We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place' excellent location and good value”
Review of Suwaya Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suwaya Villa
Ranked #59 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Tangalle
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place' excellent location and good value”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

we spent 3 days in suwaya villa.
Excellent location. Marcoola Beach is one of the most beautiful beaches in Sri Lanka. Amazing nearby lagoon.
Our room was spacious and comfortable. The porch was wonderful. We had a view of both the lagoon pool and the beach as well.
The service was great. The manager is a fluent English speaker, nice and professional.
Beautiful and quiet pool. And the milk shakes are great
.Great place to stay a few days and relax.
Good value for money

Room Tip: room number 7 also known as "garlic"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yonatan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    31
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
24
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have been there recently with few of my friends if i rate them.

Time :1 Day with BB
Access Road:Very poor condition and very difficult move with a car.Not close to main road

Rooms Condition:We stayed in Deluxe Lagoon Room and it was cheap constriction with just cement and concrete,No clothing hanger in the bathroom and didn't seem hot water working,didn't concern much since it was a hot sunny day ..:)Rooms were smelly due to lack of sun light comes to the room and closed long time.no TVs :)

Food:No buffet meals available and we stayed there on BB basis and No Bed tea but provide morning tea with breakfast.Breakfast was limited choices and table served.

Pool and environment: Pools is maximum 4Ft deep and OK..But seem dirty due to trees bear by.Jacuzzi isn't working may be broken or stopped.Environment is superb and you can see lagoon and see at same place.Beach is nice and clean but not a good place to have a bath or swim due to deep slope.Nice looking beach side restaurant.

Activities:You can row boats in Lagoon FREELY and that was so fun and enjoyable.

staff:OK and supportive and supportive at our stay there.

Overall this is very nice place and but need to improve the condition on this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charitha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed for a week and just totally enjoyed having real service! We paid LKR 4500 (40% discount due to low season) and got a villa, which is really just a big bedroom. The location is great, with the lagoon on one side and the sea on the other (both less than 1 minute walk). The villa was a bit worn on the inside, curtains hanging off the rail and poor catches on the wardrobe, holes in the insect screens, but the shower pressure was great on hot water (makes up for it I say!). But the best part of the stay was really the service. The manager is exceptional and went out of his way to cater for us (we are vegan) and the waiters were also excellent. Things like polishing the cutlery, serving food from trays etc was a real treat and it was great to have them all speak pretty good english - especially the manager.
Overall I would recommend this place, not sure I would pay the full price to stay there, but I am a budget backpacker, not a 2-week holidayer! The service really makes it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inspirited_Intuition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Myself and 3 other friends were stayed at this hotel. As the title says, this is a super place to enjoy Tangalle Beach. They have very nice beach bar, beach and lagoon cabanas and villas. The hotel is surrounded with Lagoon and Beach. Cool place to stay. Also they have couple of boats and anyone can use them for free boat ride in the lagoon.

But

The access road to the hotel was horrible. Sometimes I had to ask my friends to get down from the vehicle to cross some sections of the road. Rooms were quite large but cleanness was average. Bathrooms were good. We had Sri Lankan food for breakfast and it was also average. Don't know about western menus. We got some fish curry, dhal curry, coconut sambol with string hoppers. Fish curry was average and we expected a better seafood taste from them since it is a beach villa. The swimming pools was not clean enough though we have used it.

Finally i must say that this is very nice place to stay but they have to improve lot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here sadly just for one night. The manager shaun and huis staff are really very friendly en helpfull, we dus a lagoon fishing trip which was offered Free of charge, so absolutely no money grabbing mentality! The location is beatiful, with a stunning pool and Nice beach. The restaurant serves great sri lankan and western dishes! Go tangalle? Go suwaya villa!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RensenEefje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Having decided to holiday in Southern Sri Lanka earlier this month , we were fortunate in finding this excellent small hotel located down a track on the outskirts of Tangalle . Its situation is on a strip of land between the sea and a freshwater lagoon so that the visitor is surrounded by a wonderful sandy beach or by one side of the lagoon, itself surrounded by mangrove trees, with plenty of wild life including many different birds ( and resident storks!) , peacocks , squirrels. We stayed in one of twenty well appointed single bedroom appartments housed in ten separate units on the edge of the lagoon . With large swimming pool , beautiful grounds , and its own beach frontage it was the most idyllic setting from which to investigate that part of Sri Lanka. The staff were friendly and helpful , speaking excellent English.The cooking was the best we had met on holiday for many years and the charge was very reasonable.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were of excellent quality , quiet , with verandas looking over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 376pamelaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent - situated between the lagoon and a beautiful beach. Rooms are comfortable and the swimming pool excellent. We were looked after well by the staff team and the residence manager Shan was excellent and effective as well as pleasant. This is a good place to chill out and an excellent base for safaries to the unforgettable Adu Valeve national park. this place has a great potential.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
2.4 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 21 in Tangalle
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coconut Island Cabanas and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#3 of 119 in Tangalle
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eagles Nest Cabanas
Eagles Nest Cabanas
#6 of 126 in Tangalle
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
0.3 mi away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#5 of 126 in Tangalle
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suwaya Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suwaya Villa

Property: Suwaya Villa
Address: Marakolliya, Medilla, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Suwaya Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Suwaya Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suwaya Villa Sri Lanka/Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing