We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you could possibly want”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Octopus Garden House
Ranked #25 of 114 Tangalle B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Everything you could possibly want”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

From the friendly and welcoming staff to the proximity to the never ending beach, Octopus Garden is the perfect place to stay in Tangalle.

But the real highlight was the amazing breakfasts cooked by Concy. Starting with a giant plate of fresh fruits and then going on to a variety of delicious Sri Lankan breakfasts that will keep you full and satisfied. Easily the best food of our trip, and that's saying something considering how delicious Sri Lankan cuisine is. It was so good, that we arranged for a cooking lesson with Concy one day in hopes that some of her magic might rub off.

Verena was a fantastic host, arranging for all manner of activity during our stay and pointing us in the direction of places to check out in Colombo on the way out.

The rooms are basic and comfortable, and you get to wake up and fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. This place can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawnabraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    15
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
46
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
western australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Excellent stay and hospitality are guaranteed at Octopus Garden and let's not mention the amazing breakfast cooked with care and love by Concy, Beautiful sound of the waves crashing to rock you to sleep, thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Great location, right on the beach. The breakfasts are amazing, lots of fresh fruit and incredible Sri Lankan style breakfasts that are different everyday, (think the best of our trip and we ate well everywhere!) Room is basic and we didn't realise shower only has cold water, but was ok. They have nice chairs outside each room with coffee table to sit back and relax. Owners have loads of great food and activity recommendations. The only downside for me was the local stray dogs barked a lot in the night and this woke me up every night, but my boyfriend slept through them fine. So guess just depends how heavy you sleep.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiwikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The accommodation is basic but very clean and comfortable. There was air conditioning in the room we stayed in which I think is a must in Sri Lanka as it is very humid.
The location is top notch as you are literally right across from the beach. The sound of the ocean, particularly at night is enchanting.
The breakfast is excellent and really sets you up for the day. Lovely Sri Lankan style curry dhal, string hoppers and curd with treacle. Yum.
We ate at the Starfish Beach Cafe in the evening which was excellent. The different types of roti there are a must.
Overall Tangalle is a relatively quiet part of the country. If you just want to chill out by the beach an eat cheap food it's great. It has more of a backpacker feel than other places we stayed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It's all been said already. This is just a well run, clean, well situated guesthouse. Special points of mentioning are the breakfasts, the coffe which is real coffee not instant, concey her sister, Verona and Steve, sleeping with the sound of the sea and the relaxed feeling. Great start to our Sri Lankan adventure. The beach opposite isn't the best place to take your child for a swim and you should avoid if you're not use to swimming in the ocean simply go.to the harbour where there is calm waters and a coral reef. Finally try a chocolate browny.....

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tomwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Lovely guesthouse very close to the water. Verena was very helpful, Concy and her sister prepared delicious breakfasts. Rooms were clean with views out onto the ocean and we enjoyed the shared open air lounge upstairs.
Tangalle is not overdeveloped as a tourist location (if you've been to Hikkaduwa or some of the other beaches you will know what I mean) so it was nice and quiet, no traffic noise at night. I recommend hiring a scooter to explore the area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjw2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights at the end of Jan/Beg Feb 2014 and cannot recommend it highly enough. This was my second stay here and I was very happy to see that the standards are as high as ever. Looking directly onto the sea the rooms are big, well laid out, comfortable and very clean. Rooms have fans and a mosquito plug in, with tabs provided, so that mosquito nets (which I find hot) are not needed. Verena & Steve run this establishment as a B & B but it is well positioned on Medaketiya beach so a choice of restaurants are close by for evening meals. Consie, the housekeeper & her sister are beautiful people, inside and out and always on hand with the biggest smiles you will see in Sri Lanka! I raved about the breakfasts here before and nothing has changed, you will not need lunch as the breakfasts at Octopus Garden House are the best you will find in Sri Lanka. Fruit plate and curd, tea or coffee, toast and a selection of preserves (most home made) plus a changing selection of local dishes each day, these include string hoppers, egg hoppers, coconut roti and eggs all prepared and cooked fresh each morning by Consie. The breakfast alone makes this guesthouse great value for money, add in the accommodation and the friendly service and it is truly awesome.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.3 mi away
Reggae Zone Beach Resort
Reggae Zone Beach Resort
#72 of 114 in Tangalle
28 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Guesthouse
Ibis Guesthouse
#20 of 114 in Tangalle
185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#2 of 114 in Tangalle
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coppenrath
Coppenrath
#10 of 121 in Tangalle
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chandi Gaya Guest House
Chandi Gaya Guest House
#41 of 114 in Tangalle
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanrel Hotel
Sanrel Hotel
#68 of 114 in Tangalle
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Octopus Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octopus Garden House

Property: Octopus Garden House
Address: 51 Deepankara Road | Medaketiya, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Octopus Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Octopus Garden House Sri Lanka/Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing