called "sea dragon" and made excellent seafood and sri lankan curry and once we discovered it we ate lunch there each day.

This was really a beautiful hotel, on a beautiful beach which is pretty untouched. The only thing I would change is to put Sri Lankan curry on the menu! Also, aircon would be very welcome at night!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    15
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I suppose my title says most of it. We stayed in October, but it's taken me a while to get around to my review. The house is really lovely, and the staff are attentive. There aren't many options for food around, as this is fairly isolated, and according to others we met while staying there, other options are not very good. Because we love to eat good food on vacation (we live in a city with no high quality options available to both men and women) we ate at the hotel. WIth the exception of one meal for me and one for my husband, we were quite pleased with the food. However, it is extremely expensive and very limited. If you do not eat seafood, you will have one option every night. Also, the BBQ is even more expensive, and we were not informed of it until it was too late to make other plans. Too stay cool, you need to open everything up, which leads to limited privacy, and not what I want to do at night. Regarding the hotel itself, we stayed when it was not so busy, and they were offering special rates. Although it is, without a doubt, a lovely hotel, for me, the full rates are more than I would pay in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a gem of an hotel, right on the edge of a long, and usually almost deserted, beach. The building is a wonderful example of Geoffrey Bawa's architecture (even if he may not have had that much to do with the details of it in practice), and we had a beautiful room with views of the ocean and the local lake. There was no a/c but we prefer things that way (some of the hotel rooms we stayed in were so cold we needed blankets at night!). There was a decent sized pool, stylish common areas, and attentive and friendly staff. The food was excellent for the two nights we stayed there, with the 'curry night' being the best we had in three weeks on the Island. Prices were reasonable as well, with wine, water and coffee included in the fixed price (much better value than the sister hotel, Kandy House, for example). Well worth a visit, and we would happily return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetHedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were lucky to have 4 nights at this beautiful hotel after 4 activity packed weeks away and wish we could have stayed longer. It is an ideal and very relaxing place to stay at the end of a trip before returning home.
The hotel is difficult to find which is part of its charm. It backs directly onto the 2 mile long beach which we shared with a few hotel guests from The Last House, some local fishermen and a peacock. It is totally unspoilt. The beach is clean and when visiting in January safe if you don't go beyond your depth.
The hotel is beautifully styled: minimalist but comfortable with many public seating areas which allow for socialising or tranquility depending on mood. The rooms and grounds are well maintained and serviced unobtrusively. The staff are discreet but attentive. There is no reception, which adds to that homely feel, but it is always easy to find someone happy to help or advise.
The food is excellent, sourced locally and often the morning's catch. The menu comprises 3 courses and gives a choice of 2 mains. The chef will prepare alternatives if given sufficient notice. While staying in January we had a "curry night", a whole range of fragrant, spicy and unusual accompaniments were loaded onto the table. Absolutely delicious. Another night there was a beach barbecue. No ordinary barbecue this: tales and chairs, crockery and glassware and everything from the dining room was taken down to the beach. There were candles and flares, the food was wonderful and the whole evening rounded off with fireworks. Fantastic team work and a very memorable evening.
We would not hesitate to recommend and will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandLHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is a magical place. If you are thinking of this and the sister property at Coco Tangalle, I would strongly recommend heading for the last house.
The whole place is stunning but it feels more like hanging out within someone's house than at a hotel. The living area is beautiful. we'd spend evenings sitting around, reading and chatting or watching a movie. Its a top spot to explore the area and there is plenty of surf in the area if you know where to look, and completely uncrowded. Some amazing spots, and a surfing tuk tuk to get you there. great fun.
It has a magical, retro feel to it and whether you want to just hang out near the pool, or stroll down the beach, it's definitely an escape from some of hustle at hotels closer to tangalle.
We had an amazing time here as a couple traveling around the island and would love to return one day.

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor room which opens out into the garden and with views to the sea further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pillarofhercules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our friends recommended The Last House to us and we booked to stay for a week as we were travelling with a toddler and being pregnant again we just wanted to relax in one place and this was definitely the right decision. We had such an amazing experience here - we ended up staying in two different rooms because of availability. Na was the first one and it was a lovely room with windows all around overlooking the lush green vegetation. This was actually my favourite room even though it was the cheaper option because of the wonderful light and being able to open all the windows to get a nice breeze. We then stayed in Moonamal which was also lovely and great to have your own seating area. The staff were brilliant, very attentive but discreet and they were always happy to accommodate our toddler's needs. And the food was incredible. We ate there every night - a 3 course meal and we were never disappointed - delicious. The outside seating area was very relaxing and we read books there every evening. The pool was the best pool we have been in - it felt very fresh and we hung out there almost all day long. The beach is beautiful and very secluded and the current isn't too strong there compared to other beaches around Tangalle and we had lovely walks along the beach down to the fishing boats. However, and this is no fault of The Last House, the sand flies on the beach are pretty bad, but because the pool was so delightful we didn't mind one bit and you can still hear and see the sea from the garden. We have been planning on when we can next visit The Last House and rent out the whole place with friends or family because it is just such a beautiful house - amazing architecture which has been very tastefully decorated. It was in fact the best place we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaTw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galle, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We had an enchanting four day stay at this delightful small exquisitely designed and decorated hotel. The food was varied with great use of fish landed on the beach. The staff were fantastic really helpful without that feeling that they were hovering. What more can we say!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tangalle
2.6 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
3.2 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 21 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#9 of 21 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
8.1 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 1 in Rekawa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
2.5 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last House

Property: The Last House
Address: Pubudu Mawatha | Seenimodara, Nakulugamuwa, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's beach and chic at this Tangalle beach villa. As Geoffrey Bawa's final example of his infamous brand of architecture throughout Sri Lanka, this six-bedroomed seaside escape enjoys space, ventilation and barefoot luxury in a private location. Decor throughout the property is largely a mix of fresh white walls and grey polished cement floors, serving as a backdrop to a mixture of antique and contemporary furniture, all adorned with bright colours. Bedrooms enjoy views of the sea or a lagoon, set in tropical gardens with a central swimming pool. Whether with family, friends or as a couple, this Tangalle Hotel - The Last House is a truly serene tropical hideaway planted beside the Indian Ocean. It can be booked in part or as a whole house, and is staffed (including a chef) to accommodate up to 14 guests. Well suited for couples and families, and situated at the end of unspoilt Mawella beach. The house is also a perfect wedding hotel in Sri Lanka. The Last House Tangalle beach hotel provides for a quintessentially seaside holiday combined with a variety of wildlife, cultural and heritage destinations to visit on the south coast. From The Last House you can visit Yala National Park to see Sri Lanka's highest concentration of Leopards, see elephants at Udawalawe Reserve or visit the Turtle Conservation Area at Rekawa. Alternatively try whale watching from Mirissa, only 45 minutes away. Or closer to home, get aboard our Fishing Boat to try your hand alongside Mawella's fishermen, dive off the boat to swim or snorkel, or just observe the Blow Hole at Kudawella from the sea. For sights nearby, take a short trip to the Mulkirigala Caves boasting a remarkable temple and monastery carved out of a large and sheer rock formation in the surrounding forest. Also nearby, fans of Bawa's architecture should visit Ruhuna University and Claughton House. There's the Dutch Fort at Matara to warm you up before a visit to Galle and its own UNESCO World Heritage Site at Galle fort, also an oasis for some browsing and shopping in its' boutiques. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Last House Sri Lanka/Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing