We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Coco Tangalla

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tangalle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coco Tangalla
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

What an amazing little boutique hotel. Stayed for 4 nights and wish we'd stayed longer. Smiley and friendly staff who were always on hand to help out and not at all intrusive. The food was excellent every night and decent value at 2900 rps for 3 courses. There are of course cheaper places to eat in Tangalle but the restaurant had a lovely atmosphere so we ate there most nights. Worth noting that in terms of alcohol they only sell beer (presumably due to licensing) so if you want wine/spirits it's worth either bringing your own or asking one of the staff in advance to collect.

The pool area has a beautiful garden with a sea view and is a great place to unwind. The private beach is easily accessed through the garden though too rough to swim. Not an issue at all as there are some great beaches within a 5 minute tuk tuk trip that are fine for swimming. The room was spacious, modern and clean with a comfortable bed.

Easily the best place we stayed in Sri Lanka. The sort of place that would cost an absolute fortune in Europe but fantastic value here. Thanks Coco!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    22
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
135
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed a total of 3 nights at coco tangalle. The location isn't too secluded and is within walking distance to restaurants and the town of tangalle if you want a bit more choice. The food at coco tangalle by far is still the best you will find around the area if you get a bit tired of curry and rice. The beach in front of the hotel isn't safe for swimming but the views are fantastic. The only bay we found that was safe was a local beach with a natural protective bar about 10mim walk towards the police station and near the army base. What makes coco tangalle great is its staff. The attention to detail, personal touches and great food made this hotel ideal for rest and relax after frantic tours in other Sri Lankan cities. The manor group of hotels has been a great overall experience. I recommend this place for couples and smaller groups.

Room Tip: There is a larger room facing the pool with its own terrace. That may be more suitable for groups of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raven678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just spent two fantastic nights in Coco Tangalla. After reading other reviews I was a little annoyed that we didn't request a balcony room. However once we arrived I was very happy with our room and didn't feel like it was small at all. Although there was no view, the hotel made up for it by having extensive living spaces which overlooked the ocean and pool. Due to the boutique size of the hotel and limited number of guests there was always a sense of privacy in the communal areas. The staff were attentive and organised activities for us with very little notice. The hotel restaurant provided fresh and delicious food, best of all it had the most fantastic view of the ocean and calm atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights in this delightful hotel. The room was comfortable, cool and stylish.
Wonderful open air bathroom. Plenty of comfy places to sit around the hotel. Great pool. Delicous food.Very attentive staff without being intrusive, We would have liked to have stayed longer . Slight drawback closeness of the road . Sea too rough by the hotel but great fun to take a tuk tuk to nearby Paradise bay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMT61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a very pleasant small hotel with several personal touches.
The staff were attentive and produced good food from a very small kitchen.
Our rooms were rather small and did not have a view and I guess, from other reviews, that it would be worth asking for the room with balcony overlooking the pool. The en suite shower room was simple but fine.

The hotel is next to the sea with a rocky shoreline. Sunbeds are available at the pool-side and there is seating on the balcony overlooking the pool.

The dining room has open sides and overlooks the sea. It is a pleasant place to enjoy the excellent food. The hotel does not have a liquor licence but, not only were they happy to send out for some beers for us, they served us complimentary wine with the meal.

Just a point for the owner. The eccentric key fob is a nice touch but once in the room you can only close the door by sliding a bolt. This makes it difficult for a second person to enter, especially if you are in the shower.

All in all a pleasant place to stay for two or three nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timspurrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We recently stayed in this lovely property for 3 nights. We were fortunate to have the room overlooking the pool and the beach which is the only one with a balcony and excellent bathroom. Although I peeked into the other rooms which were stylish although smaller, but didn't have the fantastic views. The staff were friendly and helpful (organised a whale watching trip at Marissa) and suggested other trips out including the fish market. The food was excellent, varied and extremely fresh. Great walks along the beach. Amazing to watch the guy climb the trees in the grounds and get the coconuts. Had fun watching the antics of the monkeys in the grounds. The pool was like getting into a warm bath! Truly sad to leave.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony deluxe room, otherwise try not t have the room overlooking the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We were lucky to spend 3 nights in this establishments and we had an amazing time. We were lucky enough to have the room with the balcony and the view on the pool and the see.
The service was great during all that time and the food is simply the best we had (for non Sri Lankan food) with fresh soups and fish. (
It must be said that eating there has a small price (for Sri Lanka) but it's completely justified.
The Showers are spacious and we loved the pool.
The Wifi did not work in the room but we were supposed to be on holidays so no biggy really :) (and it works in the reception area)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flebarbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.9 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
0.3 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 21 in Tangalle
324 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#9 of 21 in Tangalle
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
#11 of 21 in Tangalle
88 reviews
4.6 mi away
Maya
Maya
#8 of 21 in Tangalle
88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Tangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Tangalla

Property: Coco Tangalla
Address: 355 Mahawella Road, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Tangalla is a 6-bedroomed black and white colonial villa, this Tangalle beach hotel is managed by the owner of The Kandy House and The Last House. Book by the room or as a whole house, it is well suited for couples and families. The main house has four bedrooms and an adjoining annex with an additional two bedrooms. The interiors are stylishly decorated with a mixture of modern furniture and period antiques, local art, with infusions of colour and exotic fabrics. The living and dining areas introduce some art deco features. All to create warm and informal rooms to relax. For couples looking for their perfect wedding hotel in Sri Lanka, Coco Tangalla is a beautiful luxury beach villa in Sri Lanka, ideal as a stylish wedding venue, offering delicious food and exceptional service. With a variety of wildlife, cultural and heritage destinations to visit in the area, it is situated very conveniently to explore. From Coco Tangalla you can visit Yala National Park on safari amongst the world's highest concentration of leopards, or enjoy the company of large herds of elephants at Udawalawe Reserve, or visit the Turtle Conservation Area at Rekawa. Blue Whales have become a key part of any trip to the island. Whale watching Sri Lanka style can be organized with trips from Mirissa only 45 minutes away. Or for chance sightings while Dolphin watching Sri Lanka. Closer to home, get aboard our Fishing Boat to try your hand alongside Mawella's fishermen, dive off the boat to swim or snorkel, or just observe the Blow Hole at Kudawella from the sea. Alternatively a short trip away are the Mulkirigala Caves boasting a remarkable temple and monastery carved out of a large and sheer rock formation in the surrounding forest. Also nearby, fans of Bawa's architecture should visit Ruhuna University and Claughton House. There's the Dutch Fort at Matara to warm you up before a visit to Galle and its own UNESCO World Heritage Site at the Galle fort, also an oasis for some browsing and shopping in its' boutiques. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coco Tangalla Sri Lanka/Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing